Strava2Hive - Update 3

in EXHAUST2 years ago (edited)

S2HLogo.PNG

Last week 9 activities were posted to Hive with the Strava2Hive Service. YAY!!!

Yep, we have a couple of beta testers using the service and it has been interesting to see the issues that come up. You never really know what is going to happen until other people start to use your service. Big thanks to both @run.kirsty.run and @svanbo for helping out with testing.

Who knew that you cannot comment through HiveSigner within 5 minutes of your last comment?

Anyway, since my last update, a few things have been completed.

  • The sign up forms and hivesigner/strava authentication is all complete
  • Posting using hivesigner posting auth has been sorted and now working including adding beneficiaries of 5% to the strava2hive account
  • Speed up of some of the processes to allow it to run a little smoother and with less errors

Working on next

  • This 5 minute hivesigner limit...how can the service handle it
  • Automated upvotes and reposting
  • More clean up of the code
  • Understand where the sign up functionality is confusing and correct the issues

Longer Term

  • Weekly/Monthly challanges
  • Payouts to users

If You Would Like To Help Out


If you are interested in using the service already, we have a sign up form ready, but you just need to make sure you do a couple of things first:

Steps to get started
1.Make sure your activity in Strava is visible to everyone. Go to https://www.strava.com/settings/privacy and set Activities to Everyone.
activityEveryone.PNG

2.The sign up process is at the following URL. It will take you through HiveSigner authorisation and then Strava authorisation: https://forms.gle/4WJa13Qq5UpJJaF68

a. First fill out the form similar to the one below, make sure all the data is correct and click on Submit
formNewUser.PNG

b. When you click Submit, you will be given this link, that will direct you to HiveSigner to authorise strava2hive with Posting Authority.
formLinkToHS.PNG

c. Once you finish HiveSigner Auth, you will be given this page, make sure you click on the link as this will then let you authorise with Strava:
stravaAuth.PNG

d. This will let you authorise strava2hive with Strava to allow the service to take activity and post to Hive.
stravaAuthNew.PNG

3.Once an hour Strava2hive will look through your activity and if you have a description added to your activity, it will create a Hive Post for you.

NOTE: Your activity will only be posted if it includes a description, even if it is only one word. There is a 12 hours cooling off period between your posts as well, to make sure you can power up in between and get votes from that post.

Sort:  

Question: is it possible to add #tags and communities while using the app?

 2 years ago (edited) 

Hey @toofasteddie you can add up to five tags at the start of the post. You need to add you tags as the first line in your description, for example;
#hive #health #fitness
Description of activity...
If you don't add tags, strava2hive will put tags in their for you. I hope this answers your question. Currently I am using the exhaust community to post but if you think it should be changed for the type of activity, eg runs should be in the running community, this can be changed pretty easily.

I will try it out…as soon as the hot wave here will be finished 😂😂

 2 years ago  

Cool. Be interested to know what you think.

Tried it, tags and markdown included. Let's wait for the result now ...

Do you mean, we'd add these tags in the description line (not title line, correct?) in STRAVA?

 2 years ago  

Yep @svanbo that is correct. You add the tags to the tescription.

Ok, will test that :-)

Interesting question and subject @toofasteddie
Do you want to share which tags you were thinking about and if adding tags would serve a certain objective?

As said by @run.vince.run , I would use #running as the first tag (it's already a community created by @ervin-lemark if I am not wrong), followed by #exhaust because was the first community and app which was similar to this one and, personally I would use #runningproject which is a community of runners based on affiliation and curation (I'm the owner of @runningproject, for your info, and Vince and I collaborated together long time ago, promoting Running on STEEM first and now on HIVE)

Oh I don't think you've been mentioning #runningproject before?...
I'll take a look into it. With "based on affiliation and curation" you mean that someone (you, I understand) would be searching for the #runningproject tag and curate it?
If I'd new that, I could have been suing #runningproject instead of #running all the time at my actifit posts abot running?! !LOL On the other hand, somehow you're finding and curating my posts already, so it might not be necessary any more and maybe I'd reach more people with the running tag?... For the Strava2Hive posts I obviously could be using the runningproject tag!

Where do elephants hide?
They paint their toenails red and hide in strawberry patches!

Credit: reddit
@toofasteddie, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @svanbo
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(4/4)

Well, instructions are here , you will understand better...

Thats was quick ! I'm all signed up and ready to post my next activity!

