Mixed feelings

in OCD3 years ago

image.png

It's a strange time, not only with corona but also in my daily business. As I indicated to you a while ago, I currently have 2 assignments and I am quite busy with them :) My new project is a project for an elderly care organization, I am going to implement a new care system with home automation and telephony there. I always have a soft spot for care environments, so I feel like I can really make a difference for people.

The program manager is an old friend of mine, he asked me if I wanted to do this project. So in that sense that's nice of course, being asked, and I could combine it so I said yes.

The first few weeks it became clear to me that he had changed, at least that was my impression, he wanted to give his opinion about everything and if you thought otherwise, that was not possible. In consultation he will not let you finish, etc. It was all not comfortable for me, I did not feel comfortable. I worried about it and even took it home, something I never actually do. Even my wife noticed and told me not to bother and let myself be intimidated like that ... That's crazy ... I've never really had it that way. It just got in my way. I went to the office with a knot in my stomach.

The high point (or low point) was a response he gave me to an email I sent to management. A functional question came in from the organization and he forwarded it to me because he thought it could fall within my project. He asked if I wanted to reply, so I did. I replied all and clearly indicated how this could fit into my project, but that a decision still had to be made by the management. Within 5 minutes I, and all other people in the email, received a message in which he spoke to me about my language in an annoying way. First of all, it was just a well-worded email and secondly, I decide for myself what I do and don't write. But the most annoying thing was that he sent this to everyone and put me away like a little child. I was really angry and I emailed him. I made an appointment with him to discuss this. During the conversation he indicated that he did this to tease a little and to get everyone sharper. I told him that he shouldn't think that everyone is like him or thinks like him, he hired me for my expertise and should therefore assume that it will be okay, right?

I must say the conversation was nice, I could show what his behavior did to me. That it actually worked against him and me instead of working constructively. I was not the only one who was bothered by him, the other 2 project members had exactly the same thing. one of them even wanted to stop.

Last Thursday we were together with the team. Weekly consultation, he indicated that he had an announcement. We were curious of course, he indicated that he was not going to renew his contract and is leaving on January 1. We were all amazed and silent. Regardless of how he approached us, he was the driving force behind the entire process and was decisive towards the organization. That will take some getting used to when he's gone.

Personally for my project and my peace of mind it will be good. Implement my project in my own way without his interference and negativity. I already received an email from the director of the organization asking if he could still count on my support despite the departure of the program manager. I have indicated that he can certainly still count on my support. The organization is too good not to help.

Last Friday I went to a location where a supplier did measurements for the Private LTE network which we are going to install. I spent a day there with the caretaker and experienced the target group (elderly) up close. We are doing it for a great group and I will work hard to bring the project to a successful conclusion.

Enough has happened, I hope that I will now sleep a little better ....... I will keep you informed,

Greeting,
Peter

Sort:  

Congratulations @verhp11! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 175000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 180000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Dealing with people is not always that straight forward, especially not when work related. Sounds that management want's you to continue the project so thats good. Now I do hope for you, they'll not replace this program manager with another one giving you the direct control of the project. Other side of that coin is that you'll likely have to deal with management. Do you wonder why this guy's contract is not renewed? Did management not see the value in this role anymore? Or did they not want to continue with this guy, because of him?

I think managament didn't on the way he goes trough the organisation. Funny thing is that his contract is up for discussion again. SO perhaps he will stay a bit longer :(

owwww, find ways that he will not accept! make his life sooo diffuclt he soimply want to get peace by not continuing in the new year :)

Wow, that had to be a really tough situation to be in. I can't imagine having to have a conversation like that with someone that you have been close with for so long. I don't know as though I would have had the nerve to do it. I probably would have just kept going about my days even though I was miserable. Good luck with everything moving forward!

Hi @bozz , it's tough indeed... it has controlled my life the last weeks and I didn;t knew how to get out of it. I decided to do it my way now.... And when they don't approve I will give my assignment back to them and have some peace and quiet... It makes me real misserable all... still....