Let's be sincere, adulthood is hard

in HiveGhanalast month

I'm a very vocal advocate when it comes to the subject of 'adulthood is hard,' and that's because I'm feeling it to the extreme currently.
For me, the real stage of adulthood is when one is entirely fending for oneself, not reliant on stipends from parents, eating from their pot, or living under their shelter. No, real adulthood is when one is completely dependent on their own efforts for survival. The sport when one needs to work for money, sort out bills, buy food, pay for shelter, and also, battle with life decisions.

Unsplash

The aspect of adulthood that's particularly challenging for me is providing for myself financially, covering expenses like food, transport, shelter, and others. If this area of my life can be softened, then I can boldly join the gang of people who say, adulthood is just like a normal life

Many times, I sit and ponder how our fathers survived and continue to survive all the financial pressures that came their way, especially when they weren't affluent. Using my parents as a case study, I've seen them providing everything as if it's things are easy.

Especially now in my country, Nigeria, earning 50k naira is nothing to write home about. It can't even cover a standard meal for a month, let alone other expenses.

I've been trying as much as possible not to be in debt to anyone, both in my family and to the people around me in my current place of living. I buy things and pay immediately; I'm not fond of those who accumulate debt and pay only when they have money, living in a cycle of borrowing. I don't want to be in a situation where my money arrives, but the debtor's bank is waiting to collect everything.

However, even though I don't fall into that category, my earnings still vanish on the very first day of receiving them because of buying necessities. This makes me wonder a lot and fear how I'll survive the demands of living, if money, which is essentially a ticket to living, runs out on the day of salary payment.



Unsplash

Upon reflection, when I was growing up and living with my parents, I never saw them facing this kind of trouble. They always seemed fine, even when facing financial challenges.
I know why I didn't feel it then; it's because I wasn't an adult, and all I was concerned about was eating, not how they were sourcing money to run the family.

I graduated from school a year ago, but there's not really a stable job to use in sorting out my life currently. What I'm doing currently is not so a good job with a good pay.
Also, my age is not stagnant, it's counting up, and very soon, I'll start feeling pressure to start a family (get married).With which money???

Just take a look at things now; everything is hard and doesn't seem likely to get easier anytime soon, despite what we're always told to believe that things will get better.

Who says adulthood isn't hard? Who's saying that?
Adulthood is very hard!

Thanks!

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Adulthood brings tough responsibilities, especially financially. You have to earn money, pay bills, and make important decisions on your own.

I thought I was alone on this, it piss me off to remember I have bills to pay as an adult and things they would have done for me if I was still a baby.

Change is constant, growth is important hence one must accept the odds of adulthood and face the future.

There are many people in the same boat
You are even talking about starting a family, me I laugh when people are keen on “save your money”, which money?
I should save and starve?😂

Yes, things are hard and it sometimes gets worse.
Sometimes it feels like you are unlucky and lazy even though you try so hard to make ends meet.
We just have to keep pushing for there are really better days ahead.

The kinds of responsibility that comes with adulthood can make some to feel like crying. Adulthood isn't an easy stage, somehow hard

There is no mincing of words when it comes to defining adulthood, it simply is hard!

Congratulations @cypher09! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2024
Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain