LMAC #51: The Grizzly Bear

in Let's Make a Collage4 years ago (edited)

shaka sept 17 gif6.gif

A brown bear will eat just about anything and as much of everything as it can find.

bear border.jpg

Brown Bear at Brooks Falls, Alaska
Brown_bear_at_Brooks_Falls credit brockin in a glory 1,2,2.5,3.0.jpg
Photo image: Brocken Inaglory. CC license 1.0, 2.0, 2.5, 3.0.

Brooks Falls is located in Katmai National Park and Preserve, on the Brooks River. Salmon are said to leap over the falls on their way to the Brooks Lake spawning grounds.

Bears Catching Salmon at Brooks Falls
bears at_Brooks_Falls Katmai National Park and Preserve public.jpg
Photo credit: Katmai National Park Preserve. Public domain.

bear border.jpg

Grizzly Bears and Brown Bears
According to the U. S. National Park Service, grizzly bears are brown bears. They just go by different names in different regions. Brown bears live by the water, and grizzlies live inland. Call it grizzly, call it brown...this bear has a voracious appetite and is a dedicated omnivore.

A Grizzly Claw
gizzly claw  Pierre5018 4.0.jpg
Image credit: Pierre5018. CC license 4.0

The omnivorous grizzly is aided in its food hunt by a remarkable claw. According to the Agricultural Department of Washington State University, grizzly claws, "are as useful as Swiss Army knives". The claws are used to catch fish, dig in the ground for small prey, and forage in tree trunks for insects.

The claws are long (estimated at 4"), more straight than curved, and are not retractable.

bear border.jpg

Grizzly Bear Cubs
Grizzly_Bear_cubs NPS public domain.jpg
Image credit: U. S. National Parks Service Public domaon

Grizzlies have a very low reproduction rate. It is estimated (by Western Wildlife Outreach) that it takes ten years for a female grizzly to replace herself in the wild. Her lifespan is only 20 to 25 years. Litters may have as many as four cubs, but the average size of a litter is two. The female is not monogamous. Cubs in a litter may have different fathers.

Foraging Grizzly with Cubs, Denai National Park, Alaska
Grizzly Bear foraging with cubs denai national park Amanda Lea 3.0.jpg
Photo credit: Amanda Lea. CC 4.0 license

A cub does not leave its mother until it is 2 or 3 years old. The mother will not mate during this time.

bear border.jpg

Grizzlies as a Threatened Species
According to endangered.org, the number one threat to grizzlies is death caused by contact with humans. In the U. S.'s lower 48 states, it is against the law to "harm, harass, or kill" a grizzly unless this is done to protect your life or someone else's life.

Grizzly and Cubs Cross the Road, Madison Junction, Yellowstone Park
Grizzly_sow_and_cub_crossing_road_15258797231 Yellowstone National Park from Yellowstone NP, USA.jpg
Image credit: Jim Peaco, Yellowstone National Park Service. Public domain.

100,000 grizzlies once roamed the U. S. West. Today, only isolated, so-called island populations remain. Grizzlies are an umbrella species, "when grizzly bear populations are healthy, their habitat also protects about 80 per cent of other species that live in the same region".

bear border.jpg

Grizzly_Bear_in_Alaska  Ashley Lee 4.0.jpg
Photo credit: Ashley Lee. CC 4.0 license

Grizzlies are smart, beautiful, environmentally significant animals. I hope that , in the future, there's a place for them in the U. S. West, besides zoos and natural history museums.

border creative3a.jpg

My Collage for LMAC #51

All @shaka's pictures are beautiful, but this one had a mood I didn't want to destroy. It took a while for me to get the effect I was going for, but I always knew I wanted water at the center, and I wanted animals.

The water I created by using an AI program called Nvidia Gaugan. A child who blogs on Hive, @steemean, introduced me to this program. Here's the picture from which I took the lake. I made the picture specifically for this collage, because I knew what I wanted the water to look like.

gaugan 29.jpg

After I put the lake in the scene,
shaka sept 17 and gaugan.jpg

I tried all kinds of things, but then settled on the simple. I first ran it through Lunapic to give the image a kind of fantastical, lyrical mood. But the filters looked weird in a GIF so I had to go back and redo the whole thing in an edit.

Then I went over to Paint3D for the fish and the bears. The GIF I made with GIMP.

border creative3a.jpg

I think it's obvious I had great fun making this collage. It's always an adventure. I won't share all the messy steps and bad moves I made on the way to the finished product :))

Thank you @shaka for putting in the work it takes to keep this community vibrant. You offer an opportunity to win prizes, to network with other Hiveans, and to create.

