Secrets of the Lake House (A Short Story) | LET'S MAKE A COLLAGE: ROUND #112

Apophysis-Ver1-Tarot-UnderwaterDiscoveries.png

My name is Audrey. And I'm here to tell you that some things you just can't explain. I learned early on that it was no use trying. I was only eight when it first happened. The cabin on the lake was where it happened. Why the lake? I guess because fate or karma, whatever you want to call it, knew that I was paranoid of water. It wasn't that I couldn't swim or was afraid to be near the water. It was just that unique things occurred when I was close to it. I dared not call them what they really were for fear of being taken by my parents for a "wellness" checkup.

So, I acquiesced and accompanied my family to their favorite summer vacation camping resort. Staying home alone was not an option anyway.

Fun with my siblings during the daylight hours busied my thoughts from the curtains that would waffle in the calm breeze. Once twilight settled on the windowsill of our bedroom, the stickiness enveloping me space took shape as a thin veil hovered over, gently whispering my name. No other explanation except it had to be dream.

Why didn't my older siblings, Anthony and Thelsia, see the image or hear the lullaby enticing me to follow, you ask? I already vaguely inquired. Blank stares and wide eyes, as though I wasn't ready for middle school, were their responses. Also, I feared my reputation would precede me if Thelsia had anything newsworthy to report.

When I think of the feeling that came over me after hearing the illusive voice, being intoxicated would be the best description I could envision. Remembering my uncle swaying back and forth and talking nonsense at the family gatherings readily came to mind. I wanted to avoid people comparing us!

Besides, my uncle had options. Whether to obey the strange voice and exotic feeling didn't leave me with a choice. If being intoxicated, as my parents warned us not to indulge in, gave one the feelings I experienced each visit to the cabin, then they never had to worry about me on that score.

This summer during the trip, I concentrated on the upcoming year and meeting new friends. Three hours later, I didn't even notice we'd arrived early. Once we unpacked, I did notice the other rental cabins weren't yet occupied.

For me, exploring the lush forest on the other side near the camping trails was always a delight. Something else to take my mind off the lake.

The first few days were pleasant. However, I prayed extra hard each night. But I knew it was only a matter of time. The nights were long, and the days left were five.

I waited.

victorianseparatorline.png

Night five. We readied for bed. I thoroughly enjoyed, but was exhausted from, the bike trail ride. Lights off, I quickly fell asleep. Wasn't two hours later, something touched my arm. Chills formed rapidly as I pulled the coverlet around my neck. Startled, I could see out the corner of my eye the curtain waving in my direction.

Hand over mouth, I muffled a scream. That left uncovered my heart, which skipped several beats. My head felt dizzy. I sensed my body slowly descend from the twin bed and float toward the window.

The lake. It was situated in the forest several feet from the cabin. Its shallow, calm but murky water cast a somewhat dark green, almost black shadow. Suddenly, spots of deep red mixed with gray and black clustered to create a small hole. It looked as if the moon had abandoned its post. I desperately wanted to return to the safety of the cabin. My legs kept moving forward.

Forcefully, my head dove in. I surrendered and allowed my body to follow. Sinking deeper, familiar pajamas no longer hugged me. Instead, a glistening, green outfit I'd never be allowed to wear as an almost teen covered my entire frame. Absolutely beautiful how the lake transfigured itself with an illuminated shelf floor.

Apophysis-Ver1-Tarot-UnderwaterDiscoveries.png
Collage No. 1 "The Tarot Cards" created by me in Canva utilizing images set forth below

I glanced to the right. There was uncle Horace looking foolishly with something tied to his head. I laughed. This wasn't at all what I expected. Besides, I was breathing underwater. I chided myself for lack of confidence. Then, a bright glow from the most beautiful crystal bubble resting on the floor caught my attention.

I couldn't believe my eyes as our cabin appeared within the ball. A tiredness spread over me. I wanted to return home. I attempted to burst the bubble. I figured I'd get home quicker this route. The friction from the bubble tossed me backward. I didn't understand. I thought surely this magical place would cooperate.

Confused, I glanced at Uncle Horace, beseeching him for advice. That's when I noticed his eyes were shut. I screamed. No, they weren't shut, they were plucked out. His head was partially submerged in another body of water. Half was colored brown, the other half, bluish black. But if I was in the lake; then where was Uncle Horace? I cried, as I shook my head violently.

