Let's Make a Collage, Round 50 - Winner Announcement!

in Let's Make a Collage4 years ago (edited)

50winners.jpg

Hello Hivers, Hello LMACians!

Yesterday's poll to choose the winners of Round 50 of Let's make a collage has just been closed and the community has decided!

Please join me in applauding this round's awesome winners! 👏👏👏


  • To honor the split outcome with two first places, the base prizes for rank 1 and 2 were combined and split in two equal parts.
  • To honor the split outcome with three fifth places, the base prizes for rank 4 and 5 were combinded and split in three equal parts.

To further celebrate this jubilee round, a special prize of 50 HIVE in tips for great engagement with and for the LMAC community goes to:

@razeiv, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @cetb2008, @nodzz, @quantumg, @redheadpei, @justclickindiva & @brittandjosie

Thank you for enriching this jubilee round's experience by great engagement with your fellow LMACians, by commenting, providing feedback or spreading the word about our community around the Hive.


With this I would like to thank every single one of you for your engagement, by creating these awesome collages and joining the polls!

🏖 The LMAC will now go into a late summer break and will be back for you fresh and recharged on September 16!

*Eligible to receive from the community bonus are all winners who had set the LMAC as 20% beneficiary in their respective entry posts as explained in each round's announcement post.

🎨 The LMAC | 🏠 Our Community | 🚂 The LMAC Curation Trail | 🏅 The LMAC Contributor Badge | 🎓 The LMAC School

First Place I
  • Base prize: 13.5 HIVE
  • Community bonus: 8.4 HIVE
@berlissanoja
First Place II
  • Base prize: 13.5 HIVE
  • Community bonus: 8.4 HIVE
@shrazi
Third Place
  • Base prize: 10 HIVE
  • Community bonus: 8.4 HIVE
@carlosluistoro
Fifth Place I
  • Base prize: 4.3 HIVE
  • Community bonus: 8.4 HIVE
@eve66
Fifth Place II
  • Base prize: 4.3 HIVE
  • Community bonus: 8.4 HIVE
@tormenta
Fifth Place III
  • Base prize: 4.3 HIVE
  • Community bonus: 8.4 HIVE
@brittandjosie
Places 7 - 10
  • Community bonus if eligible: 8.4 HIVE each
@quantumg@dwixer
@muelli@marcybetancourt
Template image
@shaka
Sort:  

Congratulations to all especially to the winners @berlissanoja and @shrazi.
I also want to congratulate @eve66 for not giving up. For improving in every job and for having fun in every round.
A collage that I liked very much was the one of @tormenta. She created an artistic work of dreams, effort and construction. Bravo!
I apologized to @dwixer in his own publication for having omitted a vote for him. He made a great collage but I forgot to vote for it. Maybe with one more vote I would have reached a higher step.
I don't see @agmoore in the first picture. She will always be a winner because of the personality of her posts.
A special greeting for @sabsel and @onyechi. They are wonderful! Their collages enhance the creative spirit of this community.
Before finishing, congratulations to those I have yet to name. They know who they are and their experience has made LMAC a place of human warmth, cheers!
Finally @shaka CONGRATULATIONS to you. You are a wonderful Cultural Manager with great vision in art and finance, hahaha.
Cake and beer for everyone!

En español:

Venezolano que se respeta, no se da por vencido, sigue adelante y resuelve.

Gracias por tus palabras, Saludos desde Aragua, Venezuela

I loved your collage. Never in a million years could I create such a thing. But I can get pleasure from looking at yours.
Have a wonderful, lucky day.

I hold no grudges, it was ok even without mentioning me, it's just fine. We still have other challenges coming up. You did well and I liked your collage. Is @agmoore a female? I had always thought, the username was for a he

@agmoore is a woman. A fantastic woman!

:)).
Thanks @marcybetancourt. I certainly do enjoy fantasy, anyway. I don't think my lease on that will every expire.
Looking forward to being surprised by more of your highly symbolic collages.

Hello @dwixer,
I'm a woman who grew up with three brothers. Maybe that explains the confusion :))
Nice to know you.

Sorry @agmoore, the name was just the confusion. Now I know. Thank you

Peace, @dwixer.
See you in the next round :)

Thank you so much

Amiga que hermosas palabras, de esas que te llegan al corazón y te hace sentir feliz. Gracias amiga.

Hello my friends and fellow collage creators. Hello @shaka. And so we take a pause after a crowning round of entries. Congratulations to the winners, to everyone. To me, as you've heard before, all are winners. Thank you @shaka for making this collegiality a reality, while at the same time maintaining the sense of a contest.

I'm grateful for the bonus tip I received for interacting with the community, but this is one of the richest parts of the contest for me each week.

I want to thank everyone who voted for my collage. I hold no illusions about my skills as an artist, but I certainly do try. Which is why every time I get a vote it brings a smile to my face. Thanks for that.

One more word about our community: in this brief hiatus (well-deserved for you @shaka), I am going to try to keep the spirit of community alive by upvoting members who post elsewhere, especially members who are working hard to build VP and reputation. I know every vote makes difference to them.

