Hello Hivers, NAMASTE, I'm Sathya from India.. Let me introduce myself!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Hello all,

HIVE is new but we are not. We have been communicating with each other for some years now. I am someone with over 2 years of experience on steem blockchain and have made friends with a handful of people whom I communicate with very often. I have made over 300 posts and over 2000 comments so far but haven't made a good #introduceyourself post on steem. Now I believe that it was destined to be made on HIVE blockchain!

So in this post, I would like to elaborate a bit about who actually I am. My name is Sathya Sankar and am currently working as a high school teacher in a rural area of Bihar.

IMG20200111163621.jpg

I was born and brought up in the southernmost part of India where we hardly speak Hindi, the language which is widely spoken in our country. This dilemma undoubtedly acted as a barrier and made our lives difficult in case we wanted to explore other parts of our country. Naturally, neither I nor most people I have known have never been to the northern part of India. Thus my entire childhood, teenage and early twenties were confined within the South India. I have known to use two languages very well- Malayalam and Tamil, and in some other languages including Hindi I'm still in the learning phase.

Growing up....

My memories from childhood span across two states- Kerala and Tamilnadu. My parents are from Tamilnadu who later migrated to Kerala. The then sole breadwinner of my family, my father, was a daily wage labourer who would go to work in many locations such as Agri lands and construction sites where he had to work his ass off to make the two ends meet. Neither my father nor my mother has a formal education so it was impossible for them even to think of seeking work in a different field.

60409658_2202158726552950_7386251392907739136_n.jpg

I, on the other hand, was an above-average student in my school and used to perform well in the studies. In fact, I was the first one in my entire family, which includes the families of my aunts and uncles, to get through 10th grade. Soon after 12th grade, when I was 17, I was asked to take a good decision about my future for which I had no answer. It was in the year 2011. The internet was not as pervasive as it is today. I didn't know as to what to do next! however, my parents have had a 1000% belief on me and any decision made by me. They were optimistic that their son would achieve something great in his life and they were far from forcing him to get into a carrier in a field of their interest because they knew none!

10838280_640308222738016_3961119790054387726_o.jpg

In a confused state, I had no option left to choose from other than to follow the herd mentality. Even though I knew nothing about anything related to higher studies, I blindly opted for Mechanical Engineering because my friend chose and suggested the same! His words were exactly this-

"There is a lot of opportunities awaiting immediately after the completion of this 4-year course! We can make a lot of money and change the condition of our families to good!"

177435_264325093669666_2111950312_o.jpg

I wanted to make money so I chose this stream and completed my graduation in the year 2015. Everything happened as it should only to get to know in later period that "Having a certificate or an education isn't enough to get a job"

Life in 20's..

As of internet standards I'm a 90's kid. I was born in the year 1993 which makes me slightly over 26 year old. In the last 6 years of having experienced 20's I can assure you that it is this very period that determines what your life would be for next 30-40 years. People often take the energy of this age for granted and end up leading a disastrous life. I have little less than 4 more years left before my 20's officially come to an end.

For the last five years I tried my hands on different fields. I worked as a daily wage labourer, as a CNC machine operator in a manufacturing firm, as a customer care executive for Samsung mobiles and now finally as a school teacher. It's been two years since I got this job. Teaching gives me immense satisfaction.

IMG20200126101811.jpg

Out of all jobs I have done it is the current job that makes me feel I'm worth something. As a teacher I always get to interact with these children and know the world from their perspective. I have learned a lot from these children than I did from adults.

Teaching gives me the chance to learn, of course the chance to teach! On top of that, it gives me a chance to connect with young minds that are going to rule the world tomorrow. Being something important in someone's life and influence them to move in a right path is a kind of comfort a very few can afford. Teachers are among that few. It comes with a major responsibility. We teachers are responsible for many decisions they might take in some important phases of their lives.

IMG20200106152809.jpg

I do still believe that I haven't achieved what I wanted to in my life. I'm persistently trying and learning new things every day. Teaching demands learning which inturns slowly improves my personal life.

My partner..

Yes, I'm married. It's been 9 months since I got married to this lovely girl @ranjitha. We fight often but we reconcile very fast. To be honest, I didn't want to get married and I was stubborn in my decision for a while. But, after getting married I have changed my mind and I believe that we need a person to share everything. My wife is that very person to me. She has been very supportive and suggestive throughout in each and every decision I make. I feel fortunate to have a woman like @ranjitha to be my side!

DE8A0617.JPG

Moving forward, I feel that I'm not alone, I have an individual to support me, take care of me and think about me. Thanks to the love of my life!

DE8A0448.JPG

Blockchain, Cryptos, Steem and HIVE..

I got to know about Cryptos in the end of 2017s when the news about the pump of Bitcoin was making the rounds. In the beginning of 2018 I stumbled across an answer discussing steem on Quora. Without a second thought I ventured in to creating an account on steemit. In the learning phase I got help from @sayee and some other steemians to understand the platforms better. I made friends with @bala41288, @dexterdev and @erode to name a few.

It is the continuous support from @firepower that made me an investor on steem blockchain. Gradually, I learnt everything and now I have holdings on BTC, LTC, steem and of course HIVE.

I'm happy that I have become a part of HIVE blockchain from it's initial phase. Hive is truly decentralized. It is the future in content creation. I'm optimistic about HIVE. It has already proven that it is a huge success.

Thanks to Witnesses

The recent post of @justineh discusses in depth 'the behind the scene' hard work of developers and influencers, most of them are current witnesses, in this community hardfork that created HIVE from STEEM.

We are finally at a place where we always wanted to be. Kudos to all who made it possible!

HIVE on!

Sort:  

Teaching is a noble profession and it also helps you to grow as an individual. Very wise words and I am proud that you have come this far, especially in the field of crypto. As for mecahnical engg, I know a lot of students who are still wasting their time trying to get jobs and wasting their life.

I always talk about you to my family and hope that you also try to attempt the IAS one day.

Thank you for your kind words. I'm already preparing for SSC exams and I will surely write civil service exam soon.

BTW, When can I see an introduction post from you? Already one contest is up conducted by @blocktrades

A great reintroduction! I love the photos!

As of internet standards I'm a 90's kid. I was born in the year 1996 which makes me slightly over 26 year old. In the last 6 years of having experienced 20's I can assure you that it is the this very period that determines what your life would be for next 30-40 years. People often take the energy of this age is for granted and end up leading a disastrous life. I have little less than 4 more years left before for my 20's officially come to an end.

You should frame this and hang it on a wall.

Not only are the 20s crucial because a person in their 20s has a lot of energy but they have the luxury of time as well. Not to mention freedom from responsibilities.

A person in their 20s is able to spend a lot of time working on a startup, get an education, relocate in order to accept a great job opportunity etc. If they fail at a startup or pick the wrong career, it will be learning experience and not a crippling disaster. They have plenty of time to start over. Nobody expects someone in their 20s to be anything but potential.

I edited that part due to so many errors caused by G-board suggestions. I was born in 1993 actually! 😀

Nobody expects someone in their 20s to be anything but potential.

You said it well.

Hello and welcome! :))

Thank you! Welcome to you too :)

I didn't know as to what to do next!

Yes, bro, this happens everyone's life. I am the one who made the same decision as yours. I mean joined Mechanical engineering 😂

Cheers! 😀

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Me gusta mucho la ultima foto, se ven hermosos. feliz dia, saludos desde Venezuela

Soy yo con mi esposa. Gracias

Wrote using Google translate.