You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Project.Hope contest: Your worst investment experience

in Project HOPE4 years ago (edited)

Thanks for inviting me @chekohler
My Entry
My worst Investment was in the bubble at the end of 2017. At the end of 2016, i heard the first time about it while using a broker app mostly to expericence how i would trade stocks. In some category there were cryptocurrencies Like Bitcoin and because the price moves were more intersting than the moves of stocks, i decided to buy some Bitcoin (but that was only virtuell, and not with real Money)
So in the end of 2017 i saw the prices pumping like crazy in the App and i decided to buy some cryptocurrencies. I wanted to gain Money so my sister and i (at that time we traveled in Australia) could travel to lots of cool spots without Money issues.
So i bought iota (or i thought i would have bought iota) . Personally i dont think that iota is such a Bad Investment but whatever. I did Not buy it. I bought some stocks from a company which had the Same name with Help from my bank (maybe 200 Euro). Okay, the price was different but i thought that would be normal or that i did Not checked something and that was right! It was a company in China it was a printing House or something Like that. I did Not Heard about cryptocurrency Exchanges or something like this. In retrospect that sounds extremely strange, but it was exactly the same. when the price of iota went through the roof I looked at the price of my shares that only went down and i recognized that something was wrong. in retrospect I only lost about $ 30 .. but it was stupid for me to invest in something without knowing how to invest

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Thanks a lot for sharing your story.

I think that we all had similar experiences when we started out as investors;-). I once got an e-mail from blockchain.info, well I believed it was from them... They said they had a very high return investment product. I invested 0.10 Btc and thought that it was a great way to get return on my investment. Blockchain.info had a very good name and I believed that it was serious. What I forgot to double check was if the e-mail I got was really from them... Two days after my investment payment, the website simply closed down...

LOL I don’t mean to laugh because that’s painful but it will teach you to do your research and not make quick investments from your phone!

You can laugh i am okay with it as you said its a learning lesson ;) and to your Post: i have already heard at that time about dent but i did Not have enough time and money to buy all of the shitcoins 😜

LOL! Shitcoins are still going to pay for our trips I hope so don’t count me out just yet, I’ll turn it around I’m sure of it! You gotta take the loss to learn to trade like a boss

Lol yeah i think in the Bullmarket everything will gain but coins with real fundamentals behind it more.. okay i dont Count you Out lol

 4 years ago  

Entry 18

@achim03 I think so too ;) its a good learning process. Oh what a scam 0.1 btc is not less but i am shure once we have "going through this" we are very careful with our Investment. for example I use a Hardware Wallet for Most of my Crypto