PARENTHOOD: MY VISIONS AND ASPIRATIONS

in HiveGhana9 months ago

The early years of a child go a long way to determine a lot about how such a child will turn out: his personality, likes, hobbies, habits, aspirations and achievements. While I was an undergraduate, I remember being taught that the two major factors that exert great influence on an individual include genetics and environment.

While we may have limited influence on genetics, the environmental aspect has been proven to be capable of correcting errors including some that may arise due to genetic disorders. This is one of the main reasons I've always desired to be a good parent.

1693502093224.jpg

In the aspect of child upbringing, I have great role models in my parents, however, there are some gaps in their efforts which I seek to fill while raising my own children. These are areas that have affected me in one way or another and I have no desire to see my offsprings go through similar experiences.

A vital aspect I always take cognizance of is that of finance. I am working assiduously towards becoming a parent that is able to provide all that my children need to grow, be happy and excel in the world. This extends to their tuition fees, feeding, relaxation, etc. While growing up, I envied some of my neighbours and classmates because they had many essential things I lacked. While their parents buy new clothes, uniforms, bags and other necessities for them regularly, I and my siblings get new ones once in a while and sometimes, we had to make use of hand-me-downs. I know our parents did more than their best raising us, nevertheless, I want my children to have a better experience.

Another aspect is that of personal relationship. I never had a personal relationship with any of my parents even though I wanted to. Because of their tight schedule and financial difficulties, there was little time for heart-to-heart discussions; the kind of conversation that makes it possible for a child to confide in his/her parents. I hope to build a more loving and cordial relationship with my children so they can trust me enough to share their secrets with me even when they err.

1693502323934.jpg

Like I mentioned earlier, the environment exerts a great deal of influence on a child's growth. Thus, I desire to build an environment that will encourage my children to possess high self-esteem, confidence, contentment and genuine happiness. I don't want the outside world to be more loving that their home. I am continually working on myself so that I can be a good mentor and role model to them.

Thank you for reading my article. I'm sure you now know the kind of parent I hope to become in future.

Sort:  

These are all great point, Am so sure you will definitely be a very good parent

I genuinely appreciate this compliment. Thank you for reading through.☺️

Congratulations @philips-afolayan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - August 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023

Thank you for the notification and recognition.

All good @philips-afolayan! You're a true Hive champion! Onward to that new goal!

If you'll be able to do all this, you'll be the best parent on earth. These are all good guidelines to follow, but the most important is this:

Another aspect is that of personal relationship. I never had a personal relationship with any of my parents even though I wanted to. Because of their tight schedule and financial difficulties, there was little time for heart-to-heart discussions; the kind of conversation that makes it possible for a child to confide in his/her parents.

Without a proper relationship between parents and children, you have nothing.

Yes, you are right. Proper relationship is key to sustaining affection and family bonds.
I truly appreciate your comment and I hope to achieve these aspiration.