My Thoughts on Homeschooling

in OCD • 4 years ago (edited)

Howdy hivers! It's been days since my last post.. been busy too and don't have my own phone to write and poat with. Haha.. ( i hope i can buy one soon! 😔) .. Anyway.. i actually wanted to write this and share it so i would know if other moms have the same.opinion as i have or i may have learnings from them too..

This is about Homestudy or Homeschooling


PicsArt_09-05-06.03.46.jpg


Two weeks ago.. my son , who is in Grade 8 and my nephew who is in Grade 7 , started their homestudy. At first, it was like getting to know modules and all that orientation. The following week.. was the actual lessons per subject.. so technically this week we are having the 2nd batch of modules per subject.

I also wanna express my feelings towards all the teachers.. professors.. educators from all over the globe.. i salute all of you. This profession ain't very easy, as i am experiencing it now ( like a mom home teacher🥺😅) , you got to have a lot of patience.. like patience to the outerspace and going back and forth, LOL No, seriously i admire all the educators.. now i know how much payience you have and why there are instances teachers have this tendency to shout on to the students or even hurt them sometimes (but not that badly hurt). Now i can understand you guys better.. very very clear 😊


Going back to what i want to tell here, i think there are these advantages and disadvantages homeschooling has. Let's see if you guys would agree with me or not.


IMG_20200905_152852.jpg


Advantages

Safety of the kids/students

With this, im not saying they're not safe at school but not at all times.. our kids might be okay when their inside school's premises but once they go out for snack or lunch or going home time , we're not sure of what might happen to them considering all the factors like strangers and all the vehicles.. and accident is accident , no one can tell.. but with homeschool.. literally therr are at home , no need for them to go out. So we , parents dont need to worry about their safety too much.

More time with them

This is actually one of the good things that happened during this pandemic , of course am not thankful of the existence of the virus.. but this gave people more time with family , coz most of the time we are just staying at home. Same with homestudy , i myself spend much of my time with my kids and nephew.. teaching them and scolding them at the same time , LOL. This homeschooling also gave me this chance to have mom and son time more. It isn't happy times always coz they get annoyed and i get more annoyed but it's the memories to be treasured.

Save money

This is really a thing, haha. Well i guess many would agree since kids are just staying at home they don't have to buy foods outside or ask much money for their school projects, parents can save more money compared if they are on a daily regular schooling . Some parenta would have to pay school service , tutor , delivered or ordered foods and many others.

Parents can share knowledge

This is a big yes! My braincells have to work too during this homeschooling. I don't have a choice but to be the teacher for my kids , well i think we are all the first teacher at home. Anyway , aside from that i am able to share experiences and ideas with them too whenever becessary, depending on the subject. Not only my kids are learning but these modules are refreshing my mind too. Because of this it's like me sharing good memories with them too .. learning and bonding at the same time.


IMG_20200905_162517.jpg


Disadvantages

Students/Kids are being Lazy

Yes, this is so true , they would depend much on their parenta.. their guardians or even with grannies as one of my cousins and some neighbors told me about their homeschooling. I bet if i'll make a survey many would answer that yes option that they are doing things for their kids. My momma said one of her churchmate said that her grandchild a grade 10 student would let her do the modules and just go away and out. With my own experience, i tend to hit the hands of my son or my nephew to let them do it but most of the time they get stuck and stop.. so many pauses and reasons and that. In the end i still manage to let them do it , of course with my guidance

They don't learn much

I am not sure how a teacher with let's say 30 students inside a room can handle it making them listen and stay quite while he/she is teaching them. Again.. i salute them! . With this homeschooling , i can see that the only goal kids do have is to finish the modules and the end.. no more questions and clarifications or whatsoever. But compared to a regular school set up, even a kid won't ask , there this recitations and short quizes that would test if they learn something from the lesson, right? So this part for me is better with the normal school set up.

