How I plan a last-minute trip (to Paris) in 10 steps

in OCD2 years ago (edited)

© Ruben Cress




Hey all!
Paris is one of my favorite cities in Europe, @lackofcolor and I are about to be there in about 24 hours! SO EXCITED! I love Paris so much, I thought I went there twice. Well, I did, when I was a kid and visited Disney Land... but I thought I visited the city two times when I got older. Funny! Because, from the pictures, I can tell I only went there once. Thanks to @hiddenblade, I got the chance to visit this beautiful city one more time, and I can bring @lackofcolor with me. Even though this happened only a week ago, I am looking forward to showing Lackofcolor around and spending some quality time with her before she's going to be in the hospital for a longer period. Such timing...









"The best preparation for tomorrow, is doing your best today"

H. Jackson Brown, Junior.













© Ruben Cress



Last-minute planning, how do we do it?

Planning a trip can cost you some time if you want to nail it. I'm lucky I'm so used to squeezing a few days into one due to client budgets. I've learned my ways to be as efficient as well as productive at the same time with this.


My 10 steps

  1. Make a list of top priorities
  2. Make a list of must-see locations
  3. Location & Mobility
  4. Calculate with a little imagination
  5. Setting up a timetable, it's Puzzling time!
  6. Ordering Tickets and downloading Apps
  7. Browsing Google Maps Street View
  8. Setting up rules
  9. The Sun is setting... where? (for photographers)
  10. Learning a bit of French in a few days





1) Make a list of top priorities

The top priority of this trip is to capture Hidden's work. If I end up making photographs I'm not satisfied with, I wouldn't be able to face myself or hiddenblade. So, a soft-pre is to capture it as if she is wandering around the exhibition herself. Anything else is just a bonus. This includes sightseeing and getting a bit of the atmosphere of Paris. Even though I called it a soft-pre, these are very hard-preferred requirements for me as a person. This is based on how I deal with situations that tend to be always different in practical situations. It allows me to have some bleed and flexibility in the way how I plan.

You might think the next priority should be the first, but if it wasn't for Hiddenblade's job offer, we wouldn't be going at all. The second priority that we need to deal with, is Lackofcolor's eating disorder, which is kind of trying to get a bit louder. This motivated me to make this plan even more, as it is very important to have very little stress. She has a very structured eating plan with specific times. This can be a puzzle, but I'm super positive that we can manage and create a plan.

The last priority is to have fun. LOL. Well, without having balance in the above, there will be no long-term fun. I can ensure you of that. This isn't a priority, since I'm always having fun, even if things tend to become a bit dark or difficult to handle. I've tried for a long time to remove my ego.




© Ruben Cress



2) Make a list of must-see locations

Paris is a stunning city. Whenever I dive back into my memories, it is certainly one of the most romantic cities in the world. My memories are quite active. I love having a photographic memory that I can tap into whenever I want. You can't simply go to Paris and not see the Eiffel Tower or the Arc de Triomphe. Even though I've seen these historical landmarks, I want to make sure Lackofcolor is collecting these memories while visiting Paris as well. So she has something to look back to and will know that even when times are harsh, you can still experience love, joy, happiness, and make positive powerful memories.

We both made a list of what we wanted to see. My only hard request to her was that I wanted a Sunset photograph of the Louvre Pyramide. While one or two things didn't match, I still made a list of -everything- we wanted to see in Paris.

  1. Eiffel Tower
  2. Arc de Triomphe
  3. Notre Dame
  4. Louvre
  5. Sainte-Chapelle
  6. Petit-Palais
  7. Pont-Alexandre III
  8. Panthéon
  9. Palais Luxembourg
  10. Le Marais




3) Location & Mobility

Because I have a foot infection for almost a year now (it slightly is getting better), it would be important for me to be located close to the Louvre. This is mostly because I'm on a mission and have a job to do! Furthermore, mobility is one of the most important things in a crowded city like Paris. We found a cheap Air BNB located 5 minutes away from the Louvre. This is something different than the hotel I stayed in that took about 30 minutes just to get to the city. A great location will have its benefits. Time, flexibility, and if things go South, whether it be something I'd forget bringing, or Lackofcolor isn't feeling well, it would be less stressful as we can easily go back to the Airbnb in less than 15 minutes by bike. Lackofcolor found a service that's "new" in Paris, Velib, a bike-rental service that allows you to rent a bike and park it at places. Helpful, and it will save a lot of time (plus, I won't have to walk), double benefits.




