Equinox24

in EXHAUST3 years ago

26AACF42-0AA2-4288-AE7D-651B67626138.jpeg

So this is a race that takes place in the grounds of Belvoir Castle in Leicestershire every September. You have 24 hours to complete as many 10k laps as you fancy. You can do it alone, in a pair or as part of a team. You can walk, run, crawl or hobble, it doesn’t matter so long as it only involves your feet + legs. The majority of people camp. There is always a bar, music and various food stalls so there is a really great festival vibe to the event.

D82D719F-777C-4B18-8F39-53F0A4B2CB42.jpeg

About 60% of the course is on grass and the remainder is on asphalt. There is one long slow hill and one short steep one so the course is a really good and challenging mix of surfaces. I did 6 laps in 2019 and went this year with the goal of hitting 70k and using it as a bit of a training run for an ultra marathon I have got coming up in November.

568404BA-9EE8-4F80-8ED3-BEF04B2E27E6.jpeg

Started off with doing 3 x 10k laps, stopping for 10-15 mins in-between each one to scoff some jaffa cakes and take on some Coke. After 30k i’d break for 90mins to have something more substantial (aka Supernoodles!) and have a massage.
2759213A-535D-46EF-8B74-263A22B44A15.jpeg
Then repeated for another 30k before stopping for a tuna mayo jacket potato (This was the last thing I thought i’d fancy eating when I looked at what was on offer earlier on in the day but was the only thing I could think of after 60k!) I dragged myself out for 1 more 10k loop which I walked/jogged before calling it a day and having a shower. I thought that if I woke up the next morning unable to do anything else at least I would have hit my target. Had a shower and managed to sleep for 4-5 hours, in between being woken up by sore legs!

4AD2383F-1ED8-4C0E-AB91-184A5243FE16.jpeg

59823610-1A0C-4D59-8326-BEB128F8C77D.jpeg

8:30am and armed with a coffee + bacon cob in hand I walked a loop in 1hr 40mins to hit 80k. By this point I was told that if I managed to get to 100k i’d get a special bronze badge. Well that was it, I figured even if I could only jog/walk I could manage another 20k before the bell rang signalling the end of the race.

0F59840D-9037-4011-B34A-04A16B2CC6CF.jpeg

9AD46571-DDC8-46A9-B1AB-8101B21E3C61.jpeg

Those last 2 laps I averaged about a 10-11 minute mile. I could feel every bone in my lower body creaking but at least i was well fuelled on bacon + coffee! It took all I had to not be sick or worse 😂 and when I finally crossed the finish line having completed 100k the sheer horror of how I had to dismantle my tent and pack up my car whilst in agony hit me like a truck!

31B9CCAD-8B8D-4DE7-85E0-9D4AD414C6E8.jpeg

B5A4B3A6-DA71-4F15-8F23-9C0DFF560912.jpeg

Equinox24 I love you but next time i’m booking a bell tent.

Thanks as always to Garmin for supporting me and congratulating me on my achievements.

C1F8272D-7A60-44F2-9FF4-8F1E85DA10D6.jpeg

0D08542A-E90F-4975-A97B-9011448A26B4.jpeg

Sort:  

Amazing!!!! congratulations
!LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@rthelly, you've been given LUV from @toofasteddie.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

❤️ thanks Eddie. Bye bye toenails!

Oh wow, that is a big achievement.
I would probably give up even if I was walking 😆

Thank you :) there were numerous times where I was close to stopping! I was lucky to have friends + family there, really helps to have people there to talk to during!

Support is always important.
It's great you finished.

OMG. I hurt even thinking about that! Awesome stuff!

It still hurts 2 days later 😂😂😂

:) Great :)

Ditch the Garmin :)

Congrats again, you did this great. I knew it was a walk in the park, literally.

Definitely an event I would love to take part in. Maybe on some fine day and night and day ...

Once, some 15 years ago I did a similar event with a 2 K loop all on asphalt. The composition of the race was similar to yours with camping and walking. I stopped racing because my both ankles were swollen from jumping off and on the pavement all the time. So, in the end, I did several laps walking in sandals to reach some 100+ K :)

Lovely! Now, rest well and prepare for the next ultra.

@tipu curate

I actually saw someone on the Sunday morning walking in flip-flops because his feet had swelled so much he couldn't get his trainers on!
Very very impressive you managed 100k on asphalt AND a 2k loop.
Thanks again Ervin :) taking a full week off before attempting ANY running

You deserve any moment of the rest :)

I hope this call will work ...
!BEER

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

That is some achievement! I've not even considered doing such an event, but I guess I might be able to manage a few laps over the time even if it was largely walking. That said, 100km is mind-boggling.

Did your watch keep running all that time?

I have a standard 10km race on Sunday which is my first event apart from parkrun in about 2 years. Looking forward to it.

!PIZZA !LUV

My watch has a "resume later" option so i'd select that when I took a break for more than a few minutes.
You definitely should try a 24hr race! They have a few of these type of events around the country now and the support from other entrants and people there to watch is amazing. Some people do a few laps and others keep going for the entire time. Plus it's a weekend away in a tent, what's not to like?!
Good luck for your race on Sunday

I'll have to look out for other events to try. I have not been too adventurous on that front, just doing the local ones.

Cheers

!BEER


Hey @rthelly, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@rthelly! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@rthelly, you've been given LUV from @steevc.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/3)

Hi @rthelly,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Good morning, trying anew ... :)

!BEER

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

Eh ... OK, in the evening...

 3 years ago  

Unproductive from Garmin, nice way to end 100km. That is really quick, I know I said this last time, nice work.

holy wow. That is a great get together that they have though. I really don't know how far I would make it but not as far as you did. I'm amazed. Well done!