LMAC #52: Horses

shaka 52gif7.gif

When I first saw @shaka's picture this week--the template for #LMAC #52-- the fact that the horses were wearing halters jumped out at me. I wondered if the horses had to wear halters twenty-four hours a day.

Wild Horses
Wild_horses,_Šar_Mountains Aljabakphoto 4.0.jpg
Photo credit: Aljabakphoto. Picture taken in the Šar Mountains National Park in Dragaš, Kosovo. Used under a CC 4.0 license

I decided to learn a little about halter use and horse behavior in the wild.

@shaka's Photo
pCC66d4  Imgur.jpg

border horse gif.gif

Horses and Halters
The rationale for a halter is that it helps to establish control over the horse. However, leaving a halter on during 'turnout' is dangerous. Turnout is when a horse grazes freely and exercises, as the horses are doing in @shaka's picture.

The horse can actually strangle itself if the halter catches on a fence. Plus if the horse gets in a fight, the halter can become a deadly weapon if the other animal seizes it.

A Horse in Turnout Without a Halter
Smoky_black_icelandic_horse Paula Jantunen public.jpg
Image credit: Paula Jantunen, Finland. Public domain.

The first thing I did in my collage was remove the halters.

border horse gif.gif

I added a mare (white horse) at the center of the picture. According to Nebraska PBS, in a wild/feral horse herd, a senior mare is dominant and leads the herd. She finds the best grazing areas, and water. She finds salt licks, and shelter.

A dominant stallion will be at the back of the herd, looking for danger, ready to defend against threats, and corralling in stragglers.

Horse Herd, Chuya Steppe, Altai Mountains
horse herd altai mountains Alexandr frolov 4.0.jpg
Image credit: Alexandr frolov. Used under CC 4.0 license.

border horse gif.gif

Horses and Birds

I've read that the relationship between birds (especially egrets) and horses is commensal, symbiotic, or mutual. Whichever phrase fits, horses and birds get along fine.

The bird hitches a ride and gets a neat perching area. The horse gets groomed as the bird makes a meal of parasites. This arrangement is so common between egrets and cattle, that the egrets are called cattle egrets.

Cattle Egret
Cattle egret_on_cattle Nagarjun 2.0.jpg
Image credit: Nagarjun,Sultanpur National Park, Haryana, India. Used under CC 2.0 license.

There are a lot of egrets in my collage because, ordinarily, there may be a lot of egrets hanging around feral/wild horses. Egrets are not the only birds to hang around horses. Black-billed magpies have also been noted grooming cattle and horses.

Black-Billed Magpie on a Cow
Blackbilled magpie_on_cow USFWS MountainPrairie2.0 public.jpg
Image credit: USFWS Mountain-Prairie. CC 2.0 and public domain.

Horses Are Social: They Communicate

There is a variety of vocalizations, body movements, and expressions horses use to communicate with each other.

Expressions

One facial expression you might see on a horse is the Flehmen Response.

Flehmen ResponseHorse  Brandinian public.jpg
Image credit: Brandinian. Public domain.

You are likely to see this expression on a stallion if he picks up the scent of a mare in heat.

Another expression you might see signals aggression: If a horse opens its jaws wide and exposes its teeth, watch out. An attack may be imminent.

Vocalizations

A whinny: According to Rutgers Agriculture: "Horses whinny to let others know where they are and to try to locate a herd mate." Here's a YouTube video in which a horse demonstrates the whinny:

A nicker may be heard between a mare and a foal. Or it many be used by a stallion signalling to his intended mate. Nickers are also sometimes used by horses that are asking for food.
Here's a YouTube video in which a horse demonstrates a nicker:

border horse gif.gif

It's been a lot of fun learning and writing about horses. I hope, if any of my readers has a horse, or wants a horse they will do a lot more reading on their own. These are such complex, beautiful animals.

My Collage

After I removed the halters in @shaka's photo, I also removed the fences. I wanted to create a free environment for the horses.

I gave them a clean water source (in the background):

shaka 52c process.jpg
shaka 52d process.jpg

And a sun, shining in the sky.
shaka 52o process.jpg

They were provided plenty of grass to eat, and company. In the end I decided to have the mare in the center rear, to draw attention to her central role in the herd hierarchy.

border horse gif.gif

All my animals, the water, shrubs, and the sun, came from Pixabay or Paint 3D.
Pixabay:
Source white horse, Source brown horse, Source light brown horse, Source water, Source horse by the water, Source foal and mare, Source horse lying down, Source mare with colt in the background, Source standing egret, Source sun,
Paint 3D
Shrubs by the water
Bird flying on the right
Two kinds of grass in the foreground
Elements in the horse border

Paint and GIMP were used to manipulate the picture, and to make a GIF

border horse gif.gif

This was a fun exercise for me, because I love horses. I have taken a look at some of the other collages submitted in the LMAC contest so far this week. Some of these are brilliant. Check them out here on @shaka's blog. If you haven't tried your hand at making a collage, I suggest you jump in. There's even an LMAC collage school, to help you get started.

