Project.Hope contest: Your worst investment experience

in Project HOPE4 years ago (edited)

Contest 1.png

The first @project.hope contest was a huge success. That's is why @crypto.piotr and me decided to hold such contests on a regular basis. We are proud to present you the next contest!

Who can take part?

The participation is open to everybody who has an account on Hive.

What is this contest about?

We want to encourage creativity and interaction on the Hive blockchain. In this contest you are asked to answer the following question:

What was your worst crypto investment experience?

We are looking for original and creative answers. It is allowed to be funny...

How do you take part?

To take part in the challenge, you need to write a comment under this post that starts with:

My entry:

The following rules have to be observed:

  • The comment has to be in English
  • Only one entry per account
  • Between 20 and 300 words
  • No external posts – only comments to this post will be accepted
  • The comment has to be posted before May 14th, 12 am CET

You are the jury for this contest!

With your upvotes you define the finalists of this contest! The 15 entries with the most upvotes will be the finalists of this challenge. It is important to understand that it is the number of votes that counts and not their value!

The prices!

Among the finalists we will select the best entries and give them upvotes with the account @project.hope:
5 x upvotes with 200'000 HP (each vote is worth around 5 USD)
10 x upvotes with 100'000 HP (each vote is worth around 2.5 USD)

Total value of upvotes: 50 USD !!!

Your chance to earn as a jury

When you upvote an entry you help it to become a finalist. You are free to give an upvote between 1 and 100%. If you give a high percentage upvote you might earn a very interesting curation reward if you manage to guess a winning entry!

Until when can you take part

Entries can be written until May 14th 12am CET. This is also the last moment to cast your votes.
The winners will be presented in a second post.

Good luck to everybody !

The sponsor of this contest: Project.hope

This contest is sponsored by @project.hope. Project.hope is a very dynamic community where people can post content about the following topics:

  • technology,
  • blockchain,
  • artificial intelligence,
  • machine learning,
  • cybersecurity,
  • gaming (on blockchain)
  • economy,
  • business,
  • marketing,
  • psychology, social media etc.

Project.hope service for investors

Project.hope runs a manual curation service that pays 100% of curation rewards back to the delegators. The payouts are done daily and the ROI lies between 11 and 14%. Learn more about this service

Subscribe now to the Project.Hope community!

P.S: 50% of the proceeds of this post will go to ph-fund

Sort:  

My entry
I remember that moment when I lost my 35 SBD I ACCIDENTALLY send it to other cryptoaccount due to miss guidance of a trader...
It was one of my big mistake which I remember....
And it's teach me that how to transact cryptocurrency carefully...
😊😊😊😊😊😅😅😅😅😅
Now I am very much careful while trading cryptos....

 4 years ago  

That has happened to me too. Thanks for sharing!

You understand my pain better,,,Lol 😊😊😅😅😅
Well I also want to be a part of your project.hope what I should have to do

When did you lose the sbd? Was the price high? :P
I almost lost 138steem a week ago xD

@crypto.piotr have a link to a post for the guidence of @project.hope :D
But, follow the community, post within the community, engage with people.
You can also delegate or follow their curation trail :D

Yes brother I lost this money almost one year ago not the price of steem is too high...

 4 years ago  

The best is to subscribe to the project.hope community. Start by interacting with posts. You can also post your topic relevant content in the community.

Felt like that. My first few Blocktrade transactions rattled my nerves.

Yo dude I also feel that nervousness 😅😅😅

 4 years ago  

Entry 4

My Entry:

Make your money work for you. Well sounded good, extensive research I decided to use some BTC to grow it further through Trading. Purchase Packages at Euro 50 in Bitcoin equivalent. They sold in Euro but only accepted BTC (Take note - why?)

Trading Structure - 20 Packages @ Euro 50 = Euro 1 000
Run Time 140 days - Return of Capital after 140 days = Euro 1 400

After building and hearing positive feedback, investing sounded good with reinvesting, a big mistake. Always withdraw interest to level of original amount put in before reinvesting.

One day arrived onsite they were trying to sell new idea, bitcoin had slowed down at this point in time. Next thing (couple of months) this site was pulled and these jerks disappeared with all the BTC.

Still under investigation, hopefully one day they will be caught and sit many years jail time, hoodwinked experienced traders.

Moral of the story: If it looks good, be extra cautious. Don't trade if you are not sure, it is high risk everywhere. Something can be made to look exceptionally professional, personal references, links to many places all gone within a second.

