You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shout Out To All Those Responsible For Giving Me Things To Take Pictures Of

in OCD3 years ago

What the heck do you wireman call high voltage then. LOL. I Remember removing some old cable that had all 3 phases in one piece of cable. I was 3-250kcmil copper separated by paper soaked in PCB oil, then a led shield around that, then this weird tape stuff that acted like an outer jacked. I had to snatch up a piece of that too. I will have to take a couple photos and send them to you when I go to the shop.

Sort:  

I know exactly what you're talking about. That paper jacket. Then the ones with the semi-con and the splice material for it.

Yeah man, it changed depending whether or not I was in the utility local or an inside local. Inside, anything over 240 is high voltage.

In that particular utility local, 24 and under was low voltage, 25-12.5kv was medium voltage and everything over that is high.

They got really odd politics too that I never grew accustomed to. Their own training program, civil service code of ethics—the whole 9.