I love the sun, but apparently sun doesn't love me

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

This Friday my friend celebrated her birthday, so I went to Slovenia.
I came in the morning, and my brother decided it would be nice to go swimming with our dogs on the lake. Great idea, I said. Finnaly something relaxing and first time swimming this year. It is a really nice place, they also made the beaches and because it is really quite a big lake you can retreat in front of people and enjoy without being surrounded by them. It is also a very pleasant place to camp. We packed our swimsuits, loungers, inflatable pillows and dogs and set off. We found a nice little place that was surrounded by trees and in the shade.

20210628_114054.jpg

20210628_113907.jpg

A pleasant wind was blowing and it was quite cloudy but still nice and warm. I was so excited to swim again. Oh, that feeling when you jump into the water and it freezes you, and after a few seconds the water becomes pleasantly warm. Because somehow I don’t like swimming very far in the lakes because they are really quite deep and uncontrolled, I stuck to the shore and spent most of my time on a pillow and swimming with my dog because without me she won’t swim. But when I'm in the water, she swims like crazy.
We enjoyed so much and our dog's even more.

20210629_072257.jpg

20210625_113534.jpg

20210625_112323.jpg

20210628_114254.jpg

But since I went to the birthday party, we didn't stay very long. Most of my friends already have children so our parties start pretty quickly now. Those times are behind us when you went to a party at 8 p.m. and stayed till the morning. Not that we're too old, but more responsible. After a while, I noticed that my skin was getting red. Nothing I wouldn't have experienced before. Each of us has already experienced that our skin turned red when we were exposed to the sun.
But something was different. When I wanted to move, my whole body started to hurt. I took a few steps and I needed to sit again because my legs ached after each step. But I have never felt such pain before. As if my whole body was burning, or as if my skin was shrinking, it’s hard to describe that feeling. Everyone who saw me they only saw my red skin and asked me if I had fallen asleep in the sun. No, I'm not. I was chilling in the shade and swam in the sun. And then my head started to hurt. I had a feeling like my head and face was burning.
My whole body started to shake because I was so cold. When my friend saw what I looked like she said let’s go home. Since my husband was still at work, she took me to her home because she didn't want me to be home alone, because my parents were on vacation. She gave me an anti-burn cream, but with every touch I applied the cream to my body, I almost cried in pain.
My husband came to us after work. Since I hadn't mentioned anything to him before, he was shocked when he saw me. Of course I needed to measure my temperature. I got a fever. We all know what that means. Bad news. They coated me with colds towels and gave me a painkiller and fever pill. Since he was meeting friends to talk about some business, I told him to go. A friend will take care of me and if it gets worse, or I start vomiting we will call him right away to take me to the hospital. But luckily the pills helped and the headache subsided and the fever too. My body was still burning but my mind was able to funcion again.

20210628_114359.jpg
Before

20210628_113711.jpg
after

20210626_090129.jpg

20210629_071823.jpg

I was waiting for my husband to return, so that we can go back to Austria. And then he calls me at 11 p.m. He lost his car keys. I could only laugh at that moment. You can't believe that. Every time we come to Slovenia, something has to happen. With friends, they searched the entire bar, his camera bag but they didn't found them. He was convinced that someone had stolen his keys. I asked my brother if he could take me to pick him up. My husband was so pissed when he got in the car. I, on the other hand, could only laugh. From all this adrenaline, I forgot about the pain for a moment. He said 4 people were looking for keys everywhere. His bag was searched by several people and no one found them. My problem, however, was not that he lost his car keys because we have spare in the apartment and someone would drive us to Austria to get them. I would spend the weekend on the road because I would have to go from Slovenia to Austria and back again to get a car and then back again, but not a big deal. The problem was that the keys to the apartment were also on the keychain and that meant we can't go in our apartment.
As we drove home, I asked him if I could check his bag because I know that when he’s nervous he doesn’t see things in front of him. Of course, this only upset him even more, because so many people checked the bag and no one found them, so why should I. Okay, then we'll search in the morning and call the police if anyone found the keys.
When we got home, I was taking a shower with cold water, because the adrenaline subsided and the pain came back. And then I hear screaming. "It's not possible, it's not possible. What's going on? Who's fucking with me?"
I came out of the bathroom, and there stands my husband with the keys in his hands. When he opened the bag and once again took the camera out of the bag, the keys fell to the floor. He was shocked, I had never seen him like that before. He was going crazy, because they look in it several times and they didn't found it, and now somehow magically they reappeared?

My answer was laughter again. These are experiences you really can't plan. All I wanted at that moment was to smear myself with cream and fall asleep. This is difficult when your whole body burns. But I managed and I think I slept 10 hours together. Unfortunately, it was not better in the morning, so I wanted to return to Austria as soon as possible. It became clear to me that I was not capable of going to work on Monday.
I've been waiting for an hour at the doctor's and I think I'll be there for another hour because it's so crowded. But I managed to finish the article, although in pain because I have to sit on these hard chairs, but I have enough patience not to cry.
People, I'm crazy. I am completely to blame for what happened to me, regardless being so excited that I am in Slovenia again, in a peaceful environment, on the sun and in the water, I should still think about the side effects of the sun. Unfortunately, there are no excuses here.
It was a big lesson for me and I never want to go through that again.
So, use sunscreen, before and after sunbathing, stay in the shade, or at least make yourself a little foundation before exposing yourself intensely to the sun.

"If I could offer you only one tip for the future, sunscreen would be it." - Baz Luhrmann

20210628_114017.jpg

Guys, thanks for reading ☺

With love, @tinabrezpike 💜

Sort:  

Ugh, complicated story 😎 !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@tinabrezpike! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @seckorama.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

I know 😂 boring and peaceful life is not for me 😂 Thanks for pizza slice, I'm not sure what this is 🤔 but looks interesting, time to learn something new 💪