Very clever Bitcoin scam!

From one moment I am very sceptical to everything, what sells "packages". Packages of Ripple, Packages of Bitcoin... Sad story.

Over the last two years I now only do direct transactions, hold/invest directly no more 'investing' as such. Same with smaller crypto, only involved with a couple I do trust, so many bad apples out there!

 4 years ago  

Unfortunately the crypto world is full of scams and I think that your summarized it very well:

If it looks good, be extra cautious.

Thanks a lot for your entry!

Totally, and its scams that the system is supposed to one day prevent.

I would have commented even if this was not a contest to warn others to be very cautious in this space.

Not only scams that hurt one in finance, trolls that sell then hurt your reputation, sometimes you win, sometimes you don't!

Many of us endorse the cyrptocurrency we enjoy in blogging about them, free advertising for them. When/If they collapse whoever purchased on the strength of your endorsement makes you look suspect in their eyes (just saying).

 4 years ago  

Entry 16

Hello, my dear friend

My entry:

What was your worst crypto investment experience?

That's easy:

I don't have much money to invest, however, I don't miss a good opportunity. At first, it seemed like a bargain.

That was the time I thought I bought 2 million BATs. I remember it was $2 of ETH I spent, obviously not much, but for us it was. To my surprise, it was BASS TOKEN, not Basic Attention Tokens. I still have them.

Do you know how much they' re worth these days? Zero! :/

Since then I have been very careful about the investment offers that appear on social networks.

So, be careful guys!

 4 years ago  

Entry 14

 4 years ago  

Oh man, you got the wrong BAT's... That is just awfull. Thanks a lot for sharing your experience!

I was young and naive XD

that is a great story, to buy the wrong thing 😂😂😂

Just like in the physical world, not all that glitters is gold.

Thanks ^_^

Had to do a double check on this one. BATs basically good. B-ASS 😕

I was young and inexperienced, looking for the new bitcoin token XD

Thanks for inviting me @chekohler
My Entry
My worst Investment was in the bubble at the end of 2017. At the end of 2016, i heard the first time about it while using a broker app mostly to expericence how i would trade stocks. In some category there were cryptocurrencies Like Bitcoin and because the price moves were more intersting than the moves of stocks, i decided to buy some Bitcoin (but that was only virtuell, and not with real Money)
So in the end of 2017 i saw the prices pumping like crazy in the App and i decided to buy some cryptocurrencies. I wanted to gain Money so my sister and i (at that time we traveled in Australia) could travel to lots of cool spots without Money issues.
So i bought iota (or i thought i would have bought iota) . Personally i dont think that iota is such a Bad Investment but whatever. I did Not buy it. I bought some stocks from a company which had the Same name with Help from my bank (maybe 200 Euro). Okay, the price was different but i thought that would be normal or that i did Not checked something and that was right! It was a company in China it was a printing House or something Like that. I did Not Heard about cryptocurrency Exchanges or something like this. In retrospect that sounds extremely strange, but it was exactly the same. when the price of iota went through the roof I looked at the price of my shares that only went down and i recognized that something was wrong. in retrospect I only lost about $ 30 .. but it was stupid for me to invest in something without knowing how to invest

 4 years ago  

Thanks a lot for sharing your story.

I think that we all had similar experiences when we started out as investors;-). I once got an e-mail from blockchain.info, well I believed it was from them... They said they had a very high return investment product. I invested 0.10 Btc and thought that it was a great way to get return on my investment. Blockchain.info had a very good name and I believed that it was serious. What I forgot to double check was if the e-mail I got was really from them... Two days after my investment payment, the website simply closed down...

LOL I don’t mean to laugh because that’s painful but it will teach you to do your research and not make quick investments from your phone!

You can laugh i am okay with it as you said its a learning lesson ;) and to your Post: i have already heard at that time about dent but i did Not have enough time and money to buy all of the shitcoins 😜

LOL! Shitcoins are still going to pay for our trips I hope so don’t count me out just yet, I’ll turn it around I’m sure of it! You gotta take the loss to learn to trade like a boss

Lol yeah i think in the Bullmarket everything will gain but coins with real fundamentals behind it more.. okay i dont Count you Out lol

 4 years ago  

Entry 18

@achim03 I think so too ;) its a good learning process. Oh what a scam 0.1 btc is not less but i am shure once we have "going through this" we are very careful with our Investment. for example I use a Hardware Wallet for Most of my Crypto

My entry

Buy high, sell low! Why emotions are bad for your portfolio!