© Ruben Cress



4) Calculate with a little imagination

A technique that I always use when I have to plan ahead is to use my imagination based on previous experiences and memories. I either picture something in my head or repeat a memory over and over again, trying to calculate how long something would take. It also helps me to foresee potential challenges and deal with them beforehand. This gives me a pretty accurate result, because every time I miscalculated, I take notes. From experience, I usually take 45-60 minutes at the bare minimum to photograph. While this is kind of tricky/risky because we have no control over how many people will be there at the various landmarks, it is always good to have a plan and be ready for potential challenges along the way.

Now that we have the location, and the places we'd like to see, we can just calculate the travel distance, and get some roughly estimated travel time by bike. The longest trip takes about 20 minutes by bike to the Arc de Triomphe. Traveling to the rest is about 10-15 minutes.

I've added all the locations in Google Maps to see which landmark is where and to see which ones were close to each other. This helps out as you are literally mapping out your plan. This helped me a lot in making a plan and determining where and in what order to go. Even though we have to keep in mind that Sunsets are around 8 PM, so we have like two potential Sunsets to watch.



5) Setting up a timetable, it's Puzzling time!

I've made a timetable with planning to go by. While most of the set times just serve as an indication, it kind of helps to make decisions when we're really there on the spot. If we're running late to the next stop, can we still make it? Or, if we are running early, or leaving earlier because of the weather, too many people, or expectations, what should we do next?

The timetable is pretty convenient in many ways. You have a plan. And you can do a check with all the things you have seen, want to see, and how much time you have. This can help you to decide whether you have to take a chill pill or not. I like to chill and relax. That's why I spend (too) much time making a plan. Furthermore, I am 100% positive this will help Lackofcolor as well, as she is pretty excited and have both good and bad tensions about the trip.

I've created a 3-day timetable, from waking up to going to bed, that gives enough room for flexibility. It also kind of includes my stress level for the 2nd day, when I have to be on time at the Louvre for Hiddenblade's exhibition! I'm so excited about that.




© Ruben Cress



6) Ordering Tickets and downloading Apps

From all the landmarks we'd like to see, it would be good to make up a decision to see which one to go to. Ordering tickets and printing tickets beforehand may be something you want to do. We got our train tickets, VIP tickets for the exhibition, and Apps.

You can get an estimated amount of money you probably will spend on tickets. If you're traveling on a budget, this might help you reserve some of the things you really want to see. I really think that entering a landmark is really worth your time and experience of the city. We've chosen to go in two, as the Eiffel Tower and Arc de Triomphe are just impressive already to look at.



7) Browsing Google Maps Street View

So, what else could we do to prepare? As a photographer, I like to check out Google Street View. I just walk around, to see if I can remember where to go or to lock in potential compositions. It is super awesome to see how Google has developed its Street View. Next-level stuff and very convenient to plan a trip.



8) Setting up rules

Because we are dealing with a photographer that easily gets distracted and lost in time, and a girlfriend who wants to make sure everyone around her is having a great time and often forgets herself or pushes herself, we've come up with a set of rules. One of the rules is that I only have 45 minutes to photograph a location... dumb rules.

I honestly think that when you're traveling together, having a few rules for each other is good. Especially if you're both finding it hard to share your boundaries and do what's best for the other. It kind of creates this unspoken promise that you'll have to keep. It certainly will prevent a discussion or two.



9) The Sun is setting... where?

I have a super useful application on my phone called "Magic Hour", it allows me to see when, where, and for how long the Sun is rising and setting. I've used the application and made some screenshots to know for sure to be on "the good side".




