Short Fartlek: Karvonen Fails again

in EXHAUST2 years ago

prof_image_10457230.png
toofasteddie just finished a 7.95km run, that lasted for 47 minutes.
This run helped toofasteddie burn 490.0 calories.


Description from Strava: Short Piramidal Fartlek performed together with a colleague of the running club.
Good feelings in all the intervals but very demanding.
Last 1’ fast interval performed below 3’20”/km reaching 181 bpm which demonstrates again that the 220-Age formula is not applicable at all on many of us.
At the end, it has been more than 7Km including 3.2km of high quality work.
I’m thinking that I could do well in a few weeks for a 5K race…. Jean Bouin?
Keep on running!


If you would like to check out this activity on strava you can see it here:
https://www.strava.com/activities/7884293769

About the Athlete: Father of two, Engineer by profession and Athlete in my spare time...

image_7884293769.png

This is an automated post by @strava2hive and is currently in BETA.

Sort:  

fartlek always sounded smelly to me :)

I can imagine 😂

You're smashing your training at the moment and getting stronger every day.
For the month of August 2022, the Strava2Hive leader board will be determined by "calories burned"!

This Weeks Leader Board(Top 5):

  1. @dannewton - 2319.3 Calories Burned
  2. @run.vince.run - 2138.0 Calories Burned
  3. @alzee - 1434.0 Calories Burned
  4. @argon - 1207.5 Calories Burned
  5. @toofasteddie - 1203.0 Calories Burned

How many 1' intervals did you do? I find 181 a very high heart rate for your age... i don't get over let's say 173...(Now definitely not because of my injuries...) !CTP

Just a couple

And 183 heart rate is normal for you?

My.max is over 190 but on a 10k race my average bpm is around 173

Haha what... Fartlek ?