In February 2018, I was already inside of Bitcoin bubble. I had no great experiences with trading, but I was sure Bitcoin must go back to 20k anytime soon. When the price of Bitcoin one day was rapidly decreasing in the beginning of February, I was already at lost with my portfolio. I decided to get profit from this fast-downward movement and I sold some of my BTC, to short the market and re-buy at the lower levels. Filled with greed, I did this exciting trading move. The price hit 6k levels and that is where I sold my position, at the very bottom of the graph! Then the price started to rise again, very quickly. I was feared, that my loss will be bigger and bigger withing every next moment, so I panic-bought back with additional loss.

From that time, I changed my behavior a lot. Now I try to see the long-term picture and I kept following my long-term goals. No short-term price movement can play with my emotions.

Even at that time, if I would be patient, I could even re-buy back at 3500 USD in December 2018. But in February, the emotions just made my decision, not my ratio!

obrazek.png

 4 years ago  

Entry 24

 4 years ago  

I once read that trading is fundementaly against human nature and I totally agree with it. Our emotions always play tricks to us and we need to be able to shut these emotions out in order to make profit with trading. I don't manage and I leave my fingers from trading. I invest only in stuff that has a real return and I sleep much lighter at night ;-). Thanks a lot for sharing!

My entry:
Well, it was probably my purchase of coin named Akroma (maybe it's still around.. don't want to check at all... lol)... It's ETH type of coin and back in a days I have bought a lot + I was mining it with my rigs...

So, it can count as double loss... As a matter of fact, I was even created a node when they implemented staking...
🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

 4 years ago  

Entry 1

 4 years ago  

I just checked it out. It seems to be still around ;-). Thanks for sharing your story!

darn! I said that I don't want to know! 😂😂

 4 years ago  

Very nice price evolution by the way ;-)
image.png

Ouch, that must be painful getting rekt like that

Well, it was... and it can happen again... It's always like that... If you didn't buy a lottery ticket, you can't win.... ;)

It's similar with investing... You have to invest to get some, if you are watching from sidelines, than you will not be rekt... but, you will not win, either... ;)

So, in general, I'm okay with that... it was an experience and that's it...

Cant you repurpose your node? :D

hehehe... 😛 Actually, I use that VPS for another shitcoin node.... hahaha

I don't see your entry... 😛

Perfect! Haha. Better than nothing I guess :p

I really haven't lost any money in crypto xD

...then you are a lucky rich guy! Tell me your secret? 🙂

Secret?
Dapple into things where you already see your money as lost :p
I buy a hold the large coins btc and eth. But thats all. Also Hive, but I only have 300 euro here, so I dont might losing that if the shit hits the fan.
Or just dont invest xD
I do also do a lot of research because investing in stuff, I only invest in stuff I understand :D

I have lost a bit in the stock market, when I first started out, but I quickly withdrew the investment and change strategy for a longterm view.

My entry:

I remember when I was pretty new in the crypto space, a friend of mine gave me an idea of a particular coin that looked promising. In all honesty, my friend didn't know the coin was not going to make it to the front door. Well, I invested a couple hundreds of dollars and it went south. Well, it is an experience. After all, life is full of risks and we take risks daily

 4 years ago  

Entry 2

I don't think there are many crypto lovers who have not been burnt investing into some coins. Really a learning curve and you get tired of reading all the 'white papers'. No risk, no reward!

You're right. Almost everyone in the crypto space has one story or another to tell

 4 years ago  

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience.

It's an honour

My Entry

When I got to know about crypto, I was excited. Bitcoin was already in the thousands of dollars so I couldn’t afford much. Then I heard of Electroneum. I remember reading that Bitcoin was worth a few cents until it boomed to get to the thousands of dollars bracket so that’s same way Electroneum is going to be worth and a few years.

I bought quiet a lot and one day, I opened my wallet and the message I saw was that the website had been hacked. I just became sick instantly. I had imagined 1 Electroneum would be worth $1,000 and all is gone. Site came back later on but I had lost interest by then.

 4 years ago  

Entry 5

Hoping for the best

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Unfortunately not all coins turn out to be a new bitcoin :-)

That’s the sad part

@minimining was giving them away at a time, you cold mine electroneum with your PC pretty easily mining with your phone was shit.