The gull atop his head chirped loudly as if laughing, "tarot, tarot." I quickly looked up past the bubble to see a deck of tarot cards floating just beneath the surface. I didn't understand what I was supposed to do. I tore at my clothes. I screamed, then gathered several rocks to break the bubble. Nothing worked.

I moved toward the tarot cards. What did it all mean? Was I never returning to our cabin? Did my fate lie in those cards? I wouldn't know which one to choose. I began to sob and tear at my clothing. I wanted to be free. I prayed and asked God what did I do to deserve this?

Suddenly, I couldn't breathe. I couldn't feel. Water filled my head. I couldn't do anything but watch as my body sank to the shelf floor.

victorianseparatorline.png

Mom's voice settled in my ear. The worse headache ever surrounded and settled in my head. I sat up on the side of the bed. For several minutes, I swayed trying to gain my balance. I refused to think about last night. Slowly, I placed my feet on the floor trying to find my slippers so I could rise and face the day.

I avoided any deep conversation during breakfast. Then, I decided to stay inside while everyone else enjoyed outdoor activities. I wanted to catch up on suggested summer reading for next grade level.

Taking a short break as usual, I reached for my Entomology book. That butterfly with the strange markings I captured yesterday looked like nothing I'd seen before. I didn't realize I'd fallen asleep. By the time I cleared my thoughts, mom was calling for dinner.

Afterward, the slight thumping in my head signaled it was time to turn in early. I lay examining the ceiling. Clues explaining tarot cards weren't part of the pattern. I decided to drop this line of thinking until I returned home. Sleep came quickly.

Felt as though I was asleep for several hours before moisture trickled down my face. Simultaneously, the smell of rain surrounded my nostrils. Instead of feeling warm, a cold blast rushed past my ears. Oh, no! I thought, not tonight. But I was helpless to stop the soft howl of the wind. The shadowy figure with a blue veil stood holding my hand.

Pitch black was the sky. Shoeless, the soft forest floor seemed to protect my feet as I was hurried toward the lake. I paused. Panic surrounded me like a blanket. The veiled figure guided me into the lake. I glanced down. My nightgown had disappeared. Tonight though, my favorite outfit protected my body. Once at the lake, I noticed purple bubbles rising to the surface. I smiled at my favorite color. My face and right hand were lifted toward the heavens. What was I supposed to see?

I jerked both back, scared of nothingness. Within moments, round white lights that looked like tiny beads of snow descended from the sky. A summer miracle, I thought.

LMACRound112-ButterflyWonder.png
Collage No. 2 "Raining Snow and Butterflies" created by me in Canva utilizing images set forth below

The sensation I experienced as each drop snow opened up was akin to renewal. Then, the sky filled with the most exotic green and blue colors. Instantly, balls emerged from the snow and formed the most beautiful butterflies I'd ever seen.

The forest lit up in the backdrop of the black sky. A strange blob blossomed on the forest bed. Returning my gaze to the sky, I reached out and touched the golden butterfly with the strange markings embedded in its back. The creature's face emerged resembling that of the movie's version of an alien being. But I didn't recoil.

Touching the golden butterfly, my best friend Agnes appeared on the wooden stump beside me. How strange, I thought. I left her at the Pet Boarding House. She purred and watched curiously as one of the butterflies settled on her fur.

The green butterfly gathered Agnes in its massive wings. The golden creature turned and gently grabbed my outstretched arm. Both Agnes and I ascended slowly until the blob caught up and enveloped us. The dark night gathered the mysterious butterflies. The round circle in the center of the sky began to rotate.

We disappeared among the snow balls.

victorianseparatorline.png

Hello everyone and welcome back to Let's Make a Collage ("LMAC"). This week, I wanted to share with you a short story that incorporates the two themes I created for this Round 112. My themes represent a young girl's summer vacation lake house adventures.

To create the setting, I started with the photograph provided by @shaka in his contest post: Let's Make a Collage - A Contest for All Creatives on Hive - Round 112 - ✨195 HIVE in the Prize Pool!✨. It was the backdrop for both themes.