Meanwhile, have fun, be well and see you all in a couple of weeks.
With art in my heart,
AG

great entries! It seems like the community is favoring animated collages

Thanks for bringing this up @tobetada and thanks for engaging in the discussion @brittandjosie, @quantumg and @agmoore!

I tend to side with @agmoore on this. The technique of a collage is the instrument to create an impression. A certain technique like a sophisticated animation can of course impress by itself but this would be true for the complicated montage of a still collage too. In the end, it's about what the final artwork conveys in the viewer's subjective perception. Animated or still, oil or aquarelle, color or black and white - everyone should use the techniques and tools that they are most comfortable with and which they consider the ideal fit to what they want to achieve.

As for my part, I do in fact tend to favor still collages and I sometimes find motion elements distracting and not useful to enhance the artistic impression of a collage. As it's impossible for me to exclude my subjective preferences when it comes to compiling the shortlist, I'm thus quite confident that at least the finalist panel is not biased towards animated collages (beyond their quantitative share).

Regarding the outcome of the final poll, I'm also not under the impression that certain techniques are really decisive for the community's choice. Nor is it the objective artistic quality of a collage, if such a thing even exists. Rather, it seems to me that the effectiveness with which a finalist is able to encourage their own network to participate in the voting is key for the outcome. This might coincide with those better connected participants having a preference for creating animated collages. At the same time, I think there was a good amount of still collages amongst the Top 3 in the past rounds too.

Going beyond this topic, the impact of popularity on the result of community vote is the main reason why it wasn't feasible to skip the shortlist altogether, something we explored for a few rounds. This clearly disadvantaged the more artistic and skilled contributions beyond a healthy extent.

I do think that popularity by itself should be allowed to have a positive effect though, as it is often a result of commitment and engagement with the community. And engagement is maybe the most important contributor for a positive experience in the LMAC and hence for being attractive to newcomers. However, popularity obviously shouldn't be a too decisive criterium in an art contest and to balance exactly that is for me the key task and purpose that I try to accomplish with the shortlist.

In the long term I'm committed to hand the compilation of the shortlist into community hands too. We basically have to at some point if we continue to grow like we currently do. My pair of eyeballs simply can't scale beyond looking at one collage at a time;) Transferring this to a jury, for example, seems to be an obvious approach, but again involves its own difficulties for which the appropriate solutions have yet to be found.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts. It not only helps me to consolidate and share my own thoughts, but also shows me what I will pay even more attention to in the future.

Great to have you all aboard!

Hi @shaka,Thanks for that clear explanation of your community goals. It's good for all of us to understand these. As usual, you are completely transparent. Hope you enjoy your vacation.
Personally, I'm heading over to 'school' to see if I can pick up some tips 😄.
Wonderful to be aboard,
AG

I saw that to, maybe we need to ask to split the stills and the animated ones

So that I got it right. Would you suggest actually having two contests? One for the stills and one for the animated?

If so, I would personally support such a suggestion. Simply because I love creating collages with momentary expression. I would also like not to bow to a trend just to have a chance in the polls because it would be less fun.
A splitted contest or a splitted poll could be the right way.

My humble voice here, @quantumg. I think the art transcends the style. I think we are capable of looking beyond technique and evaluating imagination, originality, skill and effect. These are quantifiable no matter the technique used. Art after all is truly in the eyes of the beholder. Critics have been trying to define art forever, and always they fail. Because we kind of know it when we see it. And, this is a community curated (after @shaka picks the finalists) event. Let the people speak. It's really not about winning. It's about creating and relating. At least for me, it is.

Yes that is true. It's not just about winning. Yet the spirit of sport encourages many. Challenge cancels the standstill, advances development. Partially this also applies to me, besides the fun aspect.

The starting point of this little discussion was the conclusion by @tobetada and then @brittandjosie that animated posts were favored by the community.
I noticed that too. So with me, 3 people noticed it and it makes sense to think and talk about a possible solution.
Because when it is true, that animated posts were favored by the community, it wouldn't be cool for those who don't want to make collages in that style.
And it wouldn't mean that the "mainstream" looks beyond the technique and the style, by logic.
This is not a bad criticism of the community. There is no problem, there are only solutions.

Anybody can learn. When I started I put farm animals on a hill. Then I made a collage with Martians but couldn't get them to move forward. They only went in reverse. @tormenta once explained that she didn't know how to do GIFs. Look at her now. It's an open market. There's school (as you know). Quality drives quality. I don't see anything that needs a solution. If people seem to prefer movement, then we learn how to do movement. But stationary collages win prizes. So, there is no problem. Only progress. I think a dynamic environment where we all play off each other is the best for artistic growth, for personal growth.

Of course it's not an even playing field. If it were, we would separate the professional artists from the amateurs, the practiced from the unpracticed. We could start making all kinds of divisions. But we don't. The result of our open competition is remarkable variety. Each of us trying to come up with something new, something original, something that will wow the audience. That's the best way, in my humble opinion.

