You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Burgers: again?

Thanks for the "minced" clarification! Funny thing - years ago (circa 2007) in an online writing forum that had people from all over the world, I got into a bit of a terse discussion with someone who took offense over my use of "hamburger" to describe ground beef. She (from England) insisted it should only be used for an actual hamburger - me (from New England) explained we use the term interchangeable, which she deemed inexcusably lazy. 😂

Sort:  

Huh?

I know the English can be sticklers and the purists (in their opinions, anyway) are the worst. I have my pet peeves, but as long as we can understand each other and are sensitive to different word use and meanings and either check for understanding or clarify she takes a breath WTAF??? 🤣

Yep, pretty much my reaction at the time... LOL! I did check in back then with a few friends (who were authors/editors) to see if she made a valid point, but they all agreed that the context was clear, and she was clearly in need of a better hobby. 😝