You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The token

in OCD4 years ago

When I was a kid I had this one teacher who was an artist. Mr Busby. We always bumped heads as he thought anyone could learn to be an artist and i was always really crap. Then one day he found my 2000ad comics ( i was reading thinking he didnt know) and one of the stories was the stainless steel rat by Harry Harrison. He'd read those books and then asked me why I was reading the comics. I said i liked the stories and the artwork etc. When he realised i actually liked art but was just not good at it we were fine.

Sort:  

Good story. Some teachers get so passionate about what they do they forget to understand that others aren't, or like in your case, are not capable of doing it. Like me and mathematics. Lol.

My dad was a great teacher, and to my knowledge never forced people, just encouraged. I'm terrible at art and he knew it, but still encouraged me. Glad thing old man Busby and you became friends.

I remember Busby most for him reading the Hobbit. And the similarity between his Gollum and Andy Serkis's is uncanny. You'd think he was in my class listening

Love the Hobbit!

it is so good and actually not a big book