Let's Make a Collage - A Contest for All Creatives on Hive - Round 38 [Dynamic prize pool with 50+ HIVE]

in Let's Make a Collage4 years ago (edited)

38new.jpg

Welcome to Round 38 of Let's Make a Collage!

Since the number of entries to the LMAC has seen record highs in the past couple of rounds, the voting in the final polls became accordingly complex. While I'm commited to keep our contest as inclusive as possible, I feel that the final vote needs to be preceeded by a shortlist again. Given the wonderful increase in exciting entries though, aiming at a larger shortlist than before (10-12 entries) would seem appropriate to me.

Following a suggestion by @marcybetancourt I also like to consider the possibility of inviting guest judges to compile the shortlists for each round. What do you think about this?

Before we get it started, the usual (important) reminders:

  • A curation trail has been registered on hive.vote to further support all valid submissions to the LMAC. Following this trail will not only support all LMAC contributors but also allow to frontrun a vote by me (@shaka) to benefit from a substantial boost on curation rewards. Find all details about the LMAC curation trail -> here.
  • Entries which fail to unambigously document that all collage elements used are free of any copyright protection will not be shortlisted! It's up to the contributor to proactively provide all sources in their entry posts.
  • All entries need to be posted to the LMAC community to be considered for the challenge. To help increase the visibility of our community please avoid cross-posting.
  • Make sure to set the LMAC community (-> account @hive-174695) as 20% beneficiary in your entry posts. Only then you are eligible to receive the community bonus if you make it to the podium. 100% of the rewards which the community account receives will be added to each round's prize pool.

And now, let's kick-off Round #38 of Let's Make a Collage! - It's Beach Time!! ☀ 🏖 🌊

What do you see in this picture that is not yet there? Let your creativity run wild and transform this scenery into whatever you wish to see. Your imagination is the only limit!

38template_small.jpg
Click -> here for a HighRes version.

Those new to this contest, please have a look at the contest rules below!

If you decide to join the fun, note that submissions to the contest need to be posted to the LMAC community to be considered as valid entries. Set the community account (@hive-174695) as 20% beneficiary to be eligible for receiving the dynamic component of the prize pool.

❗️ Please be aware that entries will not shortlisted if remains doubtful as to whether the elements used are free of any copyright protection. Therefore, please specify in your accompanying post the source of any used element so that one can quickly verify whether it either derives from public domain or is owned/created by yourself and submitted without any copyright claims.

Prizes

  • 🥇 First place: 25 HIVE plus 50% of the LMAC's beneficiary rewards.
  • 🥈 Second place: 15 HIVE plus 30 % of the LMAC's beneficiary rewards.
  • 🥉 Third place: 10 HIVE plus 20 % of the LMAC's beneficiary rewards.

➡️ Entry deadline is June 1 end of day (midnight UTC)!

Rules

  • The above photography needs to be the starting point for any further modification. I provide it for free use without any copyright protection.
  • 📌 Entries need to be posted to the LMAC community and should contain a reference to this post.
  • 📌 Entries need to set the LMAC community account as 20% beneficiary to be eligible for the dynamic component of the prize pool.
  • 📌 Submissions further need to be linked as a comment to this post.
  • Any graphical element that is added to the photography either needs to be your own original work (e.g. own artwork or photography) OR needs to derive from the public domain (having no copyright protection).
  • ❗️❗️ Do not forget to indicate the source of all materials used in your accompanying post. Otherwise your entry can NOT be put up for the final vote.
  • All sort of editing, modification and/or manipulation is allowed as long as no copyright is affected.
  • By submitting your contribution you agree that your artwork remains public domain and that it can be copied, modified and distributed, even for commercial purposes, without requiring further permission.

I'm very much looking forward to your contributions!


Photo recorded by myself with an iPhone 6S

Sort:  

Good morning to all

Hello friend @shaka

Regarding the way of voting, I would like to offer my humble opinion.

I think it would be fairer like this:

1.- If external judges choose nine (9) works (an odd number), among all the participants, for the vote. Thus, not only the final result will be taken into account, but the construction of the publication and the way of presentation and verification of the images obtained from the internet as an input for the Collage.

