LIL: Pictures From the Shore for My May Gallery Contribution

Today's selection of LIL pictures reflects my environment. I live near the beach now. It's a wonderful thing, not the sort of thing that may become wearying. I can go to the same stretch of shore every day and the scene will be different.

The tides change, and with the changing tides the shore changes. The trees change. They can be bare, or in bloom. The birds that inhabit the beach change, both in species variety and in number present. There is nothing constant about nature, and this is most evident on the dynamic shore.

In the pictures displayed today you may notice two types of shore. One, with smooth sands and limitless horizon--the fifth photo--represents the South Shore of my small island. The smooth, flat sand is a legacy of receding glaciers, which pulled away from the island. The South Shore was the outwash plain, its character defined as water from melting ice flowed out to sea.

On the North Shore, you will notice a rockier consistency and on the horizon the hilly landscape typical of this region. The North Shore was shaped by the glacier pulling across the land, carving it and leaving behind rocky debris.

Approximately 20 miles separate these two beaches, and yet the shorelines are different. The North Shore beach is more inclined toward boating than swimming, although swimmers abound in summer. You can see some of the boats in the pictures in today's blog.

Some of the pictures contributed to LIL today were originally posted in the Amazing Nature Community. All the pictures displayed here, once posted in the LIL Gallery, will be in the public domain and available for everyone on Hive to use.

If you would like to contribute to the Gallery, or borrow from it, procedures for doing so are outlined in this post by @shaka.

I hope these pictures area useful to someone, someday. Thank you for reading my blog. Health and peace to all.

Pastel Houses Pastel Houses, Homes
Fishing in the Harbor Boats, Men, Bay, Water
Classic Car Red Car, Classic Car, Automobile
Race Car Car, Sport Car, Race Car
Waves on Shore Beach, Shore, Waves, Sky
Calm Bay at Dusk Shore, Boats, Bay, Water
Tree on the Beach Tree, Plant, Beach, Water
Tree in Bloom on the Beach Tree, Plants, Beach
Boat wash sign on the beach Sign, Beach, People
Boat Boat, Water
Kayaking Kayak, People, Water, Rocks
Paddles Up, Kayaking Kayak, People, Water
Man Fishing Man, Fishing, Rocks
Man Fishing in Water Man, Fishing, Water
Man Adjusting Fishing Rod Man, Fishing, Fishing Rod, Water
Fishing in Water Man, Fishing, Sport, Water
Dog Licking Its Chops Dog, Beach
Dog on the Sand Dog, Animal, Beach
Dog on the Beach Dog, Beach, Animal
Dog With Friend Dog, Beach, Animal
Dog Standing Dog, Beach
Dog on the Beach Dog, Sand, Beach
Boat Boat, Yacht, Water
Wild Flowers Flowers, Plant, Nature
House Shutter Shutter, House Accessory
Flamingo Decoration, Flamingo, Bird
Red House House, Home, Red House
White Dog Dog, Animal, Pet
Woman Standing Woman, Person, Human
Woman Drinking Woman, Human, Person
Two Women Women, People, Woman
Trick or Treat Bucket Halloween, Trick or Treat, Bucket
Sort:  

Cool pics! Hope I can use them in my future collages. Thanks!!!

That would be wonderful, @gabmr. I love your collages :)

Wow, what unique and fascinating photos, @agmoore. Many of them literally trigger my Muse. :-)

image.png

Oh, how I would love to be on one of these beaches right now...

Thanks a million for sharing!!!

Thank you my friend, @quantumg😇🌺🌈

Lovely pictures..

I can imagine a few collages they could help bring to life.

Thank you my young friend. 🌞

The pictures are really useful for adding to our articles
They make sense!

The tides change, and with the changing tides the shore changes. The trees change. They can be bare, or in bloom. The birds that inhabit the beach change, both in species variety and in number present. There is nothing constant about nature, and this is most evident on the dynamic shore.

Sounds like a dream in principle, but I went to a beach town not too long ago and I can still remember the cacophony of seagulls. A horrible sound. A perpetual mocking tone from all directions.

If I had to pick a bird to dominate my town, it would be inland pigeons. Such a pleasant sound and funny face - wood pigeons are my favourite.

Awesome pics anyway, love the pastel houses!

I went to a beach town not too long ago and I can still remember the cacophony of seagulls.

Those were the garbage pickers, hanging around town. I didn't hear one gull while I was there. I've been there in winter, summer and spring. Different concentrations of gull population, but rarely the noisy gulls you describe. Mostly they just hunt for food. Constantly. If humans are eating, they'll come around begging.

I liked those houses too. Not typical for this area.

It's good that you have visited these special places especially the fishing experience and going to such scenic places gives relaxation to the mind and a lot of happiness.

The pictures are very nice, your contribution is appreciable