You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hiking and visiting Schloss Burg

in EXHAUST โ€ข last year

I can only imagine how healthy you are living there. ๐Ÿ˜€ I have barefoot shoes for a while now and used them to workout, in my free time and for hiking. But I just recently read about the barefoot walk on the balls. Read the book 'Bewegung liegt in deiner DNA' (Movement is in your DNA) and there were so many to learn and relearn. How long did it take for you to completely switch over to the barefoot on the balls walk?

Sort: ย 

I've been very healthy all my life, partly from how I grew up, and partly from my own learning and realizations about what is truly beneficial and healthful. Living where and how I do now does bring that to a whole new level, too. That's marvelous that you have some understanding and experience of the benefits and importance of walking barefooted and on the balls of the feet.

Walking on the balls of the feet is quite necessary here, as it's important to be aware of where and how I'm using my feet on the often very asymmetrical and sometimes sharp terrein (lots of lava rocks). I could speak on this subject quite a lot, as there are many layers to it, both energetic and physical (different levels of the same thing). That book sounds great! And yes, unlearning, learning, and relearning is always important, but even more so now as we realize that much of what we've been conditioned and programmed to believe about most things is wrong, or at least not entirely accurate.

Before I came to Hawai'i, I was barefooted quite often, as it always felt good to me. Once I came to Hawai'i (over five years ago at this point), for the most part, I was barefooted most of the time. It took quite a while, however, for my feet to fully acclimate, because, as I mentioned, the terrain can be quite rough and sharp in places, and so I had to learn to have much greater awareness of how to walk here well. Now I only use shoes if I go into a store. ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ’š โœจ ๐Ÿค™