I love opportunity, chafe against restriction. Don't make me choose whether I want to do one kind or another, fit in this category or that. Don't let me start calculating which is more likely to garner a prize. Let the games begin. Let the energy flow. That may be the impulse of a rank amateur, but this is after all an amateur contest.

You are a skilled artist and know a lot more about this than I do. But I love the contest the way it is. I just wish more people would avail themselves of the learning opportunities and I really would like all of us to support struggling new members more than it seems we do now.

There...a long answer. I'm not an artist, but I am a writer :))

Be well.

AG
( Hello, @shaka, if you read this.)

Its just community talk and maybe sharing new ideas for the future while the succes is growing

Its not my choice I am not the founder I am just a big fan. Animated gifs are great and I love stills aswell and to compare is a hard job. But Dpoll decided

Its not my choice I am not the founder I am just a big fan.

I know. But anyone can make a suggestion in a community.

... and to compare is a hard job.

For me too. It is often not possible to apply the same decision criteria to all works when deciding who gets a vote.

And the community is growing so hard so maybe ......

could make sense, as I think it is technically more challenging to make animated ones

Totally agree it’s more levels of work BUT a great still can also be a winner ( I am proof 😉)

I think that could be possible given the growing number of the community and participants

Congratulations to @berlissanoja and @shrazi for the first place tie. Other winners and participants produced amazing photographs when all the elements were combined. All the participants submitted awesome collages. It's so hard to choose among them. They are all beautiful in different aspects.

I like one @tobetada's idea to at least consider a separate category of still vs. animated collages. Not everyone is technically versed (including me) in the animated arts, but their still collages are thought-provoking and interesting subject-wise.

And thanks @shaka for the engagement bonus. I was truly surprised and appreciate it.

Hello everyone ... wooouuu what a nice surprise 😵... congratulations to all participants, all made a beautiful work, Congratulations to all winners, excellent work 🤩... thanks to all who supported my work 🤗... A thousand thanks @shaka for this wonderful contest, I always have a lot of fun participating, it stimulates the imagination and creativity of everyone 🤯... Happy anniversary ...🥳🥳🥳

So much fun, and what a creativity ! Man and the votes came rolling in.... i was very excited. Thanks and congrats to all that won.
On to next week

💐Congratulations to all winners💐

🌟

Congratulations to all of the participant for some outstanding presentations, but especially to @berlissanoja and @shrazi for tying for first place, and @carlosluistoro for 3rd place.

Also congrats to @eve66, @tormenta, and @brittandjosie for basically what amounts to third place together!

And you are all winners for creating these entries in the first place, and showing them in the second place, so congrats to all!!!

Thank You, I tried my best and joined other artists on Final DPOLL stage (that was my work). But getting 1st position... only because of YOU ALL, who support me and select me while voting

THANKS @jamerussell for the Support :)

Thank you very much, here we are all winners, we have grown together.

Hello thank you very much

Sweet friend thank you for that , I always thought I would be a winner because all the animated ones are so good so I am proud

Thank you... we all won... it was beautiful work...🤗

Absolutely great. Thank you and congratulations to all other winners. 😎

Greetings congratulations to all the winners, and congratulations also to @shaka for its 50th anniversary of the contest, that we continue to grow as a community. Thanks for the award

Thank you @shaka , am grateful for the reward. Congratulations to other winners as well

Congratulations to all the winners and participants with their beautiful collages.

Lmac is a unique experience in #hive that provides fun and learning.

Thanks @shaka

Congratulations to all

So Happy to see My win Again.
It is all due to my support from friends and LMAC Community. And this time I really get LOVE and appreciation text to my work...
This all happens because of the LMAC COMMUNITY by @shaka.

THANKS TO YOU ALL and yes the judges who choose my entry for final DPOLL stage.

I will try to participate with my best...

Hello creative friends, I am very happy for the place obtained in this contest, grateful to everyone for the support received in my collage, thanks also to @shaka for this great contest. Congratulations to all who participated because we are all winners here.

Congratulations @shaka! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post generated a lot of interactions and was the most commented of the day

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup

Congrats to everyone for the awesome collages on the 50th anniversary. Thanks to @shaka and LMAC for this contest and the generous sharing of the tips.

Congratulations guys

Congratulations to all winners, i missed this one.

Congratulations to the winners!
!BEER


Hey @shaka, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations to all the winners, thank you Shaka for such a great contest

Congratulations to all the winners. You guys are the winner of round 50, the golden jubilee round. Well done! :D

Thank you @shaka for the engagement tip!

My warmest congratulations to all winners and my respect and appreciation to all participants.
It was great again.

Thank you very much for supporting my collage this round. Thank you for the community bonus and for the tip. :-)

CONGRATULATIONS

@shaka, Looks like you are putting lot of efforts to build and expand this Community and Engagement.

Good wishes from my side and enjoy this Break.

Have a blessed time ahead.