Rambo: Part of the Family

in The City of Neoxian3 years ago (edited)

It's a week and a couple of of days since we finally were able to do what reaponsible cat owners do, and Rambo was neutered.

There has been no dramatic change in his behaviour, yet. Although it has just occurred to me that he hasn't lifted his tail to mark his territory. That we have seen. Or smelt. Since.

This was my morning view, yesterday, over Gandalf's left ear. It was the second time he had ventured from the floor to the chest of drawers at the foot of the bed.

This was the first time, a couple of mornings before.

More heartwarming is this: about two weeks ago, I picked him up - outside - and had a littl cuddle. Then, on Saturday as we sat next to the braai, this:

It has taken nearly eight months. When we began this journey, I was under no illusion because we used to chase him away each winter. Quite aggressively, and for about two or three years. Over the months, we have come to the conclusion that he must have had a home. He doesn't steal meat or fish. Doesn't hunt and only eats kibbles. Wish we knew how old he is. He must be 4 or 5, we think.

His personality (testosterone levels notwithstanding): loquacious (very), playful and loving - still mostly from a distance. He's The Husband's constant companion and hates it when we go out. Admittedly, with lockdown and the "V", that's largely confined to the market, but when we get home, we find him lying in wait. Then we get a thousand words.

Other than that, he seems happy with his "new" humans.

Until next , be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma







Post Script

  • In search of English writing, research and editing services?
    Look no further: I will help you with writing emails and reports, academic and white papers formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
    more information here.

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
  1. re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  2. and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
  • I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications. From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click on the image below to sign up


    Image: @traciyork

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking here.

    Silver Bloggers footer banner 300 x 150.jpg

  • I also share my occasional instagram posts to te crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click here or on the icon, and give it a go.

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

So much awesomesauceness! Totally made my day with these photos, Fiona! 😻

Always happy to oblige, Traci!

I'm sure that kitty is going to be quite happy with his new humans. Love my animals too. Thank you @fionasfavourites for the lovely post and sharing.

Thank you @fionasfavourites, for using the CO2 Compensation Coin (COCO / SWAP.COCO) on Steem-Engine or on Hive-Engine to reduce your CO2 footprint. You want to join? Buy some COCO / SWAP.COCO and transfer them to CO2Fund's account @co2fund.

So nice that he’s settling in. I wish I could have a cat but my allergies, husband and my chihuahuas would vehemently object! 😂 strange bac use I grew up with cats and my allergies weren’t too bad back then.

He looks happy!

He seems happy and other than the odd spat, the alpha male thing is beginning to subside, too. A friend of mine's son is allergic and he spends time at respective parents' houses. At her house, there are cats, including Joshua's. By the time he leaves, his allergies are under control. I'm gathering that one can build up a tolerance and manage the allergies. However, if it's not just the alergies and other creatures...well, sorry! 🤣 And shame, and really, I couldn't be without my felines!

Well Chihuahuas can live over 20 years and so far mine are only 4 years old so it might be a while before I can consider cats 😂

Ah well, you can't say I didn't try...😉🤣

So sweet that Rambo is wanting to get closer for a cuddle, must be missing his ladies since he's been neutered 😉