10) Learning a bit of French in a few days

Lol... YEAH... well... I bet these conversations will be one for in the books! While I'm not planning to have a lot of conversations during my trip, I've made a quick list of some words/sentences... @howo... help me out man :D

Bonjour
Bonsoir
Excusez moi
Je suis desolee
Je ne parler pas Francais
Combien?
D'accord
Merci Beaucoup
S'il vous plaît
**Vous allez bien?
Je voudrais commander de la nourriture
Je voudrais
Je voudrais deux croissants s'il vous plait
Merci beaucoup et à bientôt
De Rien

I've translated them and written "how" to pronounce them... oh man, this will be so funny! Lackofcolor is using her "being sick" as an excuse to not talk and engage with people. "It will give me too much stress", yeah right.. she just wants to see me struggle... It'll be fine.



Let the fun begin!

And there is that, nothing else to prepare for. But it surely allows me to roam Paris way more freely and calmly knowing we have a plan, a backup plan, and a backup-backup plan to rely on.



How do you plan for a trip?

Oh man... Look at this list! I'm proud of doing my own research. Always people... DYOR! If I were planning a trip for myself, I probably do some pre-research about locations, and just backpack it up and go with the flow. How do you plan for a last-minute trip? For this specific planning, I think we spend about 3 days on it. Let's hope everything goes according to "plan".

Cheers,
Ruben




Follow me on Foundation | Follow me on Twitter | Follow me on Instagram



Sort:  


~~~ embed:1564721242921668608 twitter metadata:Smhlcm9tZTAxMjIwMXx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9KaGVyb21lMDEyMjAxL3N0YXR1cy8xNTY0NzIxMjQyOTIxNjY4NjA4fA== ~~~

~~~ embed:1565474752491393026 twitter metadata:aWVyb25pbXVzfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL2llcm9uaW11cy9zdGF0dXMvMTU2NTQ3NDc1MjQ5MTM5MzAyNnw= ~~~

The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @rubencress, @jhero22, @queenstarr, @ieronimus, @gentleshaid ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hahah I still hear the echo of our 'French' conversation last night😂 Nevertheless, I'm sure we're going to have a lot of fun. Thanks to your crazy planning skills, I'm sure everything will turn out fine and it'll become a trip to always remember😊

Let's gooooooo :D

I have always felt and experienced how Paris welcomes you with open arms.
It is always so much fun.
I would have said explore Paris on foot as you it is a lot of fun if the weather is right however with your foot condition the bike option seems to be the way to go.
Enjoy your stay and by any chance if you are planning to hop on the metro avoid the office rush hours and keep your wallets tightly tucked in.

Thank you! Oh yeah... two points that I should've added to the list, security and weather checking! It's going to be rainy, and we will try to avoid rush hours or very crowded places (besides the tourism) like the Central Station.

I wish my foot condition was better, but I guess biking around is a good way to go! Have you tried that yourself during your stay in Paris, or are you located in France :P ?

Hi
Though I am not in France have been lucky to be there but have traveled there several times so can more or less find my way around with some additional help of apps . Actually love exploring Paris on foot on a nice clear day it is truly memorable experience.
I relied mostly on the metro and once couple of times had a car however getting a parking space in central Paris can be quite a task so you may end up parking quite far away.
With bikes that is not the case though I never hired them myself.
Though I did consult the weather app however on a couple of occasions it rained suddenly when it showed sunny day.
This was particularly on the day we had planned to go to the Eiffel Tower.
On the day you are planning a trip to Eiffel Tower specially when the the sun goes down and the lights come on is quite a moment.
Hope you are lucky to get a clear day with no haze to capture good aerial shots of the city from the top.

One think you may add to the list. When you plan to go up the Eiffel tower they do not allow any cans, umbrellas , bottles etc it can be tricky where to leave any such stuff.
I think they want you to buy everything up there.

Oh, I really miss something here for you. Tour Montparnasse. The building with the most stunning view over Paris!

For @lackofcolor you really should have added the most luxurious department store LaFayette on Boulevard Haussman to your list. And also for you to photograph some architecture because the department store certainly has that.

The time I was in Paris, I also found Montmartre an absolute must, just like the Sacre Coeur. There were certainly many more highlights, such as Notre Dame (glad I saw it then) ... but in fact Paris is a city that simply has TOO MUCH to do in three days.

Ha, funny you propose that one! It was actually on the list but thought it wouldn't be something we would have time for.