2.- Each Hive member votes a maximum of three (3) times, for their preferred proposals. It is better to have an equal number of votes for each voter, because up to now I have seen that everyone votes as many times as they want; that is not balanced for the end result.

Here I leave my Collage for Round 38.

https://peakd.com/hive-148441/@librepensadora/let-s-make-a-collage-contest-round-38-english-espanol

I don't think You will allow me to participate, because I forgot to publish in the LMAC Community and assign the @ hive-174695 account as a 20% beneficiary. Sorry, I just realized those mandatory details.

A big hug for everyone and a very Happy Day

Hi @librepensadora

thanks for sharing your thoughts on how to improve the flow of the LMAC. That's much appreciated!

I think the idea with inviting external guest judges is something we really should explore. However, I'd assume that then the actual collage will be much more the decisive factor rather than secondary considerations like how were sources provided, how much did the candidate engage with the community etc. etc. But it's definitely worth to explore how that will play out.

Regarding point 2, dpoll.io allows either single vote or multi-votes. So going for X number of votes per account is unfortunately not possible. However, since every account is free to cast the same number of votes I don't believe that it makes the final outcome unbalanced. The biggest bias in this poll comes from the fact that many participants are too modest to (also) vote for themselves.

Finally, don't worry about the benficiaries. While I consider it an important contribution to allow the LMAC to grow, it is not obligatory to have an entry being admitted to the contest.

Best!

Perfect, friend @shaka

I understand your arguments well. Thanks for the clarification.

I can see that for this week there are many beautiful competitors. That's great!

I am very grateful that you allow me to participate.

A hug and Happy Day to all

Oh my! Look at the entries! I'm going to take my time and have fun.What a great start with a beautiful picture.

Edit:
Hi Shaka,
I'm editing this comment because I just saw your question about having guest judges and a short list. It's obvious that the contest has created a tremendous amount of enthusiasm. I think this is partly due to the fact that participants believe they have a shot at a prize. Of course, as the number of entrants grows organization becomes unwieldy. How to keep the enthusiasm, the sense of opportunity, and yet maintain a manageable voting process? Perhaps you could allow as many as 15 on the shortlist. As you state, the principle of inclusion is valuable. And fifteen I think is not so great a number as to be onerous. I think it's quite exciting for participants to see their work in the running. Excitement is good for LMAC, and for the Hive community at large.

Just a suggestion, from someone who usually favors spontaneity over organization (you should see my desk 😄)

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this @agmoore. And I fully agree with your assessment. The immense increase in participation has certainly a lot to do with omitting the shortlist since this kept every participant in the contest until the very end of each round.

However, as you say, compiling the post for the poll became increasingly unwieldy and even more importantly, the poll itself with 30-40 entries to choose from too confusing, I believe. I therefore thought to reintroduce the shortlist, but a much larger one, in order not to neutralize all the positive effects achieved by its omission. We have to find out what the right size will be to achieve a good balance. Maybe it's quarter, maybe a third of the total number of entries, we'll see. The feedback from the community will be very important find this out!

Hi @shaka,
I'm really happy that you want to include as many people as possible--not just for the sake of the contest, but also because it's a great experience for them.
BTW, I'm plugging away at my collage. Who knows what will come of it, but I'm having so much fun I should give you a prize :))

What happened here? So many wonderful entries in so few hours!

:))
I know! How??

Hello @shaka responding to suggestions, I love to see many participants, it is wonderful to see how Let's Make a Collage! has grown. A short list is a good idea, 30% of the total entries, as long as they comply with the established rules

Let's see what the participants will do... Maybe I will even participate in the final vote this time ;)

[However, don't count on me to participate ;) ]

I also want to see your participation @lemouth hopefully more beautiful than I imagined.