LMAC-Round112-OrigContestImage.jpg
Image used with permission of contest owner for contest

victorianseparatorline.png

For Collage No. 1 "The Tarot Cards", I located a beautiful underwater scene that captured the setting I wanted to portray of a lake adventure. Images included from the LIL to assist in my them were (i) the bird by @redhedpei that sat on Uncle Horace's head, and (ii) the beautiful cabin by @seckorama the family rented for their summer vacation.

Here are the images that comprised my theme:

LMAC-Ver1-TarotCards-Images.png

text16.png

For Collage No. 2 theme: "Butterflies", I wanted to utilize some of my fractal design. I created a unique fractal that resembles a butterfly. This was the first time I was able to accomplish such a feat. I compiled this and the first design in Canva utilizing my Annual Pro Membership Subscription to create a several of the images.

Next, I added another fractal to resemble the skyline. The inspiration for this theme I drew from a photo at a free site of a young girl reaching toward the sky. It was a perfect fit for the night story and butterfly sighting. @agmoore's brown cat fit perfectly in the story as my young character's pet accompanying her on their journey also.

Here are the images that comprised my "Butterflies" theme:

victorianseparatorline.png

I appreciate your visit and hope you like my collage themes.

text16.png

If you'd like to preview the indices for the LIL, take click on each link to see the awesome images our LMAC members contributed:
LMAC IMAGE LIBRARY INDICES:

LIL Index post 1 of 8:
Miscellaneous

LIL Index post 2 of 8
Sky, Cloud, Landscape, Sun, Mountain, Lake, Beach, River, Nature

LIL Index post 3 of 8
Insect, Animal, Pet, Cat, Dog, Cow, Bird, Nature

LIL Index post 4 of 8
Flower, Plant, Tree, Organic, Leaf, Fruit

LIL Index post 5 of 8
Stone, Rock, Gravel, Boulder

LIL Index post 6 of 8:
House, Home, Garden,Wall, Window, City, Town,Street, Avenue

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

CONTEST RULES

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

It is imperative that you read the post LMAC School - Public Domain Picture sources (Free Materials for creating collages) by @quantumg, which discusses public domain issues. The post offers valuable information on images for commercial use. Links are included to sources that offer public domain images and other images that are free for commercial uses. Using public domain pictures and free pictures for commercial use are requirements for all collages that are submitted as entries in the LMAC contest and the LMAC Image Library (LIL).

What is Let's Make a Collage?It is a weekly photography and collage contest.
Who created the contest?@shaka is the contest owner.
What type of contest is it?This Contest utilizes a single photo provided by the contest owner as the basis for you to create your own photo collage by adding to the photo provided.
What are the rules?1. Use as your starting point for your collage the photography provided by the contest owner. It is located on the contest owner's post for free use without any copyright protection.
2. Entries need to be posted to the LMAC community and should contain a reference to this post.
3. Entries need to set the LMAC account (@lmac) as 20% beneficiary to be eligible for the dynamic component of the prize pool.;
4. Extra support with the LMAC trail to all collages where LIL assets have been included AND the respective LIL-contributors set as 2% beneficiaries;
5. By submitting your contribution you agree that your artwork remains public domain and that it can be copied, modified and distributed, even for commercial purposes, without requiring further permission.
6. Any graphical element that is added to the photography either needs to be your own original work (e.g. own artwork or photography) OR needs to derive from the public domain (having no copyright protection).
7. IMPORTANT: Indicate the source of all materials used in your accompanying post. Otherwise your entry can NOT be put up for the final vote.
8. All sort of editing, modification and/or manipulation is allowed as long as no copyright is affected.
What do you win?Prizes listed on the contest owner's post.

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

image.png

LMAC-Banner.jpg

SaturdaySaversClub-Footer1.png

B.I.S.S.-March-Sanwiteer.jpg

SilverBloggersLogo.jpg

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.
f) Image created in Canva by @justclickindiva utilizing one of its free templates.

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

Sort:  

Your story had me hooked and I wanted to know more about the girls nighttime lake adventures. The story explained perfectly the elements used in your lovely creations.

Thanks for including my image of the bird. I had to chuckle when you wrote it sat on Uncle Horace’s head. 😃

I love this. It not only is beautiful, amazingly creative, but it takes me away. Wonderful!

That's the response I was hoping for when I began my story. Thanks for stopping by and viewing both story and collage themes. Happy to hear you liked both. I appreciate your support.

