Introduce Myself: Who am I, a Former Aceh Combatant, Became a Novelist

in OCDlast year

Nice to meet you, all member of the cool hive.blog community. I am one of the least famous writers in this world. Here, I want to know all friends. Even though I grew up in a village on the outskirts of the world, I am determined to be a universal human being. Through the cool @hive community, I want to get in touch with different cultures and thoughts, as a free-thinking human being.

I lived my childhood in a remote village between the hills. Almost every day with my friends, I go down into the small ditch on our village road. Sometimes we bathe, sometimes we just catch baby fish, sometimes we just catch baby frogs, tadpoles, just having fun.

Photo 1st-3rd: Our parents' house and the road in front of it, now. Still in the same place.
1 TLA intro 01.JPG

03 TLA intro.jpg

02 TLA intro.jpg

Photo 4th-5th: View of the small hills where you live in Paloh Dayah, Lhokseumawe, Aceh, Sumatra. Between these two hillsides is the where our house is located.
5 TLA intro.JPG

04 TLA intro.JPG

Photo 6th-8th - Ditches and rice fields, where we caught baby fish and frogs, in the past.
8 TLA intro.JPG

6 TLA intro.JPG

7 TLA intro.jpg

Sometimes, we go to the fields to plant cassava, harvest coconuts, bananas, and cut grass for cattle, namely cows and goats. I also burn straw to make smoke billow as an anti-mosquito for our parents' livestock. We are a family of farmers there who live among the small hillsides near the forest.

That's how it is in my hometown, Paloh Dayah, Lhokseumawe, Aceh, Sumatra. Born there on February 1, 1979 and spent my childhood and youth there and at a boarding school, about two kilometers north of our parents' wooden stilt house. I was there until I graduated from Madrasah Aliyah (high school level), in 1999, which is also in my village.

Growing up I was faced with so different realities, without coercion from anyone, I made a choice, enlisted to become part of an armed combatant group, which at that time was already so well known in the region. I'll tell you a little about that.

How I Became a Military Member of the Aceh Combatant

In 1999, a few months after I finished school, I signed up to become a member of the ASNLF (Aceh Sumatra National Liberation Front) military. Later, ASNLF became known as GAM (Free Aceh Movement). Some people call him a rebel. It's okay for them to call us anything, because they have a rich vocabulary.

In the guerrilla field, in the mountains of North Aceh, I occupied makeshift barracks made of wood and sago leaves. We made it a temporary base, because if the Indonesian soldiers surrounded us, we would leave the place, move to another place, or return there, if they left. If the base was intact when they left.

There are several barracks in the mountains in the western part of North Aceh. Some of the occupants numbered about forty people, some less. There are about seven large barracks in the mountains in the western part of North Aceh. One of them is the barracks of my group, the GAM Military Police in the western region of North Aceh. Our members are the fewest when compared to members of other barracks, only ten people. In other parts of North Aceh and Aceh, there are many more bases. I don't know any of them.

In 2000, after completing the third training session, I was ordered to rehearse a parade for several dozen GAM police recruits on the western coast of North Aceh. With my friend, I did it, but I can't remember anymore, somehow the training was stopped after a week or two, then it disappeared on its own.

In those years, the number of GAM members increased and weapons also increased. However, with the intensification of the war, the GAM police sub-forces that were formed were barely able to carry out their duties. That's a bit strange indeed. For some reason we thought of upholding the law while we were still at war, the pirates were still trying to seize territory for us to make a new State, which has shown no signs of succeeding. Meanwhile my sub-army, the Military Police, has a presence that is needed. That's because GAM has a lot of soldiers, and of course some of them like to make trouble that they don't like, which then tarnishes our reputation as fighters.

Inside the base, I usually do the usual routine that anyone would do. Our main duty is to guard the security of our comrades and weapons, taking turns. Our base was given four assault rifles, three M16s and an AK-47. We use it in shifts during night or day pickets.

Photo 9th: This is me (Three from the right, carrying M16) and trainers from various bases in western North Aceh. Photo by Teungku Jamaica, 2003.

9 TLA intro 22- Sp 7.jpg

When we were on picket duty at the Military Police headquarters, the Indonesian military never once came, so there was never any fighting there. My comrades in the base had fought in other groups at other times directly with the Indonesian army, but not me. They were recruited from the best combat troops. While I was recruited from the general army for the first generation of the GAM Military Police, because of achievements in the intellectual field and the like. Two of our members died when they fought with Indonesian soldiers outside this base.

If interested in knowing more, en.wikipedia broadcasts an overview of the Free Aceh Movement Free Aceh Movement

Even though I have the status of a guerrilla soldier, but as a person who has a high interest in learning, in the 2000s, I started to get interested in reading books. I carry reading books and writing books wherever I go, even if it's in the guerrilla field, in the mountains or in the villages. I write poems. For me, the line between the fact that we were at war and my delusion of being a bard became blurred. In terms of language, our daily life as GAM members is to write and speak or read in Acehnese, but I write in Malay or Indonesian.

Know that actually, it's not a heroic story, but a sad story, which leaves wounds that can't be healed by anyone, which can only be understood by those who experienced it. Forget it.

Why GAM Reintegrates, MoU Helsinki on August 15, 2005

On August 15, 2005, GAM and the Government of the Republic of Indonesia signed an agreement, Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) in Helsinki, Finland. The event, later known as the Helsinki MoU. After that, the political plan to separate Aceh from Indonesia was agreed to be stopped by our leaders. All submit and comply with what has been determined by our leader that "we are at peace!".

One of the reasons for the existence of the Helsinki MoU was considering the December 2004 tsunami disaster. People have already suffered from the catastrophic earthquake and tsunami, we will not add more endless wars. Therefore, GAM is also willing to make peace with RI, reintegrate into a country that obeys the laws of the Republic of Indonesia.

Since then, all GAM members have agreed to become Indonesian citizens and engage in politics in a democratic manner. Our weapons are chopped up, including four guns at our base, hand them over. In politics, Aceh was given the opportunity to fight for the fate of Aceh through local parties in the Indonesian political system, and former GAM fighters and the people founded the Aceh Party.
How I Became a Novel Writer

According to my unstoppable interest, in 2005, I started writing novels. The novel was later published in 2009 under the title "Teuntra Atom". At that time I had become a journalist at a local print media, called Harian Aceh. The novel “Teuntra Atom” is my first book. I can direct the reader to find out the synopsis at www.sastra-indonesia.com “Teuntra Atom, Anak Haram Konflik Aceh”, maybe in English is “Teuntra Atom, Bastard of the Aceh Conflict

Photo 10th: My first novel: Teuntra Atom
10 TLA intro-.jpg

Then, my second work was published in 2014, also a novel, entitled “Aceh 2025”. I printed the novel 'Aceh 2025' with borrowed money, and what's worse, the book didn't sell well in the market. I can not pay the debt for a long time. While at the same time, my friend also published a book, his book was in great demand and he benefited. "Oh, my bad luck," I wailed at that time.

Photo 11th: My Second novel, “Aceh 2025”
11 TLA intro.jpg

All Photos by: My brother Jamaluddin.

After that, I wrote several novel scripts, until when this article was published, none of them have been able to be completed. The circumstance that the writer has to think about his own printing costs is a complicated problem for me to experience.

The history of writing my work, in my opinion, is also strange. I wanted to be a poet, but my published book is a novel, not one, but two already. As for poetry books, I haven't been able to publish any of them yet.

Why I'm on the Cool Hive.blog?

That night, at the end of the day, near midnight --- around 23.00 local time on December 19, until 00: (24) early December 20 2022 ---- on the edge of the Lhokseumawe City dam, with views of mangrove trees stork nest, @vannour and @anzirpasai, helped me open an account on hive.blog.
I had heard of hive.blog a few times before, but just that evening, I decided to be a part of this great hive.blog community.

After that, for a few days, I leafed through the Hive Whitepaper, studied all the rules, but I didn't understand all of them yet, maybe with time I will understand them myself.

On December 27, 2022, with the help of @vannour, I decided to invest 1,070,944 Hive, with the intention that I can have a voting impact on community members, of course there will be content, even if it's small. However, a few minutes later, I thought that it was still lacking. Fortunately, when I saw my savings, there was still a little more, so I added another investment from all my savings, amounting to 653 Hives, all of which I power up to 1,723,957 Hive Power. After that, I wrote introduce myself and posted it.

Writing a book requires great effort and a long time, requires struggle. While here I wanted to share a story for fun with the great people of the @hive community.

There are several people in this community that I know directly, apart from @vannour and @anzirpasai, I also know @keuudeip, @ichsannanda, @ayijufridar. There may also be other people I know directly, but I don't know yet.

So, that's my first post at the end of 2022, and Happy New Year 2023!

May I be your new best friend
Kind regards

Thayeb Loh Angen

Banda Aceh, December 30, 2022.

Sort:  

Hello @thayeblohangen! This is @traciyork from the @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) curation team. We noticed you shared your first post here on Hive and introduced yourself to the community - congratulations and welcome!

Speaking of community, we have many different ones here on the blockchain, devoted to all kinds of interests. Here's a link so you can check them all out - Hive Communities. I see you've already subscribed to a few I would've recommended, and I think you'll also like these as well -

Scholar and Scribe

Hive PH

Also, as Hive can sometimes be quite confusing, the newly launched Newbies Guide should be helpful to you, as it is a growing repository of useful and easy to understand posts about how the Hive ecosystem works. For instance, there's a post in the collection called 3 things Newbies should do in their first week on Hive that you might find helpful.

Please be aware that Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog, so it is important not to include content that you don't own without sources (and it shouldn't exceed 50% of the post). For more information, check this post - Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise by hivewatchers.

I'm sure @vannour and @anzirpasai will continue to help you as you begin your Hive journey, but if you have any questions, feel free to hop into the OCD Discord server and we'll do our best to answer them, and again welcome to Hive!

I will do my best to provide guidance. Thank you for mention.

Thank you so much @lovesniper for your attention to my first post, and also thanks for the advice for me, a newcomer to this community. I will study them and apply them one by one so that they are perfect and suitable for this cool @hive community.

I will look forward to your guidance in my future posts and the following days. It's a blessed new year.

> Know that actually, it's not a heroic story, but a sad story, which leaves wounds that can't be healed by anyone, which can only be understood by those who experienced it. Forget it.

Your closing statement is really interesting. @thayeblohangen, welcome my brother and of course, we will have fun here.

Thank you @ichsannanda . This is a cool community.

An intriguing story in your life. Welcome and let's have fun and happy new year .

Thank you very much. It's a relaxing end of the year and we are entering into a wonderful new year.

Welcome to Hive Community @thayeblohangen I hope you will enjoy showing your poems. You will find here good readers, especially poets. There are several writers communities in hive. You must write and read to make friends who follow you. Enjoy it. Greetings from Caracas, Venezuela, South America.

Thank you @beaescribe. The poets who join the Hive community are cool. This is a community whose members support each other. I love it. I like your post.
Greetings from Aceh, Sumatra, Indonesia, Southeast Asia.

@thayeblohangen Welcome sir, cheers, for the new year.🥂🥂

You are welcome, @benk07

Bienvenido y que puedas vivir una gran experiencia en esta bella plataforma hive.blog. Me encantó la reseña y el intercambio cultural @thayeblohangen

Welcome and may you have a great experience on this beautiful hive.blog platform. Loved the review and cultural exchange @thayeblohangen

Thank you very much @nachomolina2. I'm sure there will be many diverse cultural experiences in this great community. On one earth, our mother.

Wow this is quite an introduction! Welcome to Hive Thayeb!!

Thank you so much @pfunk for noticing my first post. I'm glad you saw it. Hopefully I can be a good member of the @hive community like you. It's been a great new year.

Welcome brother my to the #hive blockchain. Hope you can participate here. Your story is almost the same as my older brother. But it's a shame that until now Aceh has never been independent

Thank you for your concern @aceh.potrait. Your brother is a combatant too. We have done the best we can in the last millennium exchange. Destiny determines everything.

Hi, friend.

Welcome to the community, here you will find many people who can help you, you made the best choice to join this beautiful Hive platform.

regards

Thank you @gaming.yer. I am very happy to join this Hive community. Entering here is really the best choice.

Welcome brother. I'm glad you're at hive.blog. this is your home. keep the spirit and interact with each other throughout the community.

Thank you very much @anzirpasai for your help Mr @vannour . This is the our community, the cool @hive ...

Congratulations @thayeblohangen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Update For Regular Content Creators - New Yearly Author Badge
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about Power Up!
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you @hivebuzz. This is the cool community..


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @vannour ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you @poshtoken. I like you and other friends to support my introduction..

Welcome aboard! Typically, I delegate some resource credits to help new users comment and post more often, but since you have a nice HIVE nest egg already started, I don't think you'll need that!

The best way to build a good audience is to be a good audience for others, so create conversations! If you have any questions, feel free to ask! I don't have all the answers, but I am glad to help if I can. I use PeakD most, but if you're on another HIVE frontend, just change the "peakd.com" part of the address in my links to whichever site you use.

Be sure to write down your keys and keep them somewhere safe. Click here for another writer's overview of which keys do what. Beware of scammers who promise quick riches or mystery airdrops, and don't enter your keys anywhere carelessly.

The HIVE community tends to be welcoming, but rewards may drop off after your introduction. Persevere! The path to success is not always fast and easy. Just be avoid plagiarism and spam in your posts, and you'll make progress in due time.

dizzy d20 128.png
HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

Thank you so much @jacobtothe for reading my introduction, and for your generosity in giving me HIVE. I would ask what is needed in the future. I'm new to this great @hive community.

If possible, I want to write every day here. I want to be a good member of the community, get to know each other, greet each other, share stories, be with friends all over the world. I and the new members, really need your friendship and advice. Thank you very much.

Greetings fellow @thayeblohangen and welcome to hive, this is a great platform where we can make our talents known and meet new people, cultures, is a platform with a lot to give, I hope you have fun and achieve your goals in this place.

Thanks @vinewhite for coming to my introduction. I want to have fun with all members of this community. Many new things that add to knowledge.