You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Project.Hope contest: Your worst investment experience

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Heavy-leverage perpetual contracts trading. I had managed to turn $100 into thousands. Then the market turned, the site I was using suddenly locked-up refusing to allow me to close my position. It seemed rigged. I had spent days building up gains, which were then completely wiped out.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Thank you for sharing. Did the website turn scam?

No, I took screenshots and sent them to customer support, we went around in circles. They kept saying "The market is risky". It wasn't the market, it was their site. I stopped using them, switched where I trade, and discourage using heavy-leverage when trading as it has been mentioned there are people who "hunt" overleveraged trades... which is odd, unless it is the platforms hunting them...

I would be interested to hear if anyone else has had suspicious incidents on the perpetual contract trading platforms. It appears that a lot of sites are using 1 of a handful of whitelabeled 3rd party platforms.

that was really very bad luck !, I'm sorry you had to suffer that experience, but surely you learned from it. You have to be careful

 4 years ago  

Entry 3