I’m not sure they are worth anything now

I remember this experience too although I still have a lot of Electroneum not that it is worth much anymore. TBH, I didn't put that much in it in the first place but I did mine it for a while before the mobile miner came out. I do see though they are still working hard at adoption so you never know, it may bounce back. It is looking less likely the more that time passes though.

Unlikely that it will bounce back. It’s unfortunate what happened to it

Ouch. I had heard about this coin but never explored it. Most of the chatter seemed positive.

Yea, most of what I heard was good news until the hack...didn’t really recover after that

Hello everyone,

Here is my entry:

So my worst investment in the CryptoSphere was probably WABI, it was supposed to be a logistics powered blockchain solution that would track whether products truly originated from where they claimed and to prevent counterfeiting.

I was especially excited as it was a company from China and there were looking for solutions to fight the baby powder milk counterfeiting that killed hundreds of baby.

It was supposed to be backed by one of the biggest retail chain in China.

Well, it was a shit coin as the price below shows and got REKT ! :D

image.png

Even if it changed name to TAEL, same old shitcoin xD.

Sincerely,

@vlemon

Seems like a good idea, but too specific for the way crypto is set up now. Maybe if Ethereum can match the functionality of WAX, we will be able to target a low volume ecosystem such as this.

Definitely learned from it. Too specific.

 4 years ago  

Entry 10

 4 years ago  

At the beginning of the ICO boom, there were so many promissing projects but not many fulfilled what was written in their white papers. Thanks a lot for sharing.

My entry

When Steem engine came onboard, lots of S.C.O.T tribe came on board too. Out of all that came on board, #sportstalk seems promising, lot's of steem whale were talking about how great it will impact steem price. I asked one or two of my friends into, they are talk good about it.

So I venture into it, the first (1st) and fourth (4) month was so awesome. People were just tropping into the platform day and night. I dedicated my life to it, I started inviting my friends to it. Some invest good amount of money into it. They did because I already told them is a wonderful platform. Through my trust, many joined.

After about 6 months into it, the owner of the plarform was beginning to look tired, he set up political referres, just like the way we have #hive cleaner on hive. This people starting banning investors. With their attitude, the platform just shows it is centralized. I tried cautioning them, they refused, they were now dictating to investors how to post, and warning others not to involve in circle voting whereas they are the king of circle voting. This people at the end killed the platform. With the damage done to #sportstalk investors started pulling their money out, then the coin fall badly. Back then, 3million sport should worth like $450 or more but right now, is not worth more than $15, what a lost for all investors. This is the worst platform I have joined.

I also lost some funds over there but if they still want to keep the shit moving they just need to develop build a sink for burning any steem engined to predicting prevents

It is so painful is heading this way. But thing will be fine soon.

Was never on Sportstalk but did try out Sporthub. Much of the same of what you described.

So painfful

 4 years ago  

Entry 20

 4 years ago  

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience. Unfortunately the big boom of scot tribes was not really sustainable and most communities couldn't sustain it in the long term.

Hmm, We were all affected by this. This was even a better experience for me, I had a worst scenario. Sad story though.

Loading...

My worst crypto investment is related to time dedicated to a project. Having little money for investment is both a blessing that keeps scams away and a misfortune inhibiting new opportunities. Instead of boring you with an ICO story, I thought I would share my experience about mining and validating blockchains.

When I decided to commit to crypto, I thought it best that I maintain a copy of Bitcoin. Doing this right meant verifying signatures when loading the needed programs. Success came slowly and, at the time, a full copy of Bitcoin took days to acquire.

Enter Ethereum, Steemit, EOS, Whaleshares and a couple of other chains. I thought that I would have an easier time my second go around. Had not expected to find Ethereum too costly to make a contribution. Similar issues began to arise with EOS and whilst exploring witness options for Steemit. Alas, it were not to be.

In all, I would say that I found no success exploring chains beyond that of my initial learning and secure download of Bitcoin. I learned about PoS, Ethereum and other concepts of blockchain tech. However, there did not seem to be a way to directly contribute. There seemed to be some hope once I became visible on a Lightning Network testnet, but this did not pan out.

 4 years ago  

I admire your perspicacity in trying to participate in running a node. I think it is quite difficult and requires not only technical knowledge but also a network of people who support you. Thanks a lot for sharing your experience!

