I Might be the Only Female Biker You Know 😁

in Cycling14 days ago

Hello to everyone in the cycling community! Joining this amazing community makes me very happy. I'm Dorcas Ebuara, and I have just had the most awesome experience navigating on two wheels- this experience happened some time back and I thought to share my experience here with you all given I just joined the hive community.

Source

But before you see me as a skilled cycler moving across streets with ease, I just started riding, and let me just say that the ride has been an experience full of a mix of excitement, fun, and frustration- but guess what? I never gave, up I kept pushing.

Everything began when I watched a video of a lady cycling and I thought to give it a shot with the support of my friend who is very well experienced. I was drawn to the idea of pushing my boundaries, taking in the beautiful scenery, and enjoying the wind in my hair. I decided to give it a go and reluctantly went outside after giving a neighbour's slightly rusty bike in the garage a quick brushing.


Source

My first experience seemed like little success the first time I clipped into the pedals. But then it was time to start moving forward. Finding balance was difficult, and turning was worse than I had imagined because cyclists made it seem so easy.

That first ride, though, ignited something inside of me. My desire to succeed was increased by my sense of achievement at overcoming even the most difficult challenge. I began small, honing my skills on a quiet road, learning how to change gears, and gradually improving my endurance.

Also, I went ahead to join a cycling community for women which has been amazing. It has been encouraging to connect with other women who understand the special difficulties female beginners encounter. I'm not an expert yet. My legs still hurt like jelly some days, and the hills seem to be skewering me constantly. However, there has also been an amazing improvement.

So, keep riding, all you incredible female cyclers. And to all the beginners out there thinking about making the leap, I say, go for it. It may seem difficult at the beginning, but you would get a hang of it.


Source

I'd love to hear from you, what advice would you give to someone like me who is new to cycling? Which routes are your favourites? Furthermore, as a female biker, what are some of the difficulties you've encountered, and how have you overcome them?

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @dorcasebuara! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Welcome to the cycling community!

What advice would you give to someone like me who is new to cycling?

Just go out and make your rides. Starts with short rides and slowly build it up.

Which routes are your favourites?

I like rides in natural environments especially the mountains, but we don't have those over here. I ride along the coast in the dunes quite often,


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community
cycling.PNG
Subscribe to the Cycling Community and share your cycling related posts with us.
Join our Discord Channel if you want to chat about cycling.


You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |

Thank you for the helpful tips!

Like any skill, it will take a bit of time to master it. But when you understand the fundamentals, then all the rest will become less hard. Best of luck to you on your cycling journey :)