500wordsaday

in 500 Words a day4 years ago

20200822_085131.jpg

What's up, friends? It's been a while, but I figured I would check in with another 500 words. I'm not too sure what I'm going to write about today. I guess I'll just ramble like normal.

I took the picture above this morning. I admit that it isn't anything special, but I have always liked pictures of dew or water on petals. This is actually rain though. We had some pretty good precipitation last night and into this morning. I still thought it looked cool. I wish I had more time to actually put some effort into it. I was being called for and had to rush it.

We woke up early today to attend a religious event for my son. Lately, I've been experiencing the weird phenomenon of somehow injuring myself when I sleep. Earlier in the week, I woke up and I was barely able to bend my leg. It lasted all day. I had to walk around with a straight leg everywhere I went, and I had a hell of a time getting up and down the stairs. It was really kind of embarrassing. On one hand, I have been told that that is how you know you're getting old. On the other hand, I know that my current health has a lot to do with it.

The truth is that I'm having trouble prioritizing physical health into my life. I understand the importance of it. I fully understand and trust the logic of it, but somehow, I still can't get myself to actually take the step of making that my number one priority each day...or really for any given day. I'm not really sure what's holding me back. It's in my nature to analyze so it shouldn't be that hard to figure out.

I guess I could point to my job. My job is pretty stressful currently. I love some aspects, but hate others. The sad fact is that I am not too good at it currently. I have only been in this position for a year, and I just now feel like I am starting to get an understanding of the full picture. Previously, I was an expert in one area representing a chunk of my current responsibilities, but now I find myself a novice in the majority of my job. The result of that inexperience is a slip in results in both quality and schedule. I've found the only way for me to compensate is with working more. I will pause there to say that I do understand that working extra isn't the greatest solution, but it is a natural one to me. So I guess the point of all that is to say that I fear that taking away time from work would decrease my performance even more.

The other part is just having the fortitude to break the inertia of inactivity. I'm usually inactive at work, then I get home and usually do stuff, but it isn't health related. That was before COVID. Now my work is at home and the whole day consists of sitting. I have more flexibility now than I ever have before, and I still don't make time to prioritize my health. I guess that's pretty telling.

Well, sorry to cut this kind of short, but I'm really tired. Based on the analysis from above, I can only conclude that the main factor that stops me from prioritizing health and fitness is my own laziness. I have the extra time to both work extra if, I really feel I need to, and to work out. I just don't. I'll have to do some work on that.

Anyways. Till we meet again..

This post adheres to the #3for1 standard for the #xfor1 initiative to spur engagement. This means that when I made this post, I found 3 other similar posts or posts in the same community and gave them a meaningful comment. If you would like to join the #xfor1 initiative, simply comment on the work of others when making your post, then edit the post with the appropriate tag. Hit me up if you have any questions.

Join the Blockchain Poets community. Where we read and comment each other's on poetry.

Sort:  

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

I'm not too sure what I'm going to write about today. I guess I'll just ramble like normal.

Thats what we are here for. A place to ramble a bit and write for a bit. Keep you active and thinking about life.

I guess I could point to my job. My job is pretty stressful currently. I love some aspects, but hate others. The sad fact is that I am not too good at it currently.

I get the work/stress relationship as i am going through similar at the moment. The one thing i do find however is that the exercise makes it easier. I play football once a week and it relieves the stress and clears my head. I often don't feel like going out to play but i always feel better after i have.

Hopefully you can find some balance as well and break away from the work from time to time.