And a bit of funds. Crypto is small business.

 4 years ago  

Entry 23

My entry:
The worst cryptocurrency investment would have to be in a coin called DENT I still think its a good concept, especially in Africa. It even had a mobile app out already when most coins didn't even have a product they were just an ICO, dent was is a coin that you can use to buy and sell your airtime and data from cellular carriers.

I bought in at $0.01 and it x 10'd to its all time high at $0.100600 and I thought I was going to be foolishly rich since I had 100k coins lol it's now worth $0.00014228

Oh well you win some you lose some


I'd like to invite

 4 years ago  

Entry 7

 4 years ago  

There are many interesting projects but unfortunately the price doesn't always follow the quality of a project ;-). Thanks a lot for sharing.

Ain’t that the truth So many fundamentals that aren’t attached to the price in their space but I also think they over issue tokens instead of minting them as the use is needed or setting a proper inflation! It’s very complex building a funding model on tokenomics

I think that I heard about DENT back in a days... and I'm lucky that I have missed that... 🤣

Guess what I did to counter it? I bought $50 more and waiting to dump it again hopefully I’ll make back my principle

Never heard of Dent, but buying and selling air time connected to cellular has been discussed as one of the more promising areas in crypto.

Lol well I was totally sold on the idea I think it can still work, the app is still running which is a good sign

My Entry:

I'm quite sure we all know that the aim or goal of every investors is to make profit from their investment. My case was actually a little bit different and it's really an occurrence I'll never forget and who knows maybe that's actually one of the reasons my heart start beating fast anytime I hear about the word "investment".

It actually began after the drastic rise of Bitcoin in 2018 and this really brought my attention into crypto investment. I heard my school mate talking about how some people became millionaires after selling their Bitcoins during that period. I personally love making money through different legit means but I really got astonished about how people were making huge amount of money from cryptocurrency investment.

I then decided I was also gonna invest in cryptos(even though I was still a novice back then ☹️). I had always have the doctrine or mentality that Bitcoin and etherium crypto investment are done by rich people. As the ubiquitous saying goes "Cut your cloth according to your size". I then began to search for cryptos are very cheap to invest then I came across Ripple(XRP).

My mum sent me some amount of money just to feed myself in school and buy to buy anything I might be in need of such as books or handouts 😊. I guess you know where the money went into 😀. It's actually what you're thinking! I actually invested half of that very little amount into cryptocurrency (Ripple) and I had to wait for like a week with the hope of it rising and trading directly for cash but I was really wrong ☹️.

I actually lost some amount of money in the investment though including the charges and conversion fee. I wasn't able to make up to the amount I invested ☹️. I think the reason for my lost was actually due to my lack of patience and lack of experience.

Thanks for your time and thanks for organizing this great contest with love from @hardaeborla ❤️💕❤️💕❤️💕💕

 4 years ago  

Entry 25

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much for your entry. The first steps are always the most difficult but we learn so much from them ;-)

Yeah! Exactly we will always learn from past experiences

My entry:

I have many bad investment decision in my life. Most if not all of them are calculated risks. Sometimes I make small profit, but when I loss, I loss the hell out of it. So, it's kinda hard for me to tell which was the worst investment I make when talk about money. However, I'm going to tell you the worst investment of time and intelligent, is blockchain social blogging, Dpos. For the past 3 years, I've spent thousands of hours writing, blogging, replying, I earned about 10000steems including SP. Got myself a nice airdrop of 7000HP as well. When I took out the calculator and start counting had I use the same amount of time in authoring post here, the earning is just suck.

Count Days
896 days
November 29, 2017 - May 13, 2020

For 896days, let's just put it as 8000hive, today's rate at 0.32, I made $2560....which mean I only make $2.85 a day...had I factor in the amount of electricity I spent on this, dude I had to sell my pants and probably my asshole just to cover the loss.

I know I'm a little toooooooo long winded, but let's give me a little more time. I am not particularly hate this social blogging thing. I made tons of friends here, and most of us are real good people. I really cherish the new make friends here(or there if we must separate the chains). So, #steem and now probably #hive marked my worst investment of my life, but I really cherish the opportunity I get to meet different people around this blockchain social media platform.

 4 years ago  

Entry 27

 4 years ago  

Thanks a lot for your entry. I also started with steem because of the money but it is not exactly the money making place as you saw yourself ;-). I really appreciate the people I met here and I think its worth the time and the money.