Montmartre is indeed a beautiful place, but it was also the only one that would be taking too much time to go back and forth, with the little time we had (and most of the things we wanted to see were more central). Apparently, it seems to be pretty crowded with scams and thieves, so didn't really bother to go -again- and would safe @lackofcolor the trouble for any additional unnecessary stress.

Paris is beautiful!

Fantastic tips here Rubencress. I just daydreamed about an all expense paid trip😂 , definitely will refer to this. Appreciate you sharing these tips. Enjoy your trip🥂

Haha, nice! Hopefully, that dream will become reality :)). Thank you, we just got back!

I've always had trouble planning trips. Ain't no way I'm not saving this. Thanks. Cheers!

Nice! Glad you found it useful! :))

Very informative, thank you very much

That's a really weird route to get to the HiveFest ;-)
I'm starting my trip in a week in order to get to the HiveFest, already arranging accommodation plans while my wife is preparing sightseeing plan.

Nice, so you'll be in the Netherlands! Will you be traveling around in the Netherlands, or does most of the sightseeing occur in Amsterdam? Have a lot of fun! I haven't bought a ticket to HiveFest, and if I even win one... I still have to check if I can go ^^

Go, that's a really exceptional event! Check ASAP and do preparations, not much time left.
I'm traveling through Germany, Belgium and Netherlands, to Amsterdam I'm coming only for the HiveFest :-)

Nice! Enjoy your stay in the Benelux and Germany! Belgium is a wonderful country, very charming. Are you planning to visit Brussels or/and Antwerp?

Yes, of course both :-) And Gent.

FOMO reminder: Get. Your. HiveFest. Ticket. ASAP. :-P

Haha, maybe next time! It would be great to finally meet... I mean, you might not remember this, but I do! 4 years ago, I was dumped in a chat channel (by @erodedthoughts) with all the techy wizards/witnesses (a secret room I believe)! I remember your name @GTG (first I thought it was Got to Go, but later I found out it was Gandalf the Grey)... Maybe, you still remember it, but I don't think so :p, but I think you were the one telling me "He got it", when I was explaining what I thought Hive was all about. I just joined Steem Hive back in the day and cracked a joke/made fun of Ned in that chat channel. I got the memo later from Erodedthoughts that he was the co-founder of Steemit... oh the days...

@lackofcolor just got her first day at the clinic, which she will be in at least a few months, so I probably have my head and focus elsewhere than enjoying myself... Thanks for stopping by at her posts, she really appreciates it (me too!)

Oh damn, sorry to hear that, I was about to write to her.
(- OK, @rubencress, you don't want to go, but may I speak to your manager? ;-) )
But I understand, viable excuse, see you both next time. You will have to go extra mile(s), as I doubt that it would be so close.

Thanks for the insights. I have never done a last-minute trip since I'm afaraid to get lost in an unfamiliar place. I'm not good with directions. 😅

Haha, I have learned to be asking people for directions the hard way in Sweden and in Germany. You'd be surprised how easy it is... nothing to be afraid of! And always have a backup plan. Btw, you can download Offline maps on Google Maps if that's something that really holds you back from traveling.

Youve made a good list here. Paris is a nice place to be. I was denied visa twice I think 3 years ago so I havent gotten the chance again since then. Have a wonderful time.

Thank @ckole! Appreciate you stopping by. That's sad to hear, hopefully, you will have a chance to go to Paris someday. Never stop trying 👊!

Paris, Paris, I wish to be there too, hey pls wait for me and let me get my things

Meet you at Carrousel du Louvre?

Have fun lovebirds since you guys are going to be in Paris - The city of Love (& Lourve). I know it's cliche but it is what it is. xD

If I end up making photographs I'm not satisfied with, I wouldn't be able to face myself or hiddenblade.

You are going to crush it mate. Looking forward to more amazing pics. Huge fan!

Thanks Finguru! Haha, appreciate it my man. #LFG

enjoy your stay , looking forward to your images :)

Thanks Mick, can't wait to explore and share it with all of you

This was very informative, thanks for the insights

Thanks, glad you picked something up :)

Ooo fun ! Enjoy !

small thing:
Je ne parler pas Francais => Je ne parle pas français

Merci, mon ami :P

Congratulations @rubencress! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badges:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.
Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!