Tolerance With A little Bit of Action

in HiveGhana2 months ago

I actually laughed when I saw this topic because I felt direct shots towards me. I have high level of admiration for people who are so tolerant because my tolerance level is probably like 30% and that one even goes on low battery sometimes. Fortunately for me, the number one thing I have which I think substitutes the tolerance I do not have is knowing how to accept I’m wrong and knowing when to apologize.

I’m sure you’ve realized that most jobs require people who believe in collaboration and teamwork. Others would even go further to ask that they want someone who appreciates diversity and for you to appreciate diversity, you should be someone who can tolerate people from all backgrounds. Trust me when I say this is one of the most hardest things to do but also the most underrated superpower.

It’s not so easy to try and accept certain opinions or endure certain actions just because you want to create a healthy environment at work. I have been in a position where opinions of people were so awkward and it was always surprising to hear something like that coming from a person with about 10 years experience but that’s when I revisit diversity and remind myself that we all come from different places and what might seem really odd to me might happen to be so top tier to them.

I’m sure by now you’re thinking that I’m not so bad at tolerating people. Let me tell you the action attached to that my 30% tolerance.There’s so much beauty in diversity but I realized after I became an Environmentalist that there’s some ugly side attached to that beauty. It even becomes more uglier when your colleagues are doing the job just for the money but there’s no passion. There’s this guy I worked with on a project. At first I was going to ask for a different partner because he barely contributes when you’re working with him.

The annoying part is he would be making comments like “You can deal with this without my help, you are the one with passion for the Environment”. What?!! I’m the one with the passion but even as you’re “passionless” you’re still going to get paid the same amount as me at the end of the month. I really didnt mind doing everything alone but enough was enough. I just knew at that point I had exhausted my 30% tolerance. I confronted him that I wasn’t going to do it alone and for about 2 days I acted nonchalant. That’s when he knew I was serious. Seeing that the deadline was drawing nearer, he contributed.

The whole office was surprised that I got him to contribute for once.
I was also happy that I spiced my tolerance with small action which got him to change. Trust me when I say I didn’t mind getting fired because I was fed up. (I know unemployment was smiling at me that time).

Sort:  

That feeling when you’re fed up and you don’t care about the consequences😂, I’ve been there. I’m just trying to picture you being angry 😂. Well I guess you did the right thing but hey work on that 30% it’s low😂.

Exactly I didn’t care anymore 🤣

30% is a lot o🤣🤣🤣🤣
Do you know how many years I used to get there🤣

Ahhh, how was your childhood?😂.
How did keep up with annoying kids 😂?

I better not say🤣

You better say 😂

Your tolerance was tested, you were pushed to the limit and you took action. People like that guy only understand action😅.

I gave him what he understands then🤣🤣

If this is 30% tolerance, then I guess mine is in the 80’s. Cause if I feel you are delaying me for a second, I will ignore you and do what I have to do. But when you see my face, you will know that there’s fire burning somewhere 😂

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣ewoo

Is the 30% tolerance for me?
Tolerance is something individuals must imbibe at all costs.

Tolerance is needed in everything we do such as marriage, place of work, church or mosque, market, and so on. If not the world will be a mess.

I laughed as I read your post🤣🤣🤣

30% is a lot o🤣

There is a level to which we all can take when we are been pushed, some people will just take being so tolerant for granted, so I agree when you said with a bit of action.

I can be very tolerant but when I'm pushed I will fight back with full action.

Exactly my point

By now the guy will hate you for the rest of his life. Some people are just lazy and always try to act like they’re smarter than everyone. Me deir I’m not going to play the fool for anyone.😂

He is not even my friend again 😂😂

It’s even a he. Ha!😂

🤣🤣🤣

It's really hard to tolerate sometimes especially when the people you're trying to tolerate are not tolerable🤣

🤣🤣🤣🤣

Very funny 🤣🤣
spicing your tolerance with action made him do the needful.
We all need that spice sometimes.

We really do🤣🤣

Taking action, even when uncomfortable, can lead to positive change.. It’s actually great to hear that your efforts led to a positive outcome.

Yeah exactly