Because of all this virus stuff I started to change my strategy. Instead of reinvesting everything into SP, HP, I now change some of the liquid earnings into btc. Like that it is parked in a better store of value I believe ;-)

Bitconnnnneeeeeeeeeeeeeeecct!

That's all I have to say about that.
(I know it's too short for an entry. That's ok. I should have known better.)

 4 years ago  

Entry 8

 4 years ago  

Short entry but a hurting experience nevertheless ;-)

It speaks for itself!

Someone had to mention it. 😎
Thing is, we live in digital-Bit-DISconnect. And most people are happy living under a Facebook or Google roof.

My entry:

It is only of recent that I started investing money into Crypto being I didn't have a full knowledge back then. So,there's no worst crypto investment yet for me and I will ensure it continues to remain so cause I'm learning from the mistakes of others.

However, I do have a terrible investment experience but not with Crypto. In 2017 when we had so many Ponzi schemes coming to bare like MMM, Clarita, Twinkas, UltimateCycler etc.. I invested N5000 into Twinkas and within 4 days, I got N10000; that's 100% profit.

With the excitement, I now invested over N25,000 into it again just to wake one morning to discover that the site has crashed. I had also told some of my friends who also invested bigger amounts only for them to lose their money.

It was really terrible. From that year forward, I have never involved myself in anything Ponzi scheme. I learnt the hard way.

 4 years ago  

Entry 29

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much for sharing your story!

My entry

It was if course buying into the uptrend coin, so I invested some Nigerian naira buying into the coin so that I can interact and earn on the site but it turned out that I couldn't sell out my investment when I found the interface of the site to be very terrible. So the investment was used to increase my level on the site but I couldn't delevel myself and got out my money and that was how I lost my investment. It was my worst investment experience.

 4 years ago  

Entry 6

 4 years ago (edited) 

Unfortunately there are many sites like that where it is very easy to invest but impossible to cash out. Thanks a lot for sharing your experience.

It was crazy, it didn't pay out and I couldn't get back my money

You must have wallowed in rage, thanks for letting us know of that scam.

Heavy-leverage perpetual contracts trading. I had managed to turn $100 into thousands. Then the market turned, the site I was using suddenly locked-up refusing to allow me to close my position. It seemed rigged. I had spent days building up gains, which were then completely wiped out.

 4 years ago  

Thank you for sharing. Did the website turn scam?

No, I took screenshots and sent them to customer support, we went around in circles. They kept saying "The market is risky". It wasn't the market, it was their site. I stopped using them, switched where I trade, and discourage using heavy-leverage when trading as it has been mentioned there are people who "hunt" overleveraged trades... which is odd, unless it is the platforms hunting them...

I would be interested to hear if anyone else has had suspicious incidents on the perpetual contract trading platforms. It appears that a lot of sites are using 1 of a handful of whitelabeled 3rd party platforms.

that was really very bad luck !, I'm sorry you had to suffer that experience, but surely you learned from it. You have to be careful

 4 years ago  

Entry 3

Hi @achim03

I've resteemed it already and PINed to the top of our PH community :))

Love your contests buddy
Yours, @crypto.piotr

 4 years ago  

Thanks a lot for your support !

My Entry
My worst investment experience was also my best experience at the same time. I was around 12 years old when I was first interested in bitcoin. I invested 100$ given to me by my grandpa in Gaw miners in the earlier days of bitcoin. It turned out that the cloud mining operation I invested in was a scam later, and I should have bought bitcoin directly, but there were no trustworthy exchanges then. Coinbase and other companies were not trustworthy and I lost my investment. I did not give up on investing, instead I started to learn more about investing and cryptocurrency instead.

 4 years ago  

Entry 19

 4 years ago  

Thanks a lot for your entry. I believe that bad experiences forge us and are very important learning steps.

Excellent initiative @achim03, very interesting !, I congratulate you, thanks for doing so much for the community.

My entry:
My worst experience was when I bought about $ 30 (which is a lot of money for someone from Venezuela) in PALCOIN at a very high price, and then see how now they are worth nothing. This was using Steem Engine 😫

 4 years ago  

Entry 21

 4 years ago  

I believe that palcoin was quite solid at the beginning because it was linked to minnowsupport and you could "buy" upvotes with palcoin. Then came the phase where it became totally impossible to buy upvotes and I believe that was the reason why palcoin crashed so much. I've heard that palcoin will come to hive... Thanks a lot for your entry!

