Mosquitoes And Their Unnecessary Nighttime Performances

in HiveGhana3 months ago (edited)

Imagine a very hot evening with no electricity. No access to air conditioner and no access to fan. You’re already sweating, hoping that sleep visits you soon and there comes Mrs entertainment with the buzzer singing all forms of melodies. Oh and she makes sure to sing all the parts from treble to bass. There are so many sounds that I hate, but the one that annoys me to the core is mosquito buzzing sound.

Personally,I’m not scared of heat and I’ll attribute it to the fact that I’m petite in person but I know how uncomfortable it is for people who cannot stand the heat waves and have to resort to so many ways just to be able to have a goodnight sleep.As if that’s not enough, you’ll just be hearing “wiiiiiiiiiiiiiii” in your ears. When I was a child, I used to think mosquitoes were fairies that were sent by fairy godmothers to give us information. So anytime I heard “wiiiii” I would just pay attention to listen and maybe hear the message clearly.

That notion was short-lived when they started biting me. How? Since when did fairies start biting. There’s just something with buzzing sounds from mosquitoes. I really believe people even get malaria from just the sounds more than even the bites. For me, the moment I hear them I start to quiver and no matter how sleepy I was before, I become wide awake. When I was a kid I used to act lifeless to see if the mosquitoes would go away and they always did but now that I’m grown, it looks like they’ve also become wise. It’s even when you act lifeless that they increase the volume of the microphone and start performing all forms of acapela.

Image was edited on canva

We don’t even have any water body around where I stay but we have gardens and trees so I don’t know if that’s where they come from.The only way we are able to skip their nightly performance is if we spray in the morning and then put our fans on 5 at night. Even with that they still sing to us but it would feel like their microphones break because of the fan and they become unstable to be at one place so you’ll be hearing wiii……..iii……..iii.

Sometimes I dont even know what their problem is. You came to bite so just bite and go? What’s all that comedy show you have to do and it’s not even as if after their show they’ll just leave. They still bite you. In fact I feel like there are days they just come to only perform and that’s what they do all night.

I can go on and on to express my hatred for mosquitoes because I really hate them with passion. I hate the fact that such a small thing could cause disease killing hundreds of people everyday.Ahhh I dont want to even start talking about houseflies. They are the worst!

Sort:  

You thought mosquitoes were fairies?😂 You had a wild imagination.😅

Everything about mosquitoes is annoying. They disturb people's ears with their noise, and to add to that, they cause sickness.

I thought they were fairies🥹

😂Hahaha this post made my day. It's very relatable friend. It reminds me of a funny TikTok video I watched. Did you know those bad boys sing in keys, notes and can pitch?👀

I do , I’ve experienced all their performances😂😂

Right on track😂😂😂😂😂
Is far more terrible for us whose Napa light is on and off and the current situation of our country wouldn't permit us to buy fuel for gen. I'll end up using the bed cover over my face, or to avoid heat a bit I'll just rap round my head with cloth. Still I'll hear there voice faintly but would be able to sleep with that than having them direct to your ear drum and singing.

I’m so sorry about that
I can imagine what you are going through there

You’re welcome to Ghana anytime though🥹

Oh my, i already have a house to stay in Ghana...

I'm coming over very soon 😍

Will be waiting ☺️

Lol😅😅😅

Don't worry, you won't wait for too long😊❤

Imagine a very hot evening with no electricity

I know this imagination is just for us Nigerians alone 😂 coz when is there ever no electricity in Ghana?

But seriously speaking, mosquitoes are very annoying and are probably my most disliked animal on earth because of that irritating sound they make

I didn’t even say anything and you have just taken it for yourselves 🤣🤣

Ha ha 🤣🤣 mosquitoes were what🤣🤣🤣 fairies now this has made my day already, why would you think that and you thought you how to think that?

I was a kid🥹🥹
And they were as small as what I saw you fairy movies🥹

Chaiii, I'm happy you've grown and have known better now🙃🙃

Haha😂

Haha
This one got me
I experience this yesterday night
It wasn't funny
This creature called mosquito should learn to be keeping quiet for once
Lol
Thanks for this wonderful piece @abenad

I don’t think it’s something they can learn to do 😂

Crazy how we have to think alike 😂😂😂
Those insects are something else

You know right

mosquitoes are your friends, they only have 7 days to live so allow them suck what they want to suck. you acting lifeless off me, they want the blood and they can sense if the person is alive or not

🤣🤣🤣🤣
I was being smart

Yesterday night na me and mosquito
their sound is so annoying.
We go again tonight, 😀😀😀

It’s good you understand 🤣🤣🤣

It sounds like you had quite the eventful evening! Dealing with a hot night without electricity can be challenging enough, but add in the buzzing of mosquitoes and a neighbor's impromptu concert, and it becomes a test of endurance🤣🤣🤣🤣
Nice piece dear

🤣🤣🤣

Mosquitoes coming to sing in your ears can be very annoying and uncomfortable, sometimes you keep giving yourself dirty slaps just to get them to leave you alone.

🤣🤣🤣🤣

😅😅😅😅 it's an African problem dear. That wiiiiiiiii sound is a trap 🪤

🤣🤣indeed it is🤣

My hatred for mosquito sound is out of this world.
Sometimes, I prefer to be bitten to be blasted with its sound 😅

🤣🤣🤣🤣interesting

Ahhhhh mosquitos are so fraustating honestly, if I tell you how many slaps I gave myself you will pity me honestly.

🤣🤣🤣

Okay, I can relate to this really but you thought mosquitoes where fairies? That is wild babygurl. I so much dislike them and can't remember the last time they got an opportunity to sing for me because I intentionally make sure they don't 😎

Wow, you are living the life

Yea I thought they were fairies🥹

It's actually the males who come to sing for you so you can dance/adjust and then their wives can find a spot to suck, to have enough energy to lay her eggs. It's a love story.
You should be glad you were part of it.
A nice piece.

Oh really???
I didn’t know that it was the males
Just imagine!

Yes. The entire malaria story has a funny love side of it. Hehe

It's fine. I knew through my work and study too.

Maybe you should get a headset or something to take your attention away. Im yet to come across a sound that would prevent me from sleeping 😂😂

You are those people that can sleep beside a sound system 🤣

Oh I actually am.
When we used to go for entertainment in shs, I would doze of standing next to the sound system. Nothing can come between me and sleep

Serious 🤣🤣🤣