For better or for worse - a family bond

in OCD3 years ago

They say the key male character in a daughter’s life is the father,but I don't think so. While fathers usually idealize their daughters, siblings see their sisters in a real light and also love them with flaws and shortcomings, of which, of course, they know everything. Relationships between siblings, even the most turbulent ones, are the most important part of building our own identity, as they represent a basic bond with parents and, in short, a kind of bridge between the two worlds.

The siblings are with us as the only ones from a young age until the end of their lives. For a woman, a brother is the man who stands behind her as a protector of true good and bad. I have a younger brother and I never took this “little baby” very seriously, but the cards shuffle as we grows up and he is my best friend now.

We share a lot. A childhood that unfortunately wasn’t perfect, but it was more beautiful because of him. We have the same musical and cinematic taste, jokes that only we understand and then laughing like crazy. Secrets that are only ours, memories that will always remain in my heart. Most of all, we are connected by the same disease. Although younger, he has been battling with this disease for longer than me. And even though I was looking next to what was going on with him all these years, and how severe it could get, it was still easier for me to accept the same diagnosis. It connected us incredibly. We had never talked about it in a relaxed way before, but now our conversations about these topics are normal for us. We look for solutions together, we fight together, we can do it together.

In his teens, it looked like he would spend most of his time behind the computer because he avoided people and was embarrassed by his illness. It’s hard to hang out with friends when they’re drinking alcohol, and you can’t because there’s no toilet nearby and you know exactly what’s going to happen. So you’re looking for excuses why you won’t be at the party because it’s hard for you to admit the real cause. I didn't understand that before, now I understand it too well.

Luckily, he became more open when he noticed that this didn’t stop me from hanging out with friends. We encourage each other not to hide this part of ourselves because it will always be with us and we prefer to learn to live with it.

Unfortunately, his disease spread all over his intestines so they removed it and added a stoma. 23 year old boy with a bag on his stomach. How do you accept that? The first year was really hard for him, but after a while he realized it was a fresh start for him. He can hang out outside and drink and eat, without having to check first if there is a toilet nearby.

And how is it now? He opened his own business, found a girlfriend, engaged in sports and meditation, and surrounded himself with people who accept him as he is. He is no longer so pale and thin and there is almost always a smile on his face. Of course, dark days also come, but we have agreement that whenever we feel sad we're not seeing a way out, we call each other and talk about these crisis moments, without hesitation and in truth, and try to find a solution. It's easier for both of us.

Selfie from behind

PSX_20210420_100640.jpg

received_1147105899127604.jpeg

20210425_113405.jpg

Old but gold

20210425_113002.jpg

20210425_113127.jpg

received_336249077041500.jpeg

Because we don't live in the same country and haven't seen each other for 7 months, at least our active video calls always make me happy

received_1041297913016525.webp

My brother is a sunshine who has beautified my life and I can’t imagine life without him.

Thank you for being with me. I love you and will always look out for you! I miss u little one ❤

Because of you, I will always have a friend - Unknown

Guys, thanks for reading 🤗

With love, @tinabrezpike

Sort:  

Hello @tinabrezpike and thank you very much for your #monomad participation.
Kindly read our contest rules before submitting your next one 🙂

Hey @monochromes, I'm so sorry,because I participated in your contest last time, I automatically added your tag. I really apologize. But, I'm already preparing the pictures to participate on your contest next time 🤗 You have some great photographers in your community 👌