My Hive Communities

in OCD4 years ago (edited)


pexels-ketut-subiyanto-4560092.jpg
Source

The initiative of @theycallmedan, in relation to the #hivecommunities, is extraordinary and necessary. Although below I will talk about three communities that I want to recommend, I would like to expose first a concern that I have and I know that there are many users (especially newer ones) who will support me. This first part that I am going to expose was published previously in Spanish (available here), but I think it is also important to make this concern known to as many users as possible, with a view to trying to improve these points in Hive.

Since I entered the platform, in January 2018, there are so-called "communities", which basically consisted of a group of people joined together in a Discord server, also united by some voting power (more or less high) and voting with an account. Some of these communities were based on a Witness and others were not.

Among those communities is the one I lead, @la-colmena. This in turn has the support of another "community" such as @curie. But there were many more, such as @cervantes, @votovzla, @engranaje, @reveur, just to mention a few and with emphasis on the Spanish-speaking ones.

At that time there was also talk about a project that was coming for the whole platform and was associated with "beehive mind". These were to become the new "communities" of our platform, grouped by thematic concepts.

But before that came, the tribes appeared, which enclosed all those same concepts: an interface or application that filtered the content based on certain tags and also had an additional token, to reward the content of that "community", that is, the users who participated in those tags or published directly from the interface of those "communities".

Without a doubt, the Steem-Hive fork has somewhat disrupted this project of the tribes and only a few have remained active in Hive.

But being in the middle of the debacle, trying to raise the tribes in Hive, appeared what first was called "hives" and that little by little they have started to call "communities" and that are those spaces or categories that @theycallmedan refers to in his initiative.

A first mistake

The first post I reviewed on the subject, I realized that it fell into this tremendous confusion that these three types of "communities" have generated in many users, because this post deals with the first concept I explained, namely those groups of people associated to make a collective curation and collectively highlight the work of certain groups of users (whether by language, by type of content, nationality or whatever).

I've also heard from people who have spent hours looking for the 'community' of @la colmena to publish or simply to subscribe because they are interested in the work we do, but it turns out that this 'community', that is, the one that was once called 'hives' and is now the 'communities' (as it appears in each user's profile), does not exist.

Of course, I can solve the problem of @la-colmena, creating that "community", but that leads us nowhere and is not of interest to this organized community.

First of all I think it is necessary to look for different terms for each of these "communities" and thus avoid more confusion. But there is another aspect that worries me.

"Thematic" communities

When we talked about creating communities by themes of interest (this was similar to the initial " hive minds " project), I found it interesting. I immediately saw how several very specific ones were born, among which I will name "Music" (just as an example). Which was one of the first, created by @uwelang. I immediately subscribed, thinking that there I would see all the music content that would be published on the platform. But the reality is that today there are about 50 "communities" of music. I understand that there can be more specific categories and that they want to create their own community, as it could be a community of guitarists or of punk-rock or by countries, Italian music... But most of them claim to be "general".

There are other types of cases. One of the most popular "communities" today is GEMS, whose maximum benefit is the great contribution or reward that its creators offer to users. But it is worth saying that its creators, i.e. @appreciator, @rocky1 and @upmewhale do not vote exclusively in that community, but take their vote much further and reward the work of authors in other communities.

So, cases like this or Cervantes, where the vast majority of content is published in Spanish, also create some additional confusion, because what is the common theme? At least in the case of Cervantes, we can say that the language is, but what about GEMS, OCD, PALNET and so many others? I think that if I am going to publish a drawing, the ideal is that it is in the place where most (if not all) of the drawings are; that if I like psychology, I can easily find the place where everyone interested in that topic is.

It is worth clarifying that I am not criticizing any of these "communities" in particular, as I believe that each one is doing what it considers best. My concern arises from the fact that it is very difficult to understand all this and I think that between all of us we must look for the way to make everything more "logical", simpler.

Solutions

I think it is imperative to define well the role of each of these variants of communities.

That the functioning of the tribes be reviewed, since these were very costly and hard work projects, which should recover their space. If one looks at it objectively, the concept of tribal dApps is a concept similar to that of recently established communities. Perhaps these two concepts can be merged in some way.

Discord uses the name "guilds" to refer to groups of people and organized channels. Perhaps that is the name we should use for the first type of community I mentioned. The term fits well to refer to a "guild of Spanish speakers" or "guild of arts", "guild of Venezuelans" and even "guild of quality" if it is a team that is dedicated to general curation.

Each of us can do our part to help "organize" our platform in the best and easiest way possible. Let the learning curve of using Hive be reduced as much as possible and let our only concern be the creation of content.

Separador-Ylich.png

My Hive Communities

In order to respond to the original initiative of #hivecommunities, I will now review three of them and set out my vision for each one.


Music

image.png

I now understand that we must focus on "coming together" thematically and so I place this community first. It was one of the first to be created and has over 1000 subscribers. There are other music communities created by friends, which I would like to support as well, but I think it is necessary to "centralize" the content and that is why I plan to start publishing all my musical content in this community.


OnChainArt

image.png

In the same line that I have been explaining, there is this community that has been able to define a very concrete course in the area of visual arts and where the main artists of this platform are gathered.


Literatos

image.png

Finally, I present this community that we have just created, together with @josemalavem and @universoperdido, with a view to bringing together the creators of literary content in Spanish. An area of much activity in Hive, but which did not have a space of its own.


This is a good opportunity to thank @ocd and @acidyo for the support they are giving to the new communities that are emerging every day.


Source

Separador-Ylich.png


Descarga el poemario de @Ylich

"De la vida, la pasión y de la muerte"

¡Haz clic aquí!
Poemario-portada-mini.jpg

Separador-Ylich.png

If you don't have an account at Hive yet, I invite you to read my post My Hive Testimony || Mi testimonio Hive
Si aún no tienes cuenta en Hive te invito a leer mi publicación My Hive Testimony || Mi testimonio Hive

Ylich El Ruso

@ylich
http://ylich.com
https://sptfy.com/ylich

Sort:  

Source
Copying and pasting previous posts or significant parts of it of could be seen as spam when:

  • Reposting the same content without additional original content or significant changes
  • Reposting content within the same payout window

Spam is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.

Please refrain from copying and pasting previous posts going forward. If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.

Yes, I know it and I agree! But this is not copy and paste, this is a translation (b.t.w. Not made with Google translate) of a long text, which would look very overloaded in a single document. But it is also in a different context, aimed at a different community and audience.

Hello.
Thank you for explaining. Can you please add in the future an extra language version in the same post. This post was not too long so it should not have been difficult to do. The second version can be added by side or in the second half of the post. Alternatively, you can decline the payout in the translation post.

Yes, I'm one of those confused by the current state of communities, tribes, guilds... and the tokens associated with them.

many of the communities you mention are about everything ... I really don't see the point of having an everything community, but hey. If I feel like exploring art, I'd like to go over to the art communities and easily be able to find and check out some art. If I want to read reviews on bands, listen to new music... the Music community is where I'd like to find it (without having to sift through non-music related posts)

As I wrote this, I wondered if communities could be organized into "hubs" or groups of communities. This might make it easier to find what you're looking for:

Hive communities.png

Your proposal is very interesting. I like it!

I wish "someone" would take these proposals into account! My previous experiences, in terms of shaping one's proposals here, have been positive. So I hope that these concerns will be heard this time too.

Thanks for commenting! 👍