Introducing Myself to Hive

in OCD7 months ago

🎙️ Allow Me to Introduce Myself...

1.png

Digitally known as Tropic Vibes since the days of AOL, I bring tropical vibes on-chain from Jamaica. I guess these intro posts are the new "a/s/l." I'm far removed from my days as a 12/m/NY suburbs, pretending to be a 16/m/NYC to fit in with other kids adopting digital personas.

AOL.png

Minus having to sign off to let my mother make a phone call, those were fun times. Born in the '80s and raised in the '90s, it was amazing to go from card catalogs in the library to having information at our fingertips within a few clicks.

Card Catalog.png

I’m excited about web3 because it reminds me of the old days when we surfed the web and interacted with people from all over the world, without needing permission from APIs or playing nice with algorithms.

The World Wide Web was the Wild West, and I lived life on the edge…until Bono scared the peer-to-peer out of me.

When I was in college, streaming and gating information didn’t seem like a dangerous evolution in tech, but it was all downhill from there.

The Facebook.png

Somewhere between joining Facebook and LinkedIn, I fell into a boring day job and lost my soul. The internet changed, and I sat on the sidelines. I was no longer a pioneering youngster building moonshots. I became content on the ground.

You'd think a guy who lived on the internet since the 5th grade would be the first to see the value in blockchain technology…

Nope, not me!

Blockchin Heroes.png

It wasn't until discovering NFTs that everything became clear to me.

I connected the dots between Pokémon cards (shout out to Squirtle) and NFTs, and then I saw all the other benefits within web3. I could not unsee "the blockchain" and saw opportunities all around me.

It was like that Hangover meme with Zach Galifianakis counting cards. Ideas were floating around my head.

untitled.gif

Full Disclosure: I don't remember how that scene ends, but I'm not going to let that ruin my analogy or introduction… I’m on a roll.

Anyway, web3 was bigger than flipping animal pictures. It provided freedom!

I was onto something big so I decided to start a podcast!

Pod.png

There's a fine line between genius and insanity, and speaking to yourself in a closet really blurs those lines. 500+ episodes into the NFT Business Show, I'm still having the time of my life.

I like talking about amazing technology beyond speculation because I believe if we use this technology to solve real problems, money will follow.

I was introduced to Hive by the Carib DAO (@caribdao), right here in Jamaica.

Carib DAO.png

I was excited to learn that many of the web2 problems that content creators face have already been solved on Hive. I look forward to posting my content here and meeting other creators.

If any of this vibes with you, I'd love to connect.

Thanks for reading.

P.S. I wouldn't be "The NIFTY guy" if I started blogging before I got an NFT on Hive. How did I do?

Hive Punk.png

I like to create personalities for my NFTs, but Hive Punk #7789 already has a name and profession: Wilder Acosta, Disc Jockey. He has a beard and "glasses"... SOLD!

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations @tropicvibes! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - September 2023 Winners List

Hi and welcome @tropicvibes I’m sure you’ll have the best time here on Hive. I like NFT too. I will keep an eye out for any content you may wish to share.👍

Thank you for the welcome! So far so good. I like the vibe here

Hey, man. Nice to see you here! As always, I love your content and I am really happy that I have found your podcast!

I appreciate it. Podcasting is a labor of love so its always great to know people enjoy it. There is no comment section for podcasters lol. Most people listen on the go so reviews and feedback come few and far between. 😀

Welcome @tropicvibes ! Really refreshing reading your post. 😁 I mean, how can you wrap it up better than: Somewhere between joining Facebook and LinkedIn, I fell into a boring day job and lost my soul. 😅
I have been here since 2018 (when Hive was still Steemit), but the last year been kinda quiet...maybe the quiet before the storm...
It's posts like yours that bring me back!
I am all about HipHop-Reggae, DJing, Jamaica, Informationwar & Lifestyle. 😉
Let's connect...i need to step my NFT-game up!😜

untitled.gif

Nice! I salute you OG! I appreciate the kind words. Yes it is quiet all over. I enjoy the vibes here though.

So I've always collected SOMETHING since I was little. Stones, shells, sports cards, pogs, you name it. NFTs was the low hanging fruit for me to see the light.

Music is a great one too was that what get you onchain or did you go straight to coins?

Greetings Bredda! Back in 2018 it was a girlfriend of mine, a Yoga teacher who told me about Steemit (back then). She told me about this platform where you can create content & earn Cryptos for it, and that they don't have people/DJs like me on it....
So I joined because of free creation, free currency, later also freedom of speech, you know why..in this world.😉
Yeah, Freedom is pretty important to me.😊

Show your face with the words join hive bro

Hey! welcome to hive :) looks like you'd fit in well here, anyhow When you have the time, You can read some of the communities in this post that you may like : OCD Communities Incubation Program and for all hive communities you can check https://peakd.com/communities.

Some additional information includes :

  • For tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide.
  • The important thing is Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog. You can't include content that you don't own without sources. For more information, check this post: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise. Not to mention, overall plagiarized content is bad for your credibility and visibility too.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

~ @macchiata from the @OCD and @lovesniper team bringing you some helpful tips navigating hive.

Welcome aboard! I'll delegate some resource credits to help you comment and post more often while you get started. The best way to build a good audience is to be a good audience for others, so create conversations!

Be sure to write down your keys and keep them somewhere safe. Here is another writer's overview of which keys do what. Beware of scammers who promise quick riches or mystery airdrops, and don't enter your keys anywhere carelessly.

The HIVE community tends to be welcoming, but rewards may drop off after your introduction. Remember that the biggest advantage to our platform is the resilience of a blockchain where you own your content. Persevere! The path to success is not always fast and easy. Avoid plagiarism and spam in your posts. You'll make progress in due time. Here's a great post from another blogger with some helpful advice, too.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask! I don't have all the answers, but I am glad to help if I can.

dizzy d20 128.png
HIVE | PeakD | Ecency