You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 Crucial Publishing Mistakes Every Hive User Should Minimize

in OCD4 years ago

Haha, cheers me up to see a SidWrites post as always! Thanks as always for sharing these wonderfully helpful tips and tricks for creating great content! As stubborn as I am, I'm slowly adopting some of your guides into my publishing style - from editing styles, to SEO - and I think that's the biggest compliment I could possible give... Lol XD! Never do I quickly try something new, but here I am.

The tagging part is certainly crucial, and I still find some users only using the bare minimum. Honestly, I think even the 10 tag limit on Peakd isn't enough sometimes. Also, adding a bit to #4, it's also not good to post too many photos in between the text! It's different for a photo-based post, but adding too many photos in-between bodies of words could seriously dilute what you've written. I'm still privy to making this mistake myself :-|

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

It also cheers me up to see you! :D

it's also not good to post too many photos in between the text!

Such a valid point. I am glad you shared the other side. I didn't get to emphasize this fact (several logical conclusion will overwhelm people), so I had to skip it.

Yet the trick is to capture people with attention — perhaps the greatest gift and dream of any writer. Because most fail to do so, sandwiching images between paragraphs made logical sense.

The tagging part is certainly crucial, and I still find some users only using the bare minimum.

True. I feel it really boils down to their attention. If less tags, they definitely didn't proofread the post too.

Quite true, and I certainly understood what your emphasis was. I guess it's a balancing act of making sure you have enough photos to compliment your post, without absolutely bombarding the reader, or distracting them with constant scrolling to make the post unreadable.

That's a very good observation to make about the tagging. If you're not putting in the effort for this step, you've likely missed out on other steps in the process, too. One possible UI improvement to be made to Peakd/Hive.Blog is the ability to better search through tags.

Like on Medium, where typing out some tags would lead to suggestions, then telling you how many each particular tag is being used. This I think, could help users to more precisely choose their appropriate tags, instead of what we do now, and just indexing them manually :-D

Like on Medium, where typing out some tags would lead to suggestions, then telling you how many each particular tag

You know? Peakd kinda does it. I didn't know too. It recommends previously used tags I guess. But yeah, we need a site-wide tag cloud. Steem "had" one based on my research. Hive should get one too.

Almost feels like reinventing the wheel.

Haha, true. Peakd's tagging system, as you say, only recommends previously used ones, especially if you've used them frequently enough. I didn't remember much from Steemit, though. It's one of those little improvements that should be added to Hive/Peakd in a later update. Not a huge feature, but neat to have :-)