You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Project.Hope contest: Your worst investment experience

My worst crypto investment is related to time dedicated to a project. Having little money for investment is both a blessing that keeps scams away and a misfortune inhibiting new opportunities. Instead of boring you with an ICO story, I thought I would share my experience about mining and validating blockchains.

When I decided to commit to crypto, I thought it best that I maintain a copy of Bitcoin. Doing this right meant verifying signatures when loading the needed programs. Success came slowly and, at the time, a full copy of Bitcoin took days to acquire.

Enter Ethereum, Steemit, EOS, Whaleshares and a couple of other chains. I thought that I would have an easier time my second go around. Had not expected to find Ethereum too costly to make a contribution. Similar issues began to arise with EOS and whilst exploring witness options for Steemit. Alas, it were not to be.

In all, I would say that I found no success exploring chains beyond that of my initial learning and secure download of Bitcoin. I learned about PoS, Ethereum and other concepts of blockchain tech. However, there did not seem to be a way to directly contribute. There seemed to be some hope once I became visible on a Lightning Network testnet, but this did not pan out.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

I admire your perspicacity in trying to participate in running a node. I think it is quite difficult and requires not only technical knowledge but also a network of people who support you. Thanks a lot for sharing your experience!

And a bit of funds. Crypto is small business.

 4 years ago  

Entry 23