A cry of wolf

in OCD4 years ago

Employment negotiations start at my company tomorrow and while they aren't considering letting people go, layoffs are highly likely, which isn't really the best timing for anyone, myself included. With a new house we are moving into this week, the renovation work it requires and my own private business taking an economic knock of monumental proportions, I am really hoping to hold onto my back up job - the safety net.

It is touch and go, but as a delivery agent of billable work, I am hoping that I will be somewhat protected as I more than cover my salary expenses and bring in additional income, which is obviously what is needed now. On top of that, I am client-side, which means that I am an interface between the company and those who pay the company. There is value in not upsetting those relationships too much and being a point of support for clients, who are also going through their own challenges.

While there are many differences and also exceptions, most of us are in a similar boat, which makes it an interesting opportunity to connect with people as everyone has something in common, something to share - just hopefully not the flu.

I was talking informally with my boss today about the potential layoffs that are coming and she was asking my thoughts from my perspective. I think that in general, our team is relatively safe as we are delivery agents, but it is possible that our extra functions can be put on hold for the time being, meaning we could take percentage layoffs. I am not sure if this is possible everywhere, but in Finland a layoff doesn't have to be 100% for a period of time, it could be for example 20% a week, meaning a 4 day work week or three - or two... depending.

I think that pretty soon though, there is going to start to be pushback on global measures if the death toll numbers don't start increasing dramatically. That sounds bad, but we live in a world of convenience and people value their options and protect them fiercely, rational or not. With the forced reduction and continually extending reach of governments, this could be the greatest risk.

Fear is the greatest motivator we have as it leverages the oldest part of our brain and puts it into fight or flight mode. Using fear is a "great way" to get people moving, the problem is that it is short-lived as we are human and adapt and then get complacent quickly. Fear is hard to maintain at a consistent level without ramping up the catayst, which is why most acts of terror hardly make the news these days.

We are desensitized.

Desensitization is a problem because when something vital actually does happen, we are much harder to motivate and instead become quite lethargic with no sense of urgency. It is the story of the buy who cried wolf, where when a wolf did finally appear, the townsfolk ignored the call to action.

Once a name was put on the flu, it was made to go viral, so to speak. Having people die from something unnamed doesn't evoke the same fear in the community, as it is hard to include it into the narrative, and as we should know by now, control the narrative, control the populace. I am not saying that there is no epidemic, but the reactions to it might be a little extreme and overreaching, which leaves little "good space" to extend authority later, but perhaps that's the point.

Once we are accustomed to doing what we are told even if it is nonsensical or useless, we are much more likely to repeat and extend the order next time - we become more compliant, more manipulable and more willing to do what we are told without considering if what we are told is valuable. We become susceptible to propaganda and marketing.

At the end of the day though and regardless of what is real, fake and just over-exaggerated, we have to deal with the conditions we have and do the best we can. What I am hoping though is that despite the call for social distancing, people will find ways to connect and start to rely more heavily on each other in order to strengthen the general community, instead of reliance on an authority for the information that is meant to be trusted and the orders that will be the response.

The economic conditions are likely to degrade further, but this is no surprise as we are well and truly overdue for a pullback as the economy has been rapidly gaining for years with no real reason why. Some people are going to make a fortune, most are going to pay the bill. In general - if we didn't see this coming and prepare for these conditions, we are in the most group.

Let's see what tomorrow will bring. Maybe it will be another cry of wolf.

Are the wolves making the call themselves to desensitize the townspeople?

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

Yes, with lockdown on day 5 here in South Africa my cash income has dried up. And that started weeks ago since my income depended on people traveling. I'm a simple guy in South Africa and my cash reserves are about finished so I'm already unable to pay for rent next month. It is coming down to the crunch. I could see the collapse coming last year already with the yield curve inversion and the frothy stock market. I am afraid that looting will come to my country in coming days...wait...it's already here. Reports of shops being looted by hungry Africans are coming in. This is just the start.... Here comes the global meltdown. Whether affluent or poor, both of us in 1st and 3rd world, are going to see it get much worse. You may lose your house. I may lose my life.

Here comes the global meltdown. Whether affluent or poor, both of us in 1st and 3rd world, are going to see it get much worse. You may lose your house. I may lose my life.

