Me presento✌🏿 en la Comunidad Ciclista🚵🏿 [EN-ES]

in Cycling3 months ago

IMG_20211212_141602.jpg

Greetings everyone. My name is Malcom, I am a Cuban native from Havana and this is the post with which I will start in this community. Since I was little, I have liked bicycles. The first one I had was a 20-inch bike that my parents gave me for one of my birthdays. It was on that bike that I learned to ride. I remember that the chain used to frequently fall off, which was very annoying. When I was entering adolescence, the bike that is currently mine arrived at home. It was a gift from some friends to the family, and over time it became my official bike.

Versión en Español

Saludos a todos. Mi nombre es Malcom, soy un cubano natural de La Habana y esta es la publicación con la que me iniciaré en esta comunidad. Desde chiquitico me han gustado las bicicletas, la primera que tuve fue una 20 que mis padres me regalaron por uno de mis cumpleaños. En esa bicicleta fue que aprendí a montar, recuerdo que con frecuencia se le caía la cadena, era algo muy molesto. Cuando ya estaba entrando en la adolescencia llegó a la casa la que es mi actual bicicleta. Fue un regalo de unos amigos a la familia y con el paso del tiempo se fue haciendo mi bicicleta oficial.

IMG_20211212_141527.jpg

I say it's my official bike because we have 3 bikes at home, since my mother and my brother have theirs. Theirs are 26-inch wheels, they can lend tires, inner tubes or rims, something I can't do because my bike is a 622. My favorite bike model is the one that falls between road bikes and mountain bikes, a model that works well for long distances, varied terrains, and can handle a lot of weight. On the rack that you can see in the previous photo, I have loaded even a box full of mangoes for about 14 and a half kilometers. My bike, which is called "chivo" here in Cuba, has a dynamo that I want to make work at 100% so that the lights can be seen well at night.

I owe the use of the bike as an active means of transportation to the Covid-19 pandemic, since here in Cuba they limited the number of people that buses could transport, so many times I couldn't get on. From that moment on, I started going back and forth to work on my bike.

Versión en Español

Digo que es mi bicicleta oficial porque en la casa tenemos 3 bicicletas, ya que mi mamá y mi hermano tienen las suyas. Las de ellos son rin 26, pueden prestarse gomas, cámaras o llantas, algo que yo no puedo hacer debido a que mi bici es una 622. Mi modelo de bicicleta preferido es el que se ubica entre las bicicletas de ruta y las de montaña, un modelo que sirva para buenas distancias, variados terrenos y que soporte bastante carga. Sobre la parrilla que se ve en la foto anterior he cargado hasta una caja llena de mangos por unos 14 km y medio. Mi chivo, como se le dice aquí en Cuba a las bicicletas, tiene un dinamo que quiero poner a trabajar al 100% para que por la noche la niña se vea bien.

El uso de la bicicleta como medio de transporte activo se lo debo a la pandemia de Covid-19, ya que aquí en Cuba limitaron la cantidad de personas que podían transportar las guaguas en muchas ocasiones no me podía montar. A partir de este momento comencé a ir y a regresar del trabajo en mi ciclo.

Screenshot_20240208-062152.jpg

Screenshot_20240208-062022.jpg

In the first of these screenshots, you can see one of the longest trips I have taken with my brother. In the second screenshot, you can see my journey to my current job. The screenshots are from the Health app that comes with my Huawei Honor 8X.

En la primera de estas capturas de pantalla pueden ver uno de los recorridos más largo que he hecho con mi hermano.En la segunda captura pueden ver mi recorrido hasta mi actual trabajo. Las capturas de pantalla son de la aplicación Salud que viene con mi huawei honor 8x


While at university, I joined a bike ride that went from Plaza de La Revolución in Havana to Playa Girón in the province of Matanzas. We were a group of about 50 cyclists, and we covered a distance of 240 km in 2 days. My bike had no issues. This interprovincial trip made any bike ride within my province seem easily doable. My brother, my mom, and I often go out for a ride on our bikes, usually for shopping or daily errands. My dad is the only one in the house who doesn't know how to ride a bike; he never learned, although he tried.

Versión en Español

Estando en la Universidad me sumé a una bicicletada que se hizo desde la Plaza de La Revolución de La Habana hasta Playa Girón, en la provincia de Matanzas. Éramos un grupo de aproximadamente 50 ciclistas, recorrimos 240 km en 2 días y mi bicicleta no tuvo ningún problema. Este viaje interprovincial hizo que cualquier distancia a recorrer en bicicleta dentro de mi provincia me pareciera realizable fácilmente. Mi hermano, mi mamá y yo acostumbramos salir de vez en cuando a dar unas vueltas en nuestros ciclos, generalmente a realizar compras o tareas cotidianas. Mi papá es el único en la casa que no sabe montar bicicleta, nunca aprendió aunque lo intentó.

IMG_20220102_094746.jpg

Nowadays I'm working 17 km away from my house and since transportation hasn't improved, I still move around by bike, it only takes me 40 minutes to cover this distance. We also have an E-bike at home, but its autonomy is not enough to cover the entire journey. In the end, we have to acknowledge that the means of transportation that provides the most freedom is the conventional bicycle because it doesn't rely on the electric power or the fuel sold by the State. I'm delighted that there is a community for cyclists in Hive.

Versión en Español

Hoy en día estoy trabajando a 17 km de mi casa y como el transporte no ha mejorado sigo moviendome en bicicleta, apenas 40 minutos venzo esta distancia. En la casa también tenemos una E-bike, pero la autonomía de esta no es capaz de cubrir el trayecto completo. Al final hay que reconocer que el medio de transporte que más libertad brinda es la bicicleta convencional porque no depende de la energía eléctrica o del combustible que vende el Estado. Estoy encantado de que exista una comunidad para los ciclistas de Hive


Sort:  

Hello and welcome to the cycling community!
240 km in 2 days is a serious distance... .respect!

17km for commuting is nice. I'm also almost 17 kilometer from work and rather spend 40 minutes on my bicycle twice a day then being packed in a crowded bus and/or train.
Cycling = Freedom


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community

cycling.PNG

Join our Discord Channel!

Delegations are welcome
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |

Congratulations @marschallray! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners

Welcome aboard! You got some nice mileage on your bike -- well done!

Gracias, un placer pertenecer a esta comunidad. Saludos