Unfortunately, I don't have an infinite amount of time... I am way too busy at the moment to dedicate enough time to make it correctly. Sorry :/

One day I will find a motif you won't be able to resist :P

Ahaha! Maybe, but this highly depend on time... At the moment, I can barely cope with everything :(

Challenge Accepted

Greetings friend @shaka I agree with @marcybetancourt's suggestion to invite invited judges to compile the shortlists

My contribution for round 38. 🤓

SHARK ATTACK
https://hive.blog/hive-174695/@mister.reatard/shark-attack
final shark.jpg

Excellent

Oh dear!
What have you done to that peaceful beach? 😅

Just unbalanced the system a bit. 🤓

Thank you. 🤓

Hello and Good Luck to all
Here is my entry:

https://peakd.com/hive-174695/@bidesign/pug-life

Hi @muelli,
I think your critters and my critters should get together and have a picnic :) Imagine that

It is going to be a balloon party, with a lot of fun i guess. 😎🎈

If @muelli is in attendance, fun is mandatory :))

🤣👍

Funny Contest! 😊

Here is my Entry Post

Virus no Humans 01.png

I really like that...chuckling....

Hi @shaka, thank you to those of you who have held this contest again, and do... https://peakd.com/hive-174695/@antoniosola/let-s-make-a-collage-round-38
20200528_23521002.jpeg

Thanks for the contest. Here is my entry post.
Entry.jpg

Finally, I finished (I see @bidesign here again...yeah!). My collage: Giraffe Calls A Meeting

I'm including a still frame from the GIF because I think the details are clearer.
shaka 38 balloon giraff10bb.jpg

There are more skillfully crafted collages here, and perhaps better conceived, but I don't think anyone had more fun than I did on this round. Thank you, @shaka. Good luck to all.

May be You won't believe but I was thinking to use balloons too today. It is a nice coincidence for me.

Yes I am here too. =) Good luck

I would have liked to see that, but I love your dog. Welcome back!

I didn't make that. But I was imagining something like yours.

Hi @shaka my entry this time

Hi lovers of the contest, especially lovers of the LMAC community, welcome ba... https://peakd.com/hive-174695/@dewaled507/contest-for-all-creatives-on-hive-round-38
20200528_20534701.jpeg

For me, this collage captures the process of inspiration, and realization. Great work!

I'm very glad that you liked the collage made by me. Thanks for the comment and for the analysis made to the collage. Cheers

A lovely collage :)

Thank you very much my friend, thank you for your support, thank you so much, many blessings for you.

🌟🌟

My entry

Back again the day we all took part in the contest we've been waiting for, I ... https://peakd.com/hive-174695/@jesicamoonroe/let-s-make-a-collage-roud-38
20200528_22244501.jpeg

Hi Mr @shaka, my entry:
My presentation this time, a picture in the LMAC contest, and the picture bel... https://peakd.com/hive-174695/@paparocknroll/a-contest-for-all-creatives-on-hive-round-38
20200528_22423001.jpeg

Beautiful view!

My entry
Hi everyone, this is my first post on Hive, and I'm immediately interested in... https://peakd.com/hive-174695/@remundo/let-s-make-a-collage-a-contest-for-all-creatives-on-hive-round-38
20200529_00161801.jpeg

PicsArt_052810.44.4502.jpeg

My entri

Greetings to all who have participated in this contest. And special greeting... https://peakd.com/hive-174695/@nurulwildaa/let-s-make-a-collage-a-contest-for-all-creatives-on-hive-round-38

My humble entry. Hope you and community likes it.

collage5.jpg

Hi @shaka
A picture of my own edits, which I will show this time to enter the 38th cont... https://peakd.com/hive-174695/@joe1600/let-s-make-a-collage-round-38
20200528_23392801.jpeg

One gift from me to Mr. @shaka who has held a contest this time with the lmac... https://peakd.com/hive-174695/@yohanesmiguel/let-s-make-a-collage-round-38
20200528_22330901.jpeg

excellent work. The effects and movements seen in the image are spectacular. Good luck in this contest

Saludos amigo, muchas gracias @elcorrecamino

20200530_16150201.jpeg

For this contest post, I will slightly change the original image @shaka, this... https://peakd.com/hive-174695/@nickhayden/a-contest-for-all-creatives-on-hive-round-38

Hi @shaka, Thank you so much for hosting this contest, here's my Submission! :)

Image Version

1590688724023.png

Gif Version

Video Version

Turn on the sound for a better experience.