Hiking and visiting Schloss Burg

in EXHAUST11 months ago (edited)

Schloss Burg
Castle Burg / Schloss Burg
It's a rare moment when we both don't have to work at the weekends. If the weather is sunny too, we are lucky. My wife found 3 tours and I decided by the photos of the tours and how much street is involved which one we would go to. We didn't park our car at the recommended location directly at the castle because we would have to pay. We decided to park a little bit away which didn't cost anything but a few hundred meters to walk. This is the complete tour.

➡️ 12,1 km ↗️ 350 m ↘️ 400 m ⏳ 3:11



We started at the castle. My wife took some nice photos but we could not see everything. Some parts were closed and elsewhere was under construction and restoration.
This was the first photo after we came out of the parking lot.

old house

These photos are taken all around the castle. We could use the cable railway but we wanted to hike downhill. We later saw how much we had to walk up and down. Our legs were really tired at the end. The first walk was steep down and we laughed because we knew already that we would come back this way up again.

cable railway
cable railway
house on the way down
house on the way down
When we got there we had to go a little bit on the street before we could sideways between the houses and enter the forest. Here are some photos from there and the little river there. Our tour followed sideways belong the Wupper which passes also through Wuppertal where the suspension railway runs above the river. You see the Müngsten Bridge with it later in the photos.
(Added the wiki links for more info)

Eating nettle buds and the leaves. Something that I always enjoy since I found out how healthy it is.

We both were wearing our barefoot shoes and I tried something new. I've read a book about the ball of foot walking and how it is more natural to walk like this. You do it anyways when you walk stairs, dance, walk sideways, or walk barefoot. It was quite an experience to walk 12 km like this and I had to remember often to do so and not switch to my usual walking habits.

Finally, we had to hike up the hill again where we had started. At the top, we took a break in a nearby pub and drank a cool alcohol-free beer. We could sit outside and enjoy the end of the hike.



All photos were made by my wife and she allowed me to use them 😅


chaosmagic23
Support chaosmagic23 on buymeberries
Posted using Ecency Love


Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks like a great tour and you had great weather!! Did you have plenty of refreshments and food with you?

Nope... We just had a banana, a protein bar, and some water with us. We usually don't take much food with us but enough water.

From the pictures can be seen that it was great and tiring day))

Yes.. It was tiring but not too exhausting.

Thank you for burning ALIVE tokens and supporting the We Are Alive Tribe, you have earned 5 tickets for our weekly ALIVE Burning Contest.


!ALIVE
!LOLZ



Made in Canva

@flaxz - Alive Chat Host on @alive.chat

Follow our Curation Trail


@chaosmagic23! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveprojects. (10/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1910.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Wow, that is awesome. Thank you! 🙏

What a fantastic way to celebrate #aliveandthriving. Love all the photos and the stories you shared. Looks like you had a grand time on this adventure. Thank you for taking us along. An advance happy weekend...


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #aliveandthriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving, plus @youarealive is following our Curation Trail.

Yeah, we had a great time. Thank you!

That's really wondeful to hear! It really seems like a great place! You're very welcome (on @iamraincrystal's behalf), most certainly! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙



Made in Canva

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

@chaosmagic23! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (8/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Wonderful pictures, Chris! Even though it was tiring it seems, the beautiful scenery must have taken away the tiredness.

Does you wife also do kettlebell workout? She is equally fit to you to have such a long hike!

Thank you! 🙏
My wife does kettlebell workouts with lighter weights but not as excessive and heavy as I do. She was a pro swimmer when she was young. With kettlebells, my wife was for the first time interested in how I work out. Soon she learned how versatile and effective kettlebells are.
Sorry, I could talk for hours about kettlebells or other topics, where I've read and learned a lot. 😅

Fascia, nutrition, cells, health, muscles, kettlebells, fitness, and much more

That looks like a beautiful place to visit! I appreciate you nibbling on nettle buds. I nibble on medicinal plants all the time, and yes, they are super beneficial. Walking barefoot on the balls of your feet is excellent! That's how I've been walking for more than five years now! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

I can only imagine how healthy you are living there. 😀 I have barefoot shoes for a while now and used them to workout, in my free time and for hiking. But I just recently read about the barefoot walk on the balls. Read the book 'Bewegung liegt in deiner DNA' (Movement is in your DNA) and there were so many to learn and relearn. How long did it take for you to completely switch over to the barefoot on the balls walk?

I've been very healthy all my life, partly from how I grew up, and partly from my own learning and realizations about what is truly beneficial and healthful. Living where and how I do now does bring that to a whole new level, too. That's marvelous that you have some understanding and experience of the benefits and importance of walking barefooted and on the balls of the feet.

