You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why should I post my content on Hive?

in OCD4 years ago

The fact that they can operate freely here puts other people off.

Yet, communities are owned and can segment experience. I find it crazy that people want to police the entire internet, even though they only spend time in a fragment of it themselves.

It is not necessarily about how hard you work on your posts as you only make dollars if big accounts give you votes.

Over time though, it really, really, really does matter. If an account isn't consistently producing what the audience wants, it is unlikely they will consistently get support.

but you do tend to see the same names on trending.

While a lot of those names will disappear over time, what will happen is that the ones that are often there will be those who contribute. Currently, we are still very narrowly focused, but those that are there are actually contributors - it is just that creators don't count developers as creators :) I actually think that if you look at some of the creatives that are there, they are the most active and engaged, plus they put out better than average content that people enjoy.

Is that what will excite a new user? Or do they want to see art, photography, music or just good writing?

Potentially. Content is everywhere, content that gives people support to invest and possibly earn might actually be more valuable for new users on Hive. This can change over time, but currently YouTube, Instagram, DeviantArt or Medium (or whatever else) is full of content... what sets Hive apart is the economic capabilities owned by the community itself.

The issues there may be that they have to build an audience and they may be making more elsewhere.

Yes, until...

It may be better to get those with a few hundred or thousand followers who struggle to make anything on other platforms.

The real value of the other platforms isn't in the stars, it is in who the stars attract - the "wannabe" stars. They build up the accounts by mimicking others and the platform leverages their network and drives the value to themselves and distributes a little to the stars to encourage them to attract more wannabes. The system is rigged.

Sort:  

No platform is perfect, not even Hive. It has tended to attract those who are into crypto already, so there is a lot about that. I find plenty of music, comics and other stuff I enjoy, so I don't feel so much need to go to other places for those.

I could also have mentioned that only being able to earn in the first week is a problem, but the peakd tipping feature may make that less of an issue.

I support the sort of content I want to see more of rather than fishing for curation rewards. Some of the people I vote on do get some good votes from Curie etc. I would hope they tell their friends. We need to know when they sign up. That is part of why I do the #FollowFriday posts. There are cool accounts with 12 followers who get hardly any comments. Comments can matter as much as votes.

Keep it social! Life is not just about money.

Yepp, I definitely believe that comment matters as much as votes.

If I get more comments on my post....I am okay with very less rewards.

I want that human interaction. A lot of the votes I get are automated, so I appreciate it when someone actually looks at the post.

Yepp, me too.

I could also have mentioned that only being able to earn in the first week is a problem, but the peakd tipping feature may make that less of an issue.

I think that this will change in time too, through second layer solutions.

Comments can matter as much as votes.

I agree completely, which is why over the years I have put so much effort into replying to comments. I am quite tired of commenting on young accounts and not getting a reply at all. -I am sure they are hoping/expecting some reward on their content though.