Green lanes, medieval trails

in EXHAUST11 months ago (edited)

Distance covered: about 15 miles
Time taken: 90 mins (with frequent stops/detours)
Elevation: approx. 500 ft
Bike: Specialized Turbo Levo HT

GreenLanes.jpg

I went on a twisty-turny ride into the hills south of Hitchin at the weekend

IMG_6541.JPG

taking Tatmorehills Lane (marked as a Public Highway)

IMG_6546.JPG

the same trails I used to ride on a pony when I was in my teens

IMG_6548.JPG

it gets pretty narrow at times, but the mature hedges on either side mark it out as an established route

IMG_6549.JPG

The hedges enclose the trail completely, so it feels like you're in a green tunnel

IMG_6550.JPG

looking out at the sunny countryside passing by outside

IMG_6552.JPG

up past Wayley (which may have been the site of a medieval village abandoned during the Black Death).

IMG_6553.JPG

to Deadwoman's Lane, probably named because of the Black Death

IMG_6554.JPG

the trail would probably eventually wind up in Kimpton, Wheathampstead and St Albans, suggesting a regular route for taking livestock to market

IMG_6557.JPG

I made a little detour to look at the tiny country pub where I, @steevc and I think @steve-o2023 ? used to go to music sessions. I thought it had gone, but it is so small, it was just hidden in a turn in the lane...

IMG_6555.JPG

I followed the green lane as far as Austage End where the tarmac road resumes, then turned back for home.

IMG_6559.JPG

This part of the countryside is so quiet, considering how stunning it is, but I did see a few hikers and a couple of guys on mountain-bikes

IMG_6558.JPG

My descent took me across farmland that didn't seem to have changed in centuries

IMG_6560.JPG

through copses and spinneys

IMG_6561 (2).JPG

hidden woods

IMG_6563.JPG

and a secret valley (nobody knows about this place except me, right!?)

IMG_6564.JPG

This section of the trail was part of the Hertfordshire Bridleway - never heard of that before

IMG_6567.JPG

Happy trails!

IMG_6570.JPG

Sort:  

Nice ride!


Upvoted by the Cycling Community
image.png
For all cycling related blogs!

As a guest curator for @ecency I accepted your boost as the post is well designed, the pictures are curated and the path looks really nice

Looks nice!
Was that jam sessions there?
I think somebody might have mentioned it before but also a smelly dog.. 🤣

It was extra-large, extra-smelly and would emit weird grunts and growls at random times. Extra smells would occasionally waft from its rear end, making us fling open the windows. The sessions would be a handful of people crammed in near the dartboard, and if you made a mistake you might hear someone shout "Wanker!" from around the other side of the L-shaped room.

Looks like a lovely ride. I keep saying I want to do more cycling, but hardly use my bike. I've not been to the Plough in ages.

I need to chat to you about doing a Hive meetup with a walk in Hitchin. Got to set a date for that.

!LUV !HUGS

@daniellemurray, @steevc(1/3) sent you LUV. | tools | discord | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Made with by crrdlx

Sure, drop me a message soon!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @steevc.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

This already paid-out post was just upvoted by @steve-o2023.
This post was created to allow this voter the oportunity to still upvote this content IF (s)he deems this content to be high quality.
Please don't use this post to self-upvote. You will get blacklisted if you do. And don't use it to upvote low quality content

This is a hive-archeology proxy comment meant as a proxy for upvoting good content that is past it's initial pay-out window.

image.png

Pay-out for this comment is configured as followed:

roleaccountpercentagenote
curator-0.0%curation rewards disabled
dev@croupierbot2.5%author of hive-archology
author@daniellemurray95.0%
dev@emrebeyler2.5%author of lighthive