Take care, and have a good rest of your week.

!LUV

Congratulations @justclickindiva! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 11
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!

Hello @hivebuzz. It's been a few weeks since I was able to complete seven days of publishing a quality post. Thanks for stopping by and bringing me good news. I thought I hadn't completed this last week. So I'm happy to hear. Sometimes I get mixed up with UTC and throws me off track.

Take care. Hope to see you again soon. Have a good rest of your week.

You are welcome @justclickindiva, that's with pleasure! We're happy to read your comment. We wish you to continue like this for a long time.
Have a happy buzzy week and take care too 😊👍🐝

Hi. I hope you have a great day. Your collage is beautiful. Both are great, but I like the first one better. Great job.

Hello @doriangel. Thank you so much for stopping by. Apologies for the late response. I like the first one also. Happy you liked my theme. Take care. I appreciate your support.

Hello friend, what a beautiful collage and a great poetic story where you remember the family across the lake, good luck in the contest

Hello @cetb2008. Hello and thanks for visiting. Apologies for just getting back to you. Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm happy you liked my story and collages. I truly appreciate your support.

IMPRESSIVE!

WOW, thanks so much for your kind words. I appreciate them and your support of my work.

Great collages Justclickindiva, in each round you outdo yourself with your creations. Congratulations! 👍

Thanks so much for your kind words. Just when I feel as though I'm bogged down with offline tasks or running of ideas, I see a photo and I'm chasing a thought.

I appreciate your support. Have a good rest of your week.

Keep chasing your thoughts because they are leading you down a good creative path. 😁
Have a good week too.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 93 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1

Hello @pixresteemer. Thanks so much for stopping by. I appreciate the rehive of my collage post.


Hey @justclickindiva, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Excellent work!!! I wonder if they were vivid dreams, or something more? I love the collages you used to illustrate this. At first I thought she became a mermaid!

Hello. She had vivid and suggestive dreams. Thanks so much for your kind words and happy to hear you like my collages. Take care, and have a good start to your week.

Your fractal artwork is always a pleasure to see, and this time I was still amazed by what you put together!

I'm lucky if I get anything original enough to really display 😂

!ALIVE !PIZZA !LOL

@justclickindiva! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I'm glad I know sign language
It's pretty handy.

Credit: reddit
@justclickindiva, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (4/4)

Hello @pibara. Apologies I'm just now responding. Thanks so much for stopping by and viewing my short story and collages. I appreciate that you liked them. Also, thanks silentbot for the star 3.

Take care, and have a good start to your week.

Wow! A very thoughtful collage, o my! The story line line within is captivating, like a movie. Weldone Diva,you're so talented. Hope to be this talented too someday. Bravo👏👏

Hello @queenstar. Apologies I'm late in responding. Got off track with every one going on. Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm happy to hear you liked my story and collages. I appreciate your support.

Very good my friend
@justclickindiva
Keep up the awesome collages
Have a blessed and wonderful day😎

Made in Canva
!ALIVE

- @benthomaswwd - Moderator

Hello @benthomaswwd thanks so much for stopping by on behalf of @aliveandthriving. I'm happy you liked my story and collage works. I truly appreciate your support and that of the Community.

You are most welcome @jusatclickindiva
Have a blessed and wonderful week ahead :)

@justclickindiva! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (6/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@solymi(3/5) tipped @justclickindiva (x1)
wrestlingdesires tipped justclickindiva (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Truly outstanding artwork! Love it! @solymi found this on listnerds just tagging him cause he has a bit of PIZZA and BEER :D

Hello @hivebusiness. I appreciate the tag that brought along Pizza and Beer served hot and cold. I ate the Pizza (although I'm not supposed to) and shared the Beer (caused I'm absolutely not supposed to).

Thanks for your support. Take care.

Thanks for sharing on LISTNERDS I really like the mixed media approach. It is a lot of fun creating art like this.
!PIZZA

Hello @solymi. Thanks for stopping by and viewing my fractal art project and short story. I'm happy to hear you like the mixed media designs and content. I love creating fractals and other digital art, including abstract art. Also, I love short story fiction. Sometimes, the two just mesh as I create a design and a story is rapidly developing around it.

I appreciate your support and engagement. Take care, and have a good start to your week.

Your story related perfectly to your collage. Thank you for sharing.