Is There an Adulting Manual? Asking for a Friend

in HiveGhanalast month

Take me back to those days when all I had to worry about was to wake up from bed, play all day, take a shit and cry about how my mom didn’t want to give me two candies. If only I had known that this would be my life today, I wouldn’t have ever wished to grow up. Don’t get me wrong, I love my life at the moment but as they said, ‘adulthood na scam’.

Fast forward, I got my first teddy bear and started to use my moms cloth to tie it to my back. Acting like it was my baby and I was its mother. I even gave it imaginary breast milk when it cried imaginary tears also.😂 Then when I get bored of my baby ( teddy bear) , I proceed to play with empty tomato cans and sand in my grandparent compound. No one would dare stop me from getting my clothes dirty cos that would mean that I was going to cry for hours non stop.

I don’t even know what happened but they said I’m a big woman now, or I actually am. Life happened so fast. All of a sudden I have to wake up at 4:00am because I have work in a few hours. Bills to pay, projects to work on, deadlines to meet , man, it’s an unending cycle of madness.

From what I know, adulthood has always been hectic but I would like to believe that those days, it was better as compared to the situation today. As an adult, you need money for literally everything but today, our system is not working. Even the food we eat has been affected by inflation, so they say. From where I come from, the money you save today will end up saving you tomorrow because there’s literally always something to handle.

I don’t remember the last time I was home or even saw my family. It’s been over 3 months of living alone in this harsh world. We thank God for technology,now we are able to communicate with our loved ones who are far away. That doesn’t really fill the void in our hearts but it’s better than no form communication at all.

Being an adult can be scary at times. You sometimes don’t know who your friends are because not everyone can be trusted. Your closest friends can be lowkey hating on you because you’re doing better than them. People even go to the extent of killing their own friends because they are successful. Sometimes I sit down and think of where my life is heading. I know I’m terrible at maintaining friendships but at this point in my life, having so many friends isn’t a priority for me.

Between working my ass off towards a great future and managing to survive on a daily basis, I barely have time for other stuff. This makes me sometimes wonder how some people tend to have so much drama in their life. Even though being an adult can be hectic at times, it’s still great being an adult. Being able to smash all your goals one after the other, working on being a better version of yourself, growing each and everyday and building a great future isn’t something anyone would want to miss out on.

No one can be a kid forever, at some point we have to grow whether we like it or not. All you have to do is to try not to go mad while you’re at it.


all images belong to me.


Sort:  

Congratulations @nhaji01! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 4500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain

Creative minds

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

The friends part is also something that bothers me sometimes
When we are kids we don’t really bother about friends and it’s not that serious
But as we grow, it becomes scary. I hear stories of friends poisoning friends.

 last month (edited) 

Me deir if someone poisons me that’s their headache because den and y33gye wo wiase😂

🤣🤣🤣🤣Herhh you are funny

That’s the truth.😂