They sleep late and wake up late

Some may say to me that, "Hey, you can control your kids!" .. yeah i agree but having a teenager is not that easy.. you would do all this chores all day , taking care of two little girls then what you'll feel at the end of the day is to lay down and sleep . Yes i would ask my son to sleep early , put away your phone so you can get up early .. but the rwality is ge will go to his room and then still use the phone and sleep late.. so with that he would wake up late as well. Unlike when he was in a normal school set up, he would have to go to sleep at 9 pm and woke up 5:30 am to prepare for school.

Kids/students can't control

As we all know , and based on my experience kids or teenagers are more expressive, more hyper , more emeotional when they are with their parents or they know we're just around. As na observation and via experience , when you are a student at a normal school you won't get easily tired or cn gwt out of the room if you want to, i stead you'll stay as behave as you are and cooperate with the teacher and the whole class..but, with homeschooling , kids do have an option and the guts to get out of the chair , have a pretend sleep attitude , put on big eyes on you or cry, LOL. All these are some kinda disturbing during our lesson.


IMG_20200905_162537.jpg


Homeschooling is not very easy , it can give parents stress most of the time, but it's more rewarding and fun on my part, thinking the positive side of things .. instead of letting our kids go to a normal school set up and be at risk for virus , we chose to have more patience .. understand and of course love for them by being their educators at home. We can get tired yes, but let's not ever give up.. especially for our kids. Hope this pandemic will end very soon so everyone of us can be as happy as anyone want to be.

'Til next time...


zephalexia💕

Sort:  

I'd say, the success of homeschooling is in the method in which it is being implemented at home. There are many ways a child can learn, not every thing through modules that the teacher sends. I think the situation most parents have been put into right now where the "school is brought home" will be very hard. For me, homeschooling is much different to schooling at home. In my opinion, we as parents need to help our children develop the love to learn and we cannot do this if we confine them to a single approach.

I just asked my son, now homeschooled for 3 years (he's incoming Gr6), where he thinks he would have learned more, at school or at home. He quickly answered "home", because he can take his time to process and understand the lesson as opposed to when the teacher would just "say the lesson" and move on to the next topic even he did not fully understand the lesson yet (because obviously, the teacher would need to move on the next topic to keep in line with her timetable).

Anyway, more power to you, Mommy, to push through this new endeavor. It really takes heart and a lot of hard work to put our children's education into our hands. 🤗

This is a really interesting topic. My children both started out in the school system, then we changed to home education. When We first started homeschooling, I would likely have agreed with you on all these points, but then we "deschooled" and I realised we were going about it all wrong. The reason I took them out of school, was because the school was failing my daughters in their education approaches. So why was I trying to mimic it at home?

Kids are only lazy if it's something they don't want to do. So it turns out you just need to make learning into something they want to do. Unfortunately, wading through modules is just not going to be fun, so they aren't going to enjoy it and they won't learn as much if they aren't enjoying it. Children can, in fact, learn MUCH more out of school than they do at school, you just need to figure out how they learn best. We covered in a couple of hours what took them a whole day at school AND they retained more of it because they understood it better and enjoyed it more.

Admittedly, as teenagers having been used to the school system all their lives, the chances are they might see learning as a tedious exercise. So if you're then trying to make them do those school things at home, without the company of class mates to make the day a bit easier, then I can see why they would be lazier and learning less.

My daughters came out of school when they were 7 and 9 (almost 10). My eldest is currently in her second year of her university degree and is looking to do her medical doctorate upon completion. My youngest is doing her high school certificate online. It's the most formal type of education she's done for a long time, but now she has a better understanding of self discipline and learning for her own sake, she has taken to it much better than I expected and seems to be a model student, according to the reports I'm getting from her teacher. So I can unequivocally say that they didn't learn less while homeschooling, even though I worried about that many a time. Phew!

I've reblogged this to the homeedders group, where hopefully there will be a few people who might be interested in joining in the conversation!

I see you posted in the OCD community. Did you know they're trying to encourage people into the more relevant niche communities where their work will be more likely appreciated by others interested in the same topic? In order to do this, they are supporting posts made in these communities over those in the OCD community. The @HomeEdders community is supported by OCD and we welcome content about homeschooling.

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.