Burgers: again?

in The City of Neoxian3 years ago (edited)


It was burgers @ The Sandbag House last night. Since I found a recipe for, and made my own beef patties, going on fifteen or more years ago, we've been a little spoiled.

Last night's supper was either to have been Scotch eggs or "mince something".

I had made Scotch eggs for the market for the first time in ages.



Theoretically, there would have been some left over. So much for banking on that: I could probably have sold the entire batch twice over. A nice problem to have, and by request, it won't be as long until the next time.

Mince something

Oh, for my American friends, mince is the hold-all word we use for ground meat. Usually beef.

I said, the other day, that burgers are only quick if someone else does them - beef or vegetarian or vegan.

When I make the beef ones and I have planned properly, I order from the local butcher - my own blend and ratio of lean beef and mutton fat. Fat (in the right quantity) is essential for flavour and to prevent the patty from being too dry.

Last night was a little different because it was just supermarket mince that I had to work with. And not much brain. In other words, I was not bothered about fishing out the recipe and "doing" quantities, etc., so I worked from memory:

An onion and a clove of garlic, chopped and sauteed with chopped, fresh herbs from the garden and a glug each of soy and Worcestershire sauce and a grinding of black pepper, bound together with an egg.

Form into patties and then put them into the fridge to set before frying.


I used the resting time to whip up a quick balsamic onion marmalade to go between the bun and the patty.



That is all. Oh and with a dollop of All Gold tomato sauce (ketchup) and balanced with a side salad.

I haven't changed my mind: homemade is definitely worth the effort. Especially with homemade soft sourdough rolls.

Not quite done

Even though I didn't follow the recipe, The Husband and I both declared the result more than just edible. The mixture - about 300 - 400g - I didn't weigh anything - made four 125ml patties. Two have gone into the deep freeze for another burger night or for when @the-bitcoin-dood drops by (with beer) to see if they pass muster.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma






Post Script

I am doing my best to post every day for November as part of @traciyork's twice yearly #HiveBloPoMo challenge. This is my third attempt. Why not join the fun? Traci's full post is here

Looking for that gift for someone who has everything? Shop with Pearli in my evolving Redbubble shop -


And then there's more:

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
    • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
    • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts because of this.
  • If you’re interested in a soft entry into the world of crypto currency and monetising WordPress blog, use the fantastic plugin to post directly to the Hive blockchain. Click on the image below to sign up -

Image: @traciyork
  • I also share my occasional instagram posts to the crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click the icon below, and give it a go.

In yet another aspect of my life -

English writing, research and online tutoring services




writing - emails and reports, academic and white papers
formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
more information here


Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

Thank you @fionasfavourites, for using the CO2 Compensation Coin (COCO / SWAP.COCO) on Steem-Engine or on Hive-Engine to reduce your CO2 footprint. You want to join? Buy some COCO / SWAP.COCO and transfer them to CO2Fund's account @co2fund.

Nice! That's very similar to how I do mine when I make patties from scratch minus the mutton fat. However, that sounds delicious to me! Hopefully I've still got a beer call left here.

!BEER

Cheers! And thank you!


Hey @fionasfavourites, here is a little bit of BEER from @the-bitcoin-dood for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks for the "minced" clarification! Funny thing - years ago (circa 2007) in an online writing forum that had people from all over the world, I got into a bit of a terse discussion with someone who took offense over my use of "hamburger" to describe ground beef. She (from England) insisted it should only be used for an actual hamburger - me (from New England) explained we use the term interchangeable, which she deemed inexcusably lazy. 😂

Huh?

I know the English can be sticklers and the purists (in their opinions, anyway) are the worst. I have my pet peeves, but as long as we can understand each other and are sensitive to different word use and meanings and either check for understanding or clarify she takes a breath WTAF??? 🤣

Yep, pretty much my reaction at the time... LOL! I did check in back then with a few friends (who were authors/editors) to see if she made a valid point, but they all agreed that the context was clear, and she was clearly in need of a better hobby. 😝

Boy those look good. For the record: I love the scotch eggs. Haven't made them in years, but I may fix that soon :) That'd leave me some sausage to make a meat loaf, too. Sounds like a plan...

I had a burger yesterday too. For a change it was entirely store bought. My local market has begun making 225g patties for the same price as the meat alone. They hang together really well, and it's the lazy man option. The buns I bought from a local small bakery, day old.

Usually I make at least one item myself. I have a bun recipe that I really like and pounding out my own patties is normal. Yesterday I was just a consumer :)

Sometimes allowing one's self to just consume is good - especially when the deal is too good to pass up! Meatloaf: now there's something I've not made in a long time. And I used to. Often. Hmm....

Balsamic onion marmalade sounds so delish 🤤🤤🤤🤤

And really easy. Takes fried onions to a whole new level!😉

Posted using Dapplr

Impossible to pass by here without getting hungry hahaha

Haha! Sorry, not sorry, if you know what I mean? Thank for stopping by, anyway!

Posted using Dapplr

Wish I could fly over and taste one of your hamburgers.

Very kind! Shall I give you a headsup next time? 🤣

Posted using Dapplr