What is motivation. #500wordsaday

in 500 Words a day4 years ago (edited)



image.png

Ref: Pixabay

Motivation is a curious thing. It ebbs and flows like the weather as we blow hot and then dry up. There are wet spells and dry spells.

It's very hard to keep a consistent level up over a long period of time. No matter what the job or activity there are very few people that can perform to the same level day in day out for years. Those rare specimens that can do it every week are well known as they are the best at what they do.

It’s easy to have a good day or a bad day.

It’s hard to be constantly switched on and putting in a good shift every single time that you set out to do a job.

We have a lot of external factors in life that can effect our performance. We have a lot of internal ones as well. Internal voices that effect our performance and our motivation to do well in that performance.

External influences are easier to identify. Lack of sleep will make you tired and slow you down or that day. Physical injury or sickness will take a toll on your energy and hurt your output. These are all external factors outside of your control and have to be adapted to rather than overcome. They are easy to quantify and identify as to why your not at your best. Broken bones are easy to see and explain for a drop in levels. Lack of tools and resources can be blamed in some cases and often play a part in who does better or worse.

Internal factors are a lot harder to quantify. Those voices in your head that make you do funny things. Those nerves that hit you before a big performance. Those thoughts that put you down, that make you feel like you will fail, you will embaress yourself, that you’re not good enough. How can you measure those. How can you overcome them and perform regardless. Go out every day to the same level and not be affected by what is going on inside your head.

I can’t answer that for you. Every single person is different and has a different motivation to do well. I hate to lose. I use that to fight through any internal or external obstacles. I have played injured. I have fought through the pain and stayed going for the team. I hate to lose.

I will write when there is nothing to write about. I will keep backing the project until there is no project left just not to lose hte long game. I am fairly relaxed but very stubborn and won’t quit until there is no hope of victory left. Even then I will probably keep going to the end. That is my motivation. When all looks hopeless I will bring others with me to fight against the tide and try to make a difference.



Click here for the 500 words community.
Write #500wordsaday now.




500 words image.jpg


Sort:  

It's very hard to keep a consistent level up over a long period of time. No matter what the job or activity there are very few people that can perform to the same level day in day out for years. Those rare specimens that can do it every week are well known as they are the best at what they do.

For me, there is a difference between Motivation and Discipline. Motivation is stuff you want to do, and Discipline is stuff you need to do.

When starting a new activity, I am often highly motivated. Sport is an example, when you start training, its new and fun and interesting. When the excitement starts to fall after a few months, training becomes a chore. It becomes easy to make excuses. And it takes discipline to keep training because you know you need to going.

I will write when there is nothing to write about

Just like that. 😉

Another interesting read, thanks for sharing.

For me, there is a difference between Motivation and Discipline. Motivation is stuff you want to do, and Discipline is stuff you need to do.

That's a very good point. Having that will to keep going when it's not all about fun or when nobody is looking. That is what makes the greats. The ones who put in that hard work. It's easy to get caught up in the excitement of something new and shiny but a lot harder to have that discipline to keep going with ti and reach the top of your game.

That's the spirit, that's the motivation that has been bringing new things into existence, light into dark and success in impossible situations. Simple words yet great thoughts.

the motivation that has been bringing new things into existence, light into dark and success in impossible situations.

I like to call it being very stubborn.

I just find it more fun to have a challenge rather than easy wins. There is no joy in them for me unless i can overcome an obstacle of some kind.

I have accepted some of the easy wins in my life during the depressed time of my life, they did give me a boost to live for fight another day. Whether I enjoyed them, NO, definitely, there is no fun in easy wins, some fight, some challenge is required to give me ME, I totally agree with you.

@niallon11, you have some really good points here. It gave me a reason to reflect on what motivates me. In my case I think it is about 65% curiosity and 35% sense of duty. I like to discover things about myself and others.

We all have different motivations at different times. I think a lot of it has to do with where we are in life.
This will change a lot from when you are twenty to when you are fifty. What you enjoy and what you are doing it for.

Very true.

I will write when there is nothing to write about

Love this

Not much else you can do really. If you want to be consistent you have to keep going no matter what the day is like.