Essays on Current Issues are so Boring

in Project HOPE3 years ago
}



Despite having a newborn and being on lockdown, classes still must go on. Recently, I assigned some high school students a topic on baby abandonment. So I explained the topic to my students, assuming that they were quite familiar with the topic, I thought that they could write easily without any issues. However, I was so so wrong. 

Do babies actually matter in SA? | BabyYumYum

Image source

The Confusion

A lot of the students responded with some really interesting answers. Some of them thought abandoning babies mean forgetting to bring the babies home. Other than that, some even thought that abandoning babies mean neglecting them. It was an utter mess but it was a little funny at the same time. 

As such, I tried explaining the issue on baby abandonment is. However, that has not been helpful because they just could not associate the issue on baby abandonment with them. One of them even remarked that it was such a boring topic. This was when I had an idea.

Be Detailed , Be Gross

So I thought the best way to explain was to be as graphic as I can and so I went on to show the students pictures on how gruesome the process was. I described and went in as much detail as possible to the students the consequences and what happens to the babies who were abandoned. 

After a few minutes, the students started begging me to stop. However I ended with an explanation to them that ultimately, I wanted them to get an idea of what it was. 

The Lesson

IED | How an entrepreneurial idea can be transformed into a startup

Image source

The point of it all was that it has helped the student associate with the issue. A lot of times, current issues are lost to the students because it does not relate to them at all. As such, I think being graphic about it does help. 

I feel that kids these days are a bit sheltered, or rather, a bit blocked from the rest of what is going on with the world. As such, it can be difficult to help them understand and see the need to know about current issues. Some would rather memorize essays than actually understand it. 

However, once their interest is piqued, they will be more than willing to learn and to explore more about it. 



Sort:  

Hi friend, great idea, certainly there is a kind of barrier that keeps them isolated from certain subjects, or simply parents keep them in a crystal ball, but it is good that they know the world as it is, its good side but its dark side too. Not everything in life is the color of roses and it is better to learn it at a young age.

Good article, you are absolutely right, that happened in my case when in the university they showed us a video called "the scream" it was horrible but extremely educational.

This post has been manually curated by @bala41288 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.