Your imagination can take you anywhere you want to go. In times of stress that is a wonderful thing. Thanks, @shaka for giving me the opportunity to create and to be part of the welcoming LMAC community.

lmac graphic3.jpg

Thank you for reading my blog

fox and squirrel friendsgif.gif

Hive on

Sort:  

A beautiful work of art in your collage AG. A happy scene with the water in the background and the horses free without bridles. I love the movement of the white bird and white horse.
!tip

Thank you, my friend. You and I obviously share a love of animals and nature. I think this touches everything we do.

I appreciate the kind words and the tip.

Be well, and enjoy your little backyard buddies.
AG

Congrats AG @agmoore on your well deserved collage win.👍

Yes our love for animals and nature is very much part of who we are.💞

Take good care and have a wonderful day dear AG.

You brought a lot of life into the scene. And so without the bridles, the horses look much happier. A very beautifull collage!

Good luck!

When I first saw @shaka's picture this week--the template for #LMAC #52-- the fact that the horses were wearing halters jumped out at me. I wondered if the horses had to wear halters twenty-four hours a day.

Their farmer is probably a lazy slug. But hopefully he's merely out of sight and is just preparing for the ride out.

Thank you very much for that kind assessment. I thought maybe the farmer might just be out of sight, but then the horse lying down suggests otherwise (Now I"m a detective 😂). There are people who actually leave the bridles on all the time. And they buy nylon bridles, which are less forgiving than other materials.

I've been reading the horse forums. I do go overboard :))

Greetings friend, excellent collage where again a description of these beautiful horses that is their environment have a symbiotic relationship with these birds. Good luck in the contest.

I know you love animals. At least in our pictures we can make them happy :)
Thank you for your kind words.

I like the idea around the commensalism between birds and horses. The collage paints a beautiful picture of a happy environment for the horses

Thank you. I thought of my collage when I saw yours and read your description. You knew what you wanted to do and that made you happy. Same here. I wanted to make a picture where the horses were happy.

That's cool. Am glad "happiness" is the lead motivation

So lovely, cheering and peaceful! It brings inner peace to me looking at your artwork AG

Thank you, @razeiv. I can't control the world, but I can make happy places in my collages :)

I love what you did with that image, you see such a fresh and picturesque landscape, it really provokes me to be there🤩... on the other hand I really liked learning about horses, I had no idea that neighing was a way of trying to locate another member of the herd, very good and educational publication... good luck in this round.

Thank you! I love nature, animals and making collages. This was a perfect exercise for me. Good feelings all around.
I didn't know much about horses. There was so much about halter types, horse expressions and how they move, but I had to limit the information because people get bored :))

Peace and health 🐎 🌞
AG

I find your collage / gif very attractive and significant, as well as well elaborated. It is very interesting the modifications that you have made in the initial photo (beautiful, by the way) proposed by @shaka: The sense of freedom and the wild are highlighted in your work. Good luck and greetings, @agmoore.

***

Tu post ha sido votado por @CELFmagazine, una iniciativa autónoma en favor del contenido de calidad sobre arte y cultura. Apóyanos con tu voto aquí para mantener y mejorar nuestra labor. Nuestra comunidad es #hive-111516

Your post has been upvoted by @Celfmagazine, an autonomous initiative in favour of quality content on art and culture. Support us with your vote here to maintain and improve our work. Our community is #hive-111516

CELFmagazine

Thank you, @josemalavem. It is an honor when you come by and appreciate my efforts. It makes my day that I meet your very high and astute standards.
Hope you are peaceful, and well.
Warm regards,
AG

You merit the prize of freedom!
Hello @agmoore. Did you know that horses in movies represent freedom?
In film language horses (not doves or birds) were used to symbolize freedom. Films from the 40's, 50's, 60's and 70's used this visual resource.
Welcome your beautiful horses without bridles!

I didn't know that, dear @marcybetancourt. Makes sense to me. I'll look at them in classic movies differently now.
Horses without bridles and shoes, too, I'm learning. That's a movement--'barefoot horses'--it seems to have a lot of validity.
Thanks for stopping by and for your very nice comments.
Good luck tomorrow with your fantastical collage 🌸

Congratulations @agmoore! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Introducing the Power Up Helper!

Thank you. I always power up. I'm here for the community and for fun. For me, that's a one-way street. Hive on!

Congratulations @agmoore! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Introducing the Power Up Helper!

🎁 Hi @agmoore! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @redheadpei!

@redheadpei wrote lately about: Chipmunk Highway Feel free to follow @redheadpei if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.