It is a massive issue in some places more than others. I have friends in Johannesburg and I am quite sure that they are going to be in danger, along with many more. It is interesting that it is pretty much so a very small minority can add a little more to their already extensive wealth.

Stay safe.

Thanks buddy, I enjoy your posts. Yes Johannesburg is far more dangerous than my location at the southern coast.
Indeed the wealth transfer from us middle class to the elite is apparently the usual symptom of these recessions.

cause of the recessions and a catalyst for much of the violence in the world unfortunately.

That’s stressful. My wife and I almost bought a home this winter but we didn’t get our offer in and someone else bought it. Once everything started going down with coronavirus, we were both happy that we were not picking up a mortgage in these uncertain times. I think you will be fine though, especially if you are client-side.

we were both happy that we were not picking up a mortgage in these uncertain times

I am glad that at least on the main loan (we have a renovation loan also), there is a collar on the interest for the next 10 years.

That’s good.

Excellent approach. Let us hope that things will flow for the better and that solutions will emerge to the situations presented so far.

There is a saying: "On an empty stomach - time for better thinking." Due to changes in the economy, most people will wake up, be able to overcome their desensitization, and begin to look for ways out of this situation. I really want these options to be constructive.

That is a great saying - no wonder I think so poorly :D

I really want these options to be constructive.

I am guessing it will be a small minority that wakes up, but with each round, more will join in.

I hope that you won’t be layed off. Your company would be very stupid to let you go. Are any of your coworkers or bosses read your blog here? They definitely should.

I hope so too, but I guess it will give me some renovation time. One or two colleagues occasionally as well as a couple clients, but I don't advertise it at this time and they are friends as well. I hope that one day, I can onboard the entire company as half of them are coders that if they get interested, could make some pretty cool applications and integrations.

The concern for and possibility of governments or bad actors taking advantage of this situation is real. And all citizens of democratic nations must closely monitor their governments at this time. Democracy is always on the verge of extinction, for it is the nature of those in power to wish to remain in power, thus given the opportunity to make their control permanent few can resist. Vigilance is the one of the prices we pay for freedom.

It is something that I find takes the back-burner when people are scared, much like most of the responses to acts of terrorism has been a continued encroachment into privacy.

Recently in the globe, it seems laying off in companys now have become norms and usual than before which should not be. I believe you will surely not be lay off.

It's hard for most of us. I'm wishing you all you will for your business to go up! Meanwhile I'm working my ass off because there will be bills and I'm out of job.

Numbed we all are my friend, but know this!
You and your family are in our prayers!
Blessings and take care!

I'd suggest @tarazkp ...

"The economic conditions are likely to degrade further ..."

... it is likely guaranteed! Nothing even remotely close to this level of intervention / disruption by the Almighty State has ever been attempted. Certainly not on a global scale ...

What could possibly go wrong? We are only in the very early stages of finding out ...

It is a sad state the world is in right now. Both my husband and son have essential jobs, and we are pray they don't end up sick, and that we will be lucky enough not to lose my husband's income and my son can continue to save to buy something outright like he planned, why he is still living at home.
I am so worried for my boys, I worry about my adult daughters who no longer live at home, my youngest daughter is actually sick right now with what I believe is the flu, she thinks she has a sinus infection, but with everything going on, the risks of CoVid-19 is scary, she was finally able to get a virtual appointment and got some antibiotics, but I am bothered how they are testing anyone for anything and making sure people are getting the correct medicines. My oldest daughter has lung issues, so I am worried all the time. Then my grandbabies too, here in the US the virus is also attacking our kids. I think it is because of our vaccine schedule, we vaccinate our babies here with-in hours of them being born. A 9 month old, a 9 year old and sixteen other children of various ages from 10 to 17 have died so far here in the US. And yesterday two children from my hometown where my grandchildren live, were life lined to the children's hospital with CoVid-19 they are 1.5 and 3 year old siblings, when that came across the scanner and was reported by the scanner page I follow my heart broke. I am hoping those babies make it. My grandbabies are 3 and 5 so yeah this is hitting home.
Plus a family member was just released from the hospital because of CoVid-19, he nearly died before they would treat him. It is just crazy crazy out there right now. Sorry for the long comment, but yeah it has been just one crazy week and talking or writing about it helps.

That idea (or the simplified form of that idea at any rate XD) seems to be a popular conspiracy theory :)