You're more than welcome! I !love to participate in this betatesting! i've got a couple of "new" questions if you'd allow me:

  • What do you mean with " beneficiaries of 5% to the strava2hive account"?
  • Why do people prefer to comment using Hivesigner? I'm using Ecency for all my comments and like it because apart from being easy, you only need 3 seconds between the comments and you get ecency points which you could use to promote and boost comments (still testing this)
  • What does the 12h cooling off period mean in concrete? Imagine I download (watch > Strava) 3 activities and add a description to all of them. Are two of the activities lost than and won't the post appear? OR Will 1 activity be posted within the hour, the next one 12h later (automatically?) and the third one another 12h later?
    Greetz from @svanbo
 2 years ago  

Hope I can clarify this for you:

  • " beneficiaries of 5% to the strava2hive account" this is the account that is doing the work creating your hive blog post. It is owned by myself(@run.vince.run) but does all the work.
  • With regards to HiveSigner, this is most likely what Ecency is using or Actifit is using to also make your posts. If something that you already have given authority to like Actifit does a comment or post on your behalf, you will need to wait a further five minutes before another comment or post is made even with a different dapp or service.
  • The 12hour cooling off just means your account will be close to 100% again before posting another activity. So yes, 1 activity will be posted within the hour, then the next one in 12h later.
    Let me know if this still does not anwer your questions.

Thanks for taking the time to answer. Everything more or less clear. Let's monitor if the next activity will be posted automatically in the next few hours...

Great effort with this @run.vince.run

I signed up last night and made it through the sign-up process and managed to get to the final step so I thought I got it.

(to be fair, it seemed relatively straight forward)

And then when I logged on this morning I was surprised to find that it had managed to post a run I did from 36 hours ago... its certainly efficient!

I Usually write just a sentence or two on strava, and then write more on the main post, I guess now I will need to spend a bit more time on the strava one (including a more interesting title haha)

I will go for a run after work today so will try it again...

 2 years ago  

Thanks so much @dannewton appreceate you using the service. There has just been some issues with the sign up if incorrect details have been added cause the authentication for hivesigner and strava rely on this information being 100%. I think I can add in some extra code though to help this now.
Let me know if you see anything else.

Hey, sorry for the late reply. This looks quite interesting. But I do have a dumb question. I never write anything in Strava. In fact, the only reason I have a Strava account in the first place was for the automatic sync with Exhaust, nothing else. But I would only write something on the Hive post, not Strava. Would I be able to do that here? Just sync the Strava activity and then edit the Hive post in peakd or ecency?
!ALIVE

@strava2hive! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @manuvert. (17/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

 2 years ago  

Hey @manuvert thanks for you input. I think the decision was made because a lot of people preferred to have control over what gets added to Hive, instead of having everything added to Hive. I am thinking that we could add a seperate service that simple adds all activity, if the user wants this, and then their activity can still be rewarded from there.

For the record, this Strava activity should appear of Hive via @strava2hive app

Can you count me as a beta tester/user? I've been underperforming in the Hive posting department ever since the end of @exhaust app.

This app is a great opportunity to start posting each day again. Since I run every day :)

The 5-minute rule is in the blockchain core, it's not the Hivesigner thing.

Please, add Hive Keychain support too. I think that it is more popular.

Going through the sign-up steps now ...

Adding description and photo to my last recorded activity ...

@tipu curate

 2 years ago  

Oh ok. Hive keychain, didn't realize it was different. I will have a look and see if that works better and thanks for testing it out.

.... And now that you were actually mentioning the automated upvotes.... Does it make sense if you'd make a curation trail with people that would like to upvote fellow posters in Strava2Hive and at the same time see their posts automatically upvoted by the others as well? I just got acqainted with hive.vote and with the curation trails; So I don't know how and IF this is technically possible, but if you haven't got it clear yet how you want to manage this subject, asking it here might motivate someone who does know more about this, to come with a suggestion or solution.

I think that @strava2hive should have at least a curation trail as well, @run.vince.run if you think about doing so I can set @isotonic to follow the trail as well as @runningproject in some percentage.

Is @isotonic yours as well? I've seen it around for a couple of times :-)

😉

Oh man, when I'm finally going to find my way in this maze (called Hive) i think I'll start to understand how people are growing their accounts like some here do, and why I didn't get further than I did till now !LOL

Don't get mistaken, @runningproject or @isotonic didn't help only me but lots of people over time.
The best you can do in order to grow your account is being active and engage with the people around, be visible, give opinions, interchange knowledge... also, if you have anything to offer as a developer or so, it also may help

I dind't mean it the bad way!
Just seeing that a lot of people are doing a lot of different things here and the possibilities seem endless here on Hive. And that even which a lot of engagement I only reach little growth is because I probably only saw the top of the iceberg...

Why are bass guitarists always safe?
Because they stay out of treble.

Credit: reddit
@toofasteddie, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @svanbo
Release your inner Rock Star with Rising Star! The best #play2earn game on Hive! Play for Free!
(2/4)

If you have time, this guy is sharing his experience here and is worth to be watched.
https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@daltono/ahmwbdie

That's a very nice and interesting story indeed. After my first half a year experience in Hove, I don'r believe that this would ever pay my bills... Or I'm still misssing a looooooot. We'll see in the next months. I'm here to stay, even though probably I won't be continue to spending such a lot of time in here as I'm doing now...

 2 years ago  

Yeah, definately both correct on this. This is why I am posting to the @exhaust community to allow anyone who is already upvoting this curation trail. But yes, I need to decide shortly where that will be or if I keep using the @exhaust community.