How to improve performance at home and at work?

in Project HOPE3 years ago
Perhaps it happens that at the beginning of the day they propose to carry out various activities, either at home or at work, however, when the night comes and make an evaluation of the objectives set, we realize that we do not meet a high percentage of these.

Several questions arise then. What should I improve? How do I organize the tasks in my day? What decisions can I make to accomplish them?

Imagen1.jpg
Image credit: pxhere.com

In these very special days of pandemic where our routine has changed completely, I have had many doubts about how to organize myself to fulfill my activities, especially to obtain satisfactory results working from home; that is why reviewing I found important information related to expert opinions that suggest a series of tips that can help us improve productivity, and thus enhance efficiency in the various activities that we perform.

Now, I invite you to review some of these tips!

The first piece of advice could be described as prioritizing. This is based on the fact that "20% of the actions give 80% of the results".

What does this imply? This corresponds to a statement known as the Pareto Principle, in honor of the person who postulated it in 1907[1]. These percentages can be used as a symbolic relationship that allows us to explain the rule; the most important thing is its meaning, is to know how to identify that small part that will produce good results and be happier.

imagen 2.jpg
Image credit: pxhere.com

If we understood that 20% of the activities that we do in a day are those that lead us to generate 80% of the profits, perhaps we would not dedicate so much time to work, in that 20% we have a lot of desire and energy to give the best of ourselves, without having to invest all our time in a single activity.

So what should we do to optimize our energy and time?

We can start by identifying and eliminating those activities that are not within the 20%, those that generate stress and occupy more time without obtaining any benefit, in this way we will have more time to perform activities that we like and enjoy.

Likewise, we must eliminate from that 80% the people who take away our positive energy to reach our goals. The highest percentage of personal satisfaction comes from 20% of people who truly give us their friendship, love, understanding and that is the most important thing.

Now that I have to work from home, I am a master of my time. I have noticed that I prefer to work in the early hours of the morning because my son still sleeps, in that time I am more concentrated and I am more efficient and effective and it is what generates the greatest economic benefit so important in these times. In this way, I can dedicate the rest of the day to doing my child's homework, cooking and other activities with my family.

That's why I invite you to focus and identify that 20% so important that it generates 80% of the benefits in each thing we do!

The second advice is to do more in less time.This is based on the application of the Parkinson's law: "The work is expanded to occupy all available time. Law enunciated by Cyril Northcote Parkinson in 1957[2]. This means that the more time one has to carry out an activity, the more time it will take to complete it.

3.jpg
Image credit: pxhere.com

So, can we do more activities in the same amount of time?

If we understand this principle we can increase our productivity, we must be aware of how we sometimes lose time by putting ourselves in long terms and sometimes we carry out activities of little importance leaving aside those that really are.

This is how we can set short term goals, on dates close to being accomplished, so that we can accomplish them faster without being able to postpone them. We can also use a list of tasks so it is easier to visualize what our priorities are, additionally we can keep track of time to make the most of it and avoid long breaks.

By keeping more control of our activities and performing more tasks we will see how our work improves and we can enjoy more free time.

And we come to the third piece of advice related to care
"This is part of David Allen's two-minute law .The important thing here is to learn how to measure the magnitude of the tasks that may be presented to us unexpectedly, so that we can identify when to stop what is being done to address that task.

4.jpg
Image credit: Image edited by @yusvelasquez, originals from pxhere.com: woman running, clock

Understanding also that the time of execution of the task should not exceed the stipulated only 2 minutes, if this new task is going to take more time to perform, it should be placed preferably in the list of pending tasks.

I particularly consider that this is one of the causes that make us deviate from our initial plans, we get very distracted and in the end we leave aside what we initially started and we find it difficult to resume.

I hope that the information I present to you today will be of great help and will guide you in the organization of your day to day life in order to achieve the objectives you have set. It is not an easy task but the most important thing is to try!


References

[1]. Nuñez, Pedro. Uses the Pareto principle to be more productive.

[2]. Pendino, Sebastian. Parkinson's Law.


Sort:  

Excellent advice, above all because we need, due to our needs, to have enough time for all the activities that we propose to do during the working day, whether at home or outside. Greetings and thank you for sharing excellent information.

Thanks to you for stopping by to read @sandracarrascal. And yes, even in household chores sometimes we need to improve our performance, it is common to see how a day ends and we have not made much progress with the housework.

Hello friend, an excellent publication, are excellent advice, I currently work from home and the truth at first I think I was wasting a lot of time or did not know how to organize, but I have learned not to waste my time. Regarding what you say about people, I also agree, many toxic people take away our energy and make us fail in life. Greetings!

Hello friend @franyeligonzalez. It happened to me too at the beginning of the pandemic, being more time at home did not give me the time, then I learned to organize myself better. And yes, there are people who really the only thing they do is to subtract energy. And thank you very much friend, greetings!