You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Make a Collage, Round 50 - Winner Announcement!

in Let's Make a Collage4 years ago (edited)

My humble voice here, @quantumg. I think the art transcends the style. I think we are capable of looking beyond technique and evaluating imagination, originality, skill and effect. These are quantifiable no matter the technique used. Art after all is truly in the eyes of the beholder. Critics have been trying to define art forever, and always they fail. Because we kind of know it when we see it. And, this is a community curated (after @shaka picks the finalists) event. Let the people speak. It's really not about winning. It's about creating and relating. At least for me, it is.

Sort:  

Yes that is true. It's not just about winning. Yet the spirit of sport encourages many. Challenge cancels the standstill, advances development. Partially this also applies to me, besides the fun aspect.

The starting point of this little discussion was the conclusion by @tobetada and then @brittandjosie that animated posts were favored by the community.
I noticed that too. So with me, 3 people noticed it and it makes sense to think and talk about a possible solution.
Because when it is true, that animated posts were favored by the community, it wouldn't be cool for those who don't want to make collages in that style.
And it wouldn't mean that the "mainstream" looks beyond the technique and the style, by logic.
This is not a bad criticism of the community. There is no problem, there are only solutions.

Anybody can learn. When I started I put farm animals on a hill. Then I made a collage with Martians but couldn't get them to move forward. They only went in reverse. @tormenta once explained that she didn't know how to do GIFs. Look at her now. It's an open market. There's school (as you know). Quality drives quality. I don't see anything that needs a solution. If people seem to prefer movement, then we learn how to do movement. But stationary collages win prizes. So, there is no problem. Only progress. I think a dynamic environment where we all play off each other is the best for artistic growth, for personal growth.

Of course it's not an even playing field. If it were, we would separate the professional artists from the amateurs, the practiced from the unpracticed. We could start making all kinds of divisions. But we don't. The result of our open competition is remarkable variety. Each of us trying to come up with something new, something original, something that will wow the audience. That's the best way, in my humble opinion.

I love opportunity, chafe against restriction. Don't make me choose whether I want to do one kind or another, fit in this category or that. Don't let me start calculating which is more likely to garner a prize. Let the games begin. Let the energy flow. That may be the impulse of a rank amateur, but this is after all an amateur contest.

You are a skilled artist and know a lot more about this than I do. But I love the contest the way it is. I just wish more people would avail themselves of the learning opportunities and I really would like all of us to support struggling new members more than it seems we do now.

There...a long answer. I'm not an artist, but I am a writer :))

Be well.

AG
( Hello, @shaka, if you read this.)

Its just community talk and maybe sharing new ideas for the future while the succes is growing