You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Stupidity of Hivewatchers

Show your work …

I remember one of my sons struggling with geometry proofs because he was so used to doing extensive math calculations in his head. He just couldn’t slow down enough to write down every step.

He once failed a multiple choice chemistry test where he got 96% of the answers correct but did not heed the instructions to “show your work.”

That requirement can be brutal for kids like him.

Even so, simply learning to follow directions is an important life skill.


It is hard to fake when you have to show every step.

Sort:  

Reminds me of the movie "The man who knew infinity".

I haven't seen that one. I'll put it on my watchlist.

It's about this mathematician: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Srinivasa_Ramanujan

was worth the watch!

Yep. I get there's some necessary differentiation needed to be put in place, for example I teach choir, and the school, for fuck knows what reason, assigned a totally non-verbal student into it lol. So... yeah, have to improvise. I just don't think it'll be that much of a hurdle to overcome at least in the majority of courses, assuming an establishment is properly run with the future in mind.

Maybe that's wishful thinking though...