For anyone who is not familiar with the LMAC contest, or the community, head over to @shaka's blog and check out some of the collages posted there. These will be pouring in until sometime on Monday, so come back and check again.

border creative3a.jpg

Thank you for reading my blog

fox and squirrel friendsgif.gif

Hive on!

Sort:  

Such cute bears!! Great collage!!

Thank you! I appreciate that, and thank you for reblogging.
I agree...those bears are very, very cute :)


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you discovery, very very much for the recognition :)

!discovery 40

I really appreciate the vote...it's great encouragement.

wao beautiful collage made where you enjoy learning the life and history of brown bears and the way they fish with their claws. excellent collage. Regards.

Thank you, friend! I think the bears are beautiful, so finding pictures of them was great fun.
Thanks for coming by and appreciating my collage.

Hey AG it's been a while :) .. Hope you are good and well.

Well I remember I tried once to create a gif from gimp and despite I dit it, I found it a bit complicated.. that is an amazing work.

I also love the bear divider 😃 @agmoore

You noticed my bear border. Thank you!! I waste a lot of time on those little touches nobody notices--except you :)
The GIF becomes very easy after you do it a few times. At first I was thoroughly confused. Just play around and will come to you eventually.
I wish your father good health.

I face real hard times trying to design fancy dividers lol! How could I miss one then.. 😄

Yes, I think I need to be more familiar with gimp.

Welcome AG and thank you for your kind wishes 😊

A wonderful contribution. A magical collage and I learned something more about grizzly bears.
What could I want more!?
Kind regards. 😎

Thank you @muelli. I loved learning about bears...the collage is always an uphill climb for me. Glad you like it :)

I really like your collage, you have that particularity of writing and imparting knowledge, this round teaches us a little more about brown bears. I send you a big hug and good luck.

Thank you my friend. I enjoyed spending time with bears (at a safe distance!). So happy you like the collage. A big hug back..waiting to see your design :)

I am precisely pixabay looking for what to do, my creativity is at a very low level ha ha,

You have time! Relax and enjoy yourself. It will come to you naturally, I am confident.

I love the collage and the story behind it

Thank you very much. So many edits on the picture...never came out the way I imagined. I appreciate the kind words. Writing comes more easily to me than art.

You still awesomely in collages as well. I believe you will love it as much as writing with time

A wonderful collage and a great explanation!
Before reading your post, I always assumed that brown bears and grizzlies were two different species. Now I am happy to have learned something new.

Thank you very much, teacher :) High praise. I love learning and writing. I'm glad you find the bear facts (ha ha) entertaining.

Hello friend, excellent story that highlights the life of bears and the damage caused by man to hunt them. Animals that are in danger of disappearing must always be protected. Excellent collage, good luck in the contest.

Thank you my friend :) I see in your collage you save the animals. Wonderful. I don't understand sport hunting. How can it be sport to kill??

Good luck tomorrow.

Hello friend, thank you if in some countries people see hunting as a sport, here in Venezuela there is an animal protection law, if a person hurts animals, the law may fall.

Great animation..
I love bears. The small are so cute. :-)
And I loved this Gaugan. It's super.
Thanks my friend for the mention of the Gaugan Contest.

Thank you for visiting, and thank you for liking my collage.
I love Gaugan, and I love your Lego creations. I hope everybody visits and participates.

Hello @agmoore. A great informative work about the life of bears (and so many other forest animals). The man for the "development" has been very cruel.

I have never worked with Nvidia Gaugan's program. Is it easy? I really liked the lake you made.

At one point I also thought that the immense green of the mountains of @shaka lacked water from the rivers, from the lakes. The green and blue always mix, hahaha.

I enjoyed your collage and the mail, good luck in the contest, you have a great piece of work!

Thank you! You will love Nvidia Gaugan. It is relaxing, almost like a Zen exercise. There's no way to do something 'wrong'. The machine learns and we learn at the same time. It wants to understand our intention and we have to learn how to communicate with it. Here's a link. A link to @steemean's blog (7 years old!) is in my post. Examples of work are there.

Thank you for coming by. I'm glad you liked my collage. Animals and nature...that's where I feel peaceful.

Great I would love to jump in to the lake

Watch out for the bears!!
:))

I would add the grizzlies to #amazing nature this is an amazing duo blog and #amazingnature is the best contest to enter with that story
Good luck in both contests

Hi,
Thanks for stopping by. I'm not very good at navigating the platform. Perhaps I can rework this blog, with more info and pictures, and then post it in #amazingnature. I don't take photographs, but love research and writing. If you think that community would be a natural home for this kind of blog, it would be a pleasure.
Thanks for the suggestion.

Well you can and KW ish you luck ! I love the grizzly

If you need help navigating I can help or just come to discord the terminal

Congratulations @agmoore! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6500 comments. Your next target is to reach 7000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors