Long slow run - increasing the distance

in EXHAUST3 years ago (edited)

I just finished a 13.028km running that lasted about 1hh:21mm:17ss !

image

Another long slow run today. I had planned to do this on this coming Tuesday, but when I woke up this morning I fancied doing it today instead.

So I did!

The weather helped too. It was a chilly and frosty start, but no noticeable ice patches this time. And with the day forecast to warm up I decided it felt ok to go for a long run. I usually do the long run over an 'out and back' route, because it is easier to measure the distance (with the help of googlemaps). My 10k route covers 3 villages, and so today I chose to run to the 4th village on the route, adding an extra 1.5km to the route, and thus an extra 3km in total.

With the planned 13km route decided, I set off. Once again these long runs are done at a slow pace, the aim is always to make sure I keep moving and complete the distance, and going out to quickly will not help. Only once I have covered these longer distances a few times will I even consider picking up the pace.

image

I do feel a bit stiff in the knees this evening, and I'm not surprised really as I have significantly increasing the distance I am running each week. I still felt reasonably comfortable while running that distance today, and it has helped me get closer to one of my strava 100km in January Distance challenge.

I will make sure that Tuesdays run will just be a slow 5km as a recovery run, as I am currently enjoying this running lark, and don't particularly want any over-training issues to spoil it!

image

Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

*When someone tells you that what you want to do is impossible, change the word in your head to hard. What you want to do is hard. Hard is doable – it just requires dedicated work and effort and you can make it happen.
@trevor.george

Enjoy a !BEER in the meantime...

*Reblogged by @runningproject

Thanks for the support, and cheers for the !BEER


Hey @runningproject, here is a little bit of BEER from @dannewton for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Consistent pace on the long run, well done!

Cheers dude! Consistency is key!

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.