I SHOT AN URBAN FASHION EDITORIAL WITH MY JUNIOR SISTER

in OCD4 years ago

20200521_132619.jpg


Yes we created magic!! I and my junior sister. We'd been planning the shoot for over a month now but we couldn't get to orchestrate it.
She works in a top cafeteria which is busy all week. She only gets to have one day off in a week and somehow we've not been able align. When she's busy I'd be free and when I'm free she'd be engaged. I had malaria a week or so ago and we would have done it then had it not been for my sickness.


So on Thursday we finally did the shoot against all odds. I wanted to have a look with hard light. So I made sure we started really early before the sun went down.


We were torn between styling her with an urban look or with a kimono. She has a kimono and I've been really wanting to do an Asian look. But we couldn't pull it through. Figured we didn't have enough proposing for that. The kimono wasn't enough and I didn't want to do a look that seemed incomplete. So we set out to doing an afro urban look. She put on a turtle neck and a short Jean skirt.


p-01-01.jpeg


The makeup had beads to portray the afro urbanity. She did the makeup and styling herself. It took about two hours for her to get ready(All thanks to me disturbing her to hasten up every 5 minutes. Saved an hour I guess). I did a little BTS of her makeup. God knows when I'll edit that. One, my system is faulty. Two, editing videos is really rigorous.


We headed to the location and set out to shooting immediately. We shot for about two hours in total. I started with close-ups I wasn't enjoying the shoot at first. First, the sun was harsher than I expected and just kept on casting crazy shadows on her face. I didn't have a light setup. I would have asked her to back the sun while lighting her. Second, my 35mm lens didn't really give me what I wanted. I use a crop sensor camera so my 35mm doesn't really give that suitable wide angle. The space was restricted as well. So I was getting shots that we're really tight. I couldn't capture her whole outfit. It was really frustrating though.


20200521_132555.jpg

There's me cursing the hell out of my lens.

My brother's Samsung phone came to the rescue. The Samsung A20s is a beast. It comes with a wide angle lens feature. On getting the first shot I was so elated. I felt so happy. I was able to capture the whole outfit and also get the clouds as well.


20200521_141122 (1).jpg


And there we fired away. We just kept on shooting...

20200521_142059(0) (2).jpg


and shooting...

20200521_141101 (1).jpg


and shooting.

20200521_141148 (1).jpg


Our location was a really dope one. It was originally an apartment but it was razed by fire a few years back. It is now abandoned. So the different rooms are each unique locations. I'd be uploading the pictures from the parking(Originally) today. That is the images I've uploaded in the post were shot in what was once the parlour of the flat.


So in subsequent posts I'd update pictures from the other parts of the burnt apartment. Stay pinned.


PS : You'd notice my watermark is now VISUALS BY UBJ not UBJ PHOTOGRAPHY anymore. This is because I rebranded. I'd talk about this in a separate post. Take care bees.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

looks like you had a good time over there and took few nice photos as well.
you are lucky, your sister is pretty ;)

Haha.. sure did.
Lol.. yes she is

This is awesome! Both of you did great! Excited for what the future has in store for both of you.

When I saw this, I loved it. I'm glad the C-squared upvote came in.

Great one gee

Thanks bro.
What's the Csquared upvote

You can check in the discord server. Its curation collective. Curators suggests undervalued posts for upvote.

I'm happy to be of help.

This is really amazing man