Walking on the balls of the feet is quite necessary here, as it's important to be aware of where and how I'm using my feet on the often very asymmetrical and sometimes sharp terrein (lots of lava rocks). I could speak on this subject quite a lot, as there are many layers to it, both energetic and physical (different levels of the same thing). That book sounds great! And yes, unlearning, learning, and relearning is always important, but even more so now as we realize that much of what we've been conditioned and programmed to believe about most things is wrong, or at least not entirely accurate.

Before I came to Hawai'i, I was barefooted quite often, as it always felt good to me. Once I came to Hawai'i (over five years ago at this point), for the most part, I was barefooted most of the time. It took quite a while, however, for my feet to fully acclimate, because, as I mentioned, the terrain can be quite rough and sharp in places, and so I had to learn to have much greater awareness of how to walk here well. Now I only use shoes if I go into a store. 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Very nice pictures. What country is this? your wife is very good photographer, you sure you asked for her permission for these pictures? LOL good work guys.

This is Germany. Should I ask her again? What if she has forgotten that she gave me permission? 😂

Congratulations @chaosmagic23! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 18000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - June 15, 2023

Huch total übersehen, schöner Post
!ALIVE

Übersehen? Ich bin maßlos entsetzt! 😂

Ja und ich erst, wie konnte das passieren
!LOL

tz tz
Ich hab dich auf dem Schirm

What do you call a factory that makes okay products?
A satisfactory....

Credit: reddit
@chaosmagic23, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @beeber

(1/1)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

@chaosmagic23! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @beeber. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Nice you visited my home town of Solingen. Your pictures of the Münstner Bridge are great.

Nice to see a fellow Komoot user as well.

Have a nice week! !ALIVE

@chaosmagic23! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ben.haase. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Yeah, I use Komoot nearly every time I hike or check tours in specific areas. The tour in Solingen was really lovely.
Enjoy your week. You got a new follower.

You, too. I wait for more semi-barefoot hikes. 😎

I already posted a few hiking tours but back then I had hiking boots. I think I posted my Zugspitze tour but I didn't post anything about the Torrent de Pareis. These two tours were the biggest I have ever made and this was before I entered Hive.

Hello chaosmagic23 What a nice time you and your wife must have had. That was a great hike 12 km is 7.4564543 Great job! It is so beautiful there and that is wonderful you had a non-alcoholic beer 😊👍
The castle is amazing and I love the house with the carved wooden eagle on it. The eagle carving is beautiful!
That's good to know about nettles being edible. What do they taste like? Have a great rest of the weekend and week ahead! Barb !BBH !CTP

Yeah, walking in the sun and having to drive leans me to no alcohol. 😃
I like these old houses with wooden beams in them. The translator told me, they are called half-timbered houses.
The nettle buds taste a bit nutty and lightly sweet. Beware of when you pick them or the leaves. Don't touch the leaves on the upper side roll them together and rub them between your fingers. This will destroy the nettles and you can eat them.

Yes, that's great about the sun and walking. It's so good for you. 👍 😊
Those houses sure sound pretty inside. Half-Timbered houses sounds cool. There use to be houses like that I remember those houses when I was a kid and went to other peoples homes with my parents. Oh wow that's cool about the nettles. They sound delicious! Have a great week ahead. !BBH !CTP

Most people have no idea, how important the sun (building vitamin D) and walking are. I just finished reading a book called 'Movement is in your DNA'. Every cell in your body is made for movement and needs it. Every cell! I could write a novella about this. 🤣 This means, if you don't move your body, you more or less will get sick after a while. This could end up with problems in your joints, back pain, high blood pressure, heart disease, disc prolapse, etc.
Same to you... have an awesome week.

Yes you are correct. When you get older at a certain age you don't want to stop exercising. It is what keeps you younger. My mom stopped exercising in her 80s and went down hill so fast. Yes I have a vitamin D3 deficiency and it's important for your bones when you get older and even when younger. Exercising walking and weight bearing will keep your bones stronger as you age. There is much more on this. Thank you. 😊 !BBH !CTP

Yeah, there is def much more on this. So many beneficial things happen in your body. We could talk for hours about this. Just woke up and it's time to go to work. Have a nice day!
!ALIVE

@adcreatordesign! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @chaosmagic23. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

OK @chaosmagic23 Yes I could go on about it for hours too. Have a great rest of week! !BBH !CTP

!BBH

Thank you!

@chaosmagic23! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (3/5)

Great weather is always good for tourism. Nice pictures of the castle shared. Thanks for sharing this with us.

Thanks for your nice comment!