My entry

About two years ago I was so determined to invest in any blockchain I find myself, so I came account bearshares, then i had to buy bears with a lot of and waiting patiently for it to be listed then becoming a whale, till one day I saw a post from the admin saying "what will you do if you find out bearshares is no more...in my mind I said am dead, few days later I found out that the site isn't working any longer , I went to there discord channel to find out that a lot of people have been writing RIP bearshares... although they are back now...but i don't think i have interest in them anylonger

 4 years ago  

Entry 22

 4 years ago  

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience!

My worst crypto experience was to buy FTX tokens, Bear and the Bull lately in February and my $350 just dissappeared in a few days. Binance then did the rest by removing the FTX all of a sudden.

That was a real bad experience and I will always remember FTX lifetime lol!

 4 years ago  

Entry 9

 4 years ago  

I think that such bad investments help us actually a lot for future investment decisions. Thanks for sharing!

My entry: My worst investment was steem - I bought it when it was 1$, bought it all the way down to 0.25$ with majority at 0.75$. And anyone can see what I achieved. Thankfully, hive has consolidated the loss - but then I also regret not buying more hive. I am still powering down and about to buy hive with all the steem and then never going back there.

I wish, Justine pumps steem all the way at the end of 100 days campaign before selling his stake so that I can use that opportunity to sell mine. 😁Hopefully he does not see this comment and does what I wish 😜

 4 years ago  

Happy that in spite of that steem at least brought you to Hive ;-). Thanks a lot for your entry.

 4 years ago  

Entry 11

My worst investment was buying out options for about two months in SPY thinking the market would crash. I literally stopped buying puts a couple weeks before the market tanked. At a few hundred per contract you can do the math...

@detlev
@offgrid

 4 years ago  

My got it right but the timing was off! Thanks a lot for your entry!

No problem now only if I could have some if that money back or been right and retired...

 4 years ago  

Entry 12

omg - but this way we learn.... by pain.

Add a !BEER - that may help

My Entry

My worst crypto investment experience? Steem. Yes, unfortunately, got fascinated by the idea of a blockchain-based, censorship-resistant social media in 2017, and bought in when the price reached almost all-time-high levels (mistake) and then watched how Steem lost almost 98% of its value in the coming years and on top of that I became witness of the hostile takeover and the largest DPOS attack in crypto space. The rest is history. Steem is dead, long live Hive.

 4 years ago  

My path was very similar but I was lucky because I discovered Splinterlands and instead of keeping Steem I invested almost all my steem in Cards. They have kept the value much better than Steem ;-). Thanks a lot for your entry!

 4 years ago  

Entry 13

My entry:

I just lost my 300$ in bitconnect scam, since then I am still confused for which token/coin into invest (except BTC or ETH). Any advice from you guys?

Regards,
Wasif

 4 years ago  

Entry 15

 4 years ago  

Bitconnect touched a lot of people and it was really a big blow to many small investors. Thanks for sharing your experience!

Welcome buddy, can I ask which coins you are holding right now ? BTC halving is also going to happen..

 4 years ago  

I'm holding mainly btc, hive, steem and tron. I have some dust in many coins ;-)

My Entry:

My worst investment was Minerone which was a mining service where you bought stakes in the output. They seemed to have a good team and lots of information and pictures as to what they were doing. There was a huge interest in the ICO. They were even posting pictures and updates regularly about where they were investing their money and the progress. They asked the community often when there were big decisions to make so that the community stayed active. They also had an active Telegram support channel where you could ask questions and get advice.

However, it was a scam and the information and communication dried up. Investors became frantic and then realised that the worst was true.

 4 years ago  

Entry 17

 4 years ago  

The Ico bubble made a lot of people loose money. There were many good ideas but in the end very few projects survived. Thanks a lot for sharing!

ICOs were a great way of raising capital but just too many scams.

My Entry
I invested in creating a project. Ad exchange project. Together with 4 team, I decided to create ad exchagne project based on eth token. I try to promote in bounty. The worst thing is that the project failed. To create a project there should be great teamwork. Without that, the project will fail.

 4 years ago  

Entry 26

 4 years ago  

Thanks a lot for your entry!

This is great initiative

 4 years ago  

Thanks ;-)

Beautiful contest here. I'll love to start sharing my contents here.