Shorter days, longer nights, writing poems for the first time ever, that's on my mind.

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

This year has been odd to say at least, sadly it isn't over yet. As the days are becoming shorter, darker, and much colder; things are changing. I don't dislike autumn or winter but, as we are once more unable to do much outdoors due to the pandemic never really going away, I would rather have summer back.

Sitting in my kitchen, drinking freshly ground coffee, my eyes travel across the garden. Leaves on the ground, few birds flying around, nothing much happening. Funny enough, my daughter walks in and asked, why we don't go and pick the last of raspberries left before the frost comes in. I can safely say that was the best suggestion ever, as there were more than just a few. And so soft and sweet, nothing beats homegrown.

So, after our little raspberry feast, I randomly took a piece of paper and started writing a few words down as I go. At the end, I've put them together and this is what happened, a little poem.
I've not come up with a title for it yet; probably never will.

Untitled  Boris V..jpg

This poem is very much incomplete without a couple of photos below which inspired it all; actual raspberries from our garden.

2.jpg

PHOTO info 4.jpg

1.jpg

Both images were taken with the same camera setting.

This was my first ever attempt on poetry, which makes me wonder; are the above words classed as a poem? Not sure they are. Did I enjoy spending an hour or so writing it down, organising the layout of this article, and taking the photos? Sure I did!
All that said, the taste of the last several of this year's raspberries was, as younger me would say, epic!

All of the photos are mine as are all the words included in the article, and I hope you'll enjoy.

Thanks for stopping by and take care.

Sort:  

I was wondering where you disappeared...

Had a rough and tough two months, working overtime because of pandemic, little spare time. Can't believe I was away from here for so long...and now I'm back 🙂
Hello hello 👋
How have you been?

Okay, good you didn't ditch us for good :p
I'm ok, busy but that's ok. Otherwise we I'd get even more nuts with all the crap that's going on around.

About poems.. I cannot judge. Top of my poetry abilities are silly rhymes (not even sure if that is proper English. coffee doesn't kick today).

I'd never think of leaving, just an occasional short break is all I'll take :)
Good to hear you're okay, keeping yourself busy is good, just don't forget to look after yourself. That reminds me,I'll have a lot to catch up on everyone's blog to see what you've all been up too.
You do make me laugh 🙂
I'm not good at judging poems neither, what came out earlier was sitting in my head, and that might not be a poem haha

Breaks are allowed :D