The Politics and Patterns Of Content Creation and Engagement on Hive.


I received a notification from Hivebuzz yesterday that I have received 45k responses to my posts and comments since I have been on the Blockchain for about 6 years and counting, though in about 4 months I will be 7 years. So it means that in 77 (308 weeks) months I've been able get about 45k replies on my posts and comments. Not that I am not a shit-replier or commenter, my responses to the majority of these comments are especially decent.

What I mean is that I am not the type to respond with "ok, nice post, alright" or some other indifferent reply in a single comment unless the response is completely different from the content of the post. I mean, a comment on a post determines the enthusiasm behind the response of the person who owns the content, and this determines whether there will be a flow of subsequent replies that may lead to the formation of a powerful thread.

A post with a powerful thread is a chain of continuous communication that is sometimes determined by two factors: the creator's ability to create well and the consumer's ability to translate the author's content. There are some people who believe that consuming content is not a craft. It actually is. You must devote the necessary time and effort.

However, you should probably avoid doing this if you do not enjoy the creator's content. If you are forcing yourself to enjoy a creator's content, perhaps because they are a whale or an orca (which is not necessarily a bad thing; we all have different motivations), it may reduce the effectiveness of your engagement with that creator.

Unless you know how to do your thing, your efforts will be futile.

You must enjoy the process of creating and consuming, and this is most likely best achieved by streamlining the creators you enjoy. I have not received any whale support in a long time, so it is fine to follow middle-sized stake owners; there is no crime in doing so, and you can grow however you want. So, let your content choices be influenced primarily by your ability to learn and grow, as well as for enjoyment.

I know we mostly want to get back support, and while this is great, the intent is primarily to grow vastly in influence, HP, and other things, but this is a secondary consideration, and your plans for increasing support for your content are entirely different.

A Consumer/Creator; The Ratio

On Hive, you must be a good consumer in order to be a good creator; this is not an alien concept. My point is that many people mistake engagement or commenting for a number; it is not; it is about growing your engagement style, learning from the flaws in your previous ability to engage, perceiving the creator's response, and determining how to improve your engagement style and pattern.

This will eventually influence your creation pattern, making you a more valuable member of the Chain. Some people want to cover so many posts and contents that the quality of a single comment becomes mediocre; simply because they are trying to make so many comments, they forget to spend the time to add the quality that should be assigned to each unique content they consume.

Commenting is a basic form of engagement, and it is one of the underappreciated tools for fostering closeness and familiarity between two people on a platform like Hive. It is through people's comments and the level of information they choose to reveal that you learn something about them, and this process determines whether you and this person become closer.

Some of the reasons why people become close, form communities, and bond are due to the closeness or similarity of their ideologies; this is why some creators support similar creators, rather than because there is an actual circle jerk.

Hive is a one-of-a-kind chain

.......and I agree that there is some politics involved in determining which creator gets what and who gets what. It is sometimes decided in Discord groups, and if you are not involved in this politics, you may believe you have done something wrong, but it is simply that you are unfamiliar with it. The politics is not bad thing, it just shows how resources people can get in order to get support for their contents.

Many people are doing it organically as well, and they are doing extremely well. So, back to the responses I have received, I am extremely grateful for each and every one of them, not just for my posts, but also for the responses I have received from previous content. A large percentage of these responses have resulted in relationships with some of the incredible people I have met on the chain. It is a staggering figure, and I can not even imagine the characters I have typed in nearly 7 years of engagement, and it is been incredible.



Interested in some more of my works



Is it Easy To Make Money?
Nigeria: A Unique Business Market & Industry
Virtual Bank Apps In Nigeria: An Experience Of Gamification
How To Find The Next "BIG" Meme Coin
Personal Finance: Achieving Intentional "Saving" Goals
Playing The Survival Game: Human Nature In Introspection
"Un-PAYING" The Debt You Owe

png_20230102_074302_0000.png

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations. I agree that having meaningful conversations are a good way of becoming friends with others on the blockchain. There was a time when I was struggling towards my start of Hive and it was there where I heard from taskmaster to make 500 meaningful comments. It led to results and that is why I appreciate people who drop by and read my posts.

Yes, taskmaster himself is a beast in engagement, he might have tapered down a bit these days, but I guess there were always people who defined or helped us become better with engagement. With me, it was Nathanmars back in the day.

I will say it is better not to comment at all than to drop, a couple of words as engagement. People comment on a post for a different reason. However, no matter the reason behind it, it should be about meaningful engagement. I must say you have contributed a lot as far as good content is concerned.

Thab
Thank you. You're right, no matter the reason behind engagement, it should fulfill the primary purpose, which is to truly engage with the content. So I'm always indifferent with those few words contents because sometimes, I truly don't know what to reply to them.

It is better not to say anything than to drop a shitty comment or reply to the same post multiple times. Engagement is very important on hive but we must be intentional about it

It's the direct truth, better not to leave any comment than to actually leave one that does not truly cut it. However it takes a while to understand

I might be wrong, buy I think a good majority probably comment primarily with a "reward incentive" in mind.

While some have come into Hive because someone brought them in, and some others because they heard you could "make money on Hive", I think a minority really get to the point where they're just having fun.

It becomes a chore to engage with the community at large when one can't see beyond the systems of reward.

I feel if one can remove that veil of desperation, it becomes super easy to settle into Hive whilst learning how it works.

I myself still have A LOT to learn about Hive and how the system works.

There's nothing wrong with having a primary incentive, however having a secondary and a tertiary incentive is also good.

It's not really a chore, it becomes a chore when a person makes it a chore. Hive is just a mirror of reality, it's consistent of almost everything: the dirty, the good, the sweet and even the bitter.

Seeing it like a mountain to climb and a compulsory incentive might not work.

However, it works differently for many.

Wow
That’s huge
I’ve always known you to make reasonable posts though and when you want to respond, you give reasonable responses too. Thanks for these tips though and I’m really shocked that you’ve been on this blockchain for over six years. That’s means you’ve been a crypto guru for a very long time

Yes, over six years of engagement, and I still have a lot to learn. I still have a lot to learn about the market. It's a process of learning and continuity. I'm not a crypto guru, I just know a little or two about how it's been on the chain.

I agree with everything you wrote my friend. Here on Hive there is always learning by reading other people's posts, I often when I have little time I read but not comment but I like to comment and if I had more time I would comment many more posts.
Congrats on 45K replies that shows you are a great hiver and also a great engagement man!
!ALIVE
!discovery 35

Yeah, me too, sometimes I read without comment, I just enjoy the piece and move on. Sometimes the reason I myself do this is because I won't want to learn a terrible comment. If I like a post, it means there's a lot to actually say about that post.

That's on the congratulations. I try my best, and there's a lot more learning to also be done as well.

Yeah, me too, sometimes I read without comment, I just enjoy the piece and move on. Sometimes the reason I myself do this is because I won't want to learn a terrible comment. If I like a post, it means there's a lot to actually say about that post.

That's on the congratulations. I try my best, and there's a lot more learning to also be done as well. Thanks for the Curation

That's true! People disregard the "consuming" part of content creation and want to jump directly to the creation of content part. But if everyone would do that, then who would be there to read the posts? Or that is not really a purpose for some, only rewards are? Anyway, 45000 replies is very well, and I know you are involved in meaningful conversations so this number has a deep relevance. Congrats!

Thank you, I take meaningful conversations to heart, I think apart from the content it's how you get to know and meet people which is another underrated side to Hive. I like consuming contents from some of my favorite creators and everyday I keep exploring

Maybe the fact we are still kind of small as a content producing and engaging ecosystem helps us forge and foster better connections over time.

I like consuming contents from some of my favorite creators and everyday I keep exploring

I try to do the same, although sometimes, depending on when I curate and when the author publishes the post, I might miss some posts.

Great post as always my good friend,I really liked how you talked about the importance of engagement on Hive. It's so true that, interacting with others is key to building a community. I have personally found that leaving comments and engaging with others' content has helped me connect with people and grow my own following. Keep up the good work good friend

It's a tacy thing to do. Engagement might seem simple on the surface but it actually isn't. Congratulations on your engagement prowess and process, it's a long long journey ahead.

Indeed, I could see the length of the journey.. thanks for the well wishes

Goodluck with it..

Thank Buddy... I know I'll need all the luck I can get to be as experienced as you have been... That's why I'm proud to follow you🙏

That's right, and that is linked to your profits. Consuming content from others, observing what others are doing allows you to even improve. While interaction is important because it helps you grow, creating friendly relationships within the web.

Exactly, consuming exactly (to some extent) help or influence creation. It's helped so many people to some extent on the chain.

It should always be quality over quantity, the quality of your engagements creates and develops relationship that can even transcend the walls of Hive. I learned some vital things from this post, thank you.

Yes, quality over quantity. Thank you

Voted by Hive Naija.gif


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

I agree that one needs to be a good consumer to be a good creator on chain. I think engagement is more of a rewarding activity when we take our time to read the contents of the post and understand it. Because we can learn something from it, share our own contributions and build a relationship with the author.

wow, what a great feet there, congrats, it's really not that easy to stay glued for that long, it's really worth celebrating...

About Engagement

That was one of my major tool here when I came on board, cause I didn't really have a hand-on-deck steadfast mentor to show me around, so I basically have to learn everything personally and one of the ways I do that was digest content, this helps me to grab the authors mind in writing, context, analogy and his or her perspective in driving the underline message in the post,

for the record you were one of my first favorite authors on the chain 🙌🍻

And I'm sure a thousands others looking up-to thisbig whale on the chain

Congrats @josediccus

Thank you for the mention and congrats again for you great engagement @josediccus!

You're absolutely right about the importance of meaningful comments to create impressive networking in the community.

You're welcome @josediccus.

BTW, if you like our badges and us keeping track of your achievements, we need your help!
May